We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, excellent service, good food”
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, excellent service, good food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The brochure says: "Come early to view the sunset" it is great advice. The drive to the restaurant is less than inspiring, past the container and cruise ship wharf, but once around the corner the Élan is nestled in a quiet bay looking across to one of the islands. The location is stunning, just a few metres from the water lapping on the beach.
The owner greeted us and chatted about life on the Island and the source of various produce. We had a table outside directly over the sand. We took our time enjoying a glass of wine as the sun set. After a whil we ordered our meals. The waitress was very good. I had a seafood chowder for entree, my wife had whitebait - both were excellent. We both had the Beef Wellington for main course as it had received a good write-up in a recent review. It was beautifully presented and perfectly cooked, but perhaps it wasn't the best choice for us, simply a matter of personal preference. We enjoyed a Grant Burge Shiraz from the limited but sensible wine list. As we finished the wine we amused ourselves spotting the crabs scampering around the sand as the tide came in.
The price was about $120 - very reasonable for per-dinner drinks, two courses each and a good bottle of red.
The Élan should be high on your list if you visit Port Vila. It is rated number one on Tripadvisor for good reason. The restaurant is only open for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday. Pick a clear night and get there early.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Ultimate Beef Wellington”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

They used organic beef for the steak, fresh ingredients for side dishes. Absolutely love their Beef Wellington!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TotoFu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a shame they let smoking in the restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a special occasion so we thought we'd try Elan. The meal and service were fine until a table behind us started smoking constantly. A real shame...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your meal.

As a rule we do not allow smoking inside the restaurant. I do remember the night you visited our restaurant we had to move some customers inside as there was torrential rain.

The elderly lady who was smoking is a very good customer and has been very unwell. She would usually have been seated outside. I was hoping because of the breeze that the smoke was not bothering anyone, as due to her current health situation she would have been very upset if I had told her she could not have a cigarette. Hope you can understand that sometimes you do have to be flexible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Was our favourite dining experience in Vanuatu last week. Had a table right near the water, great food and service, couldn't fault it. Is very reasonably priced - cheaper than a lot of other places in Port Vila but it is just out of their league, not even a comparable experience. Ambiance is great, beautifully decorated, a great spot for a special night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kjulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow great first choice”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have recently moved to Port Vila, and was strongly suggested that I take my wife Elan, and wow it was fantastic, brilliant service and great choices on the menu, really enjoyed & will become a regular for 'date nights'

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing