We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic location in Paradise”
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superb wine,food superb views, superb menu. Great for a romantic night out. Definately the best Resturant in Port Villa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lifesanadventure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The apartments we were staying at recommended Élan restaurant to us, and arranged the booking and taxi. We arrived prior to sunset and the location was superb, right on the waterfront front. Its down wharf road past where the cruise ship comes in, in a peaceful and beautiful location.

Right from the time we arrived, we had exceptional service from the waitress and the owner himself. We had a few drinks, an entree and a main meal and we thought it was very reasonably priced. The main meal, we both had fish dishes, was beautifully prepared and had just the right amount of spices and sauces.

The waitress and owner were very engaging with all guests, and the owner also recommended 2 other restaurants for us to try out, and organised for us to go to another venue to watch the all blacks rugby game. We would both absolutely return to Élan restaurant for another meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank horiboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Its exciting seeing restaurants like this pop up in Vanuatu (much needed). The owners were friendly and it's obvious they have great pride in their establishment. They have every right to be proud of scoring such a stunning location. Diners are almost literally seated on waters edge and the atmosphere is to dine for (sorry, had to do it!). Unfortunately the food was somewhat of a let down. We really wanted it to be great. Instead we were served food that would be suited to a cafe, not a fine restaurant. The options were limited, the mains we had were unbalanced in flavour or had way too much sauce, and the desserts were , I hate to say, boring and unoriginal. Our chocolate mousse was frozen on the inside! We expected so much better.
Fortunately, for Élan, the view is spectacular. But looks arnt everything!

2  Thank choops3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

In response to your review.
Very surprised that you would see our menu as cafe style food. We have 25 dishes to choose from plus desserts.
We do not sell hamburgers, sandwiches or any typical cafe style food.
Our dishes are made from as much fresh organic ingredients as we can source. To have a larger menu would mean we would have to resort to using imported frozen produce in this Country.
The feedback we consistently get with regards to our meals and menu is very good and there is something for everyones tastes.
Sorry you did not enjoy your meals, some people you just cannot please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I visited at the end of our holiday.
We were made very welcome as we were not sure about not booking first. They have a great menu selection, not the largest in town but definatley one of the best and we found it hard to make a decision.
They offer all meals at half price for children so everyone was happy. Our meals were delicious and very tasty, you can tell the produce is extremely fresh.
We were just disappointed that we had not discovered this place sooner, so we could have gone back.

Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came for a work conference. Beautiful setting and the restaurant was very inviting but when it came to dinner it was a set menu due to the amount of people in our group which was fine. It offered a seafood meal and a beef meal. It stated that it would come out as an alternate drop however our table of 12 got 3 beef meals and the rest were seafood. I don't eat seafood but when we questioned the waitress about the uneven alternate drop she said the kitchen had run out of beef. Don't understand how they can run out when they knew exactly how many people were booked into the restaurant. Didn't feel this was appropriate and the waitress wasn't prepared to compromise.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

In response to your review.
The reason we were short ONLY two coconut beef curries is because some of your colleagues on the other tables had taken them. We were trying to serve 35 meals all at the same time including the vegetarians.

This was addressed with the waitress when we realised what had happend.

if you remember when you complained we did make another curry for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing