We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Elan - CLOSED

Elan
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Elan is a unique dining experience in Vanuatu. A restaurant purpose built by the owners to offer elegant island style dining. The restaurant is situated on the beach overlooking beautiful aqua waters and enjoys the best sunsets in Port Vila. Elans fresh and authentic menus are inspired by the classics - French, Italian, Asian, Mediterranean and the flavors' of the Pacific. We pride ourselves on sourcing as much of the freshest locally grown produce as possible, including we believe and our customers agree the best free range grass fed beef in the world. Elan was chosen to host the only Royal Dinner for HRH Princess Anne's visit to Vanuatu in October 2014. Open: 5pm Wednesday to Saturdays.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Beautiful restaurant on the water edge. We were the only people there at sunset and had excellent service from two staff. Food was beautiful although pricy but it was amazing food. Highly recommend going here. Just check you know where to go as a lot of bus drivers did not know of it yet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ClaireRLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

My now husband and I have lots of experience in fine dining between us and know a good restaurant when we see one. Elan is a beautiful restaurant right on the water with great service and food. The lobster dish (very different to any other lobster dish in the world) was definitely the stand out dish. The wine list is short but has some great wines that pair perfectly with the food.

The price is very similar to all other restaurants in Port Vila but is worth alot more. This restaurant is a MUST when visiting Port Villa. We were just disapointed we couldn't get back for a second dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here a few months ago when it was new. Setting very nice and we were about the only people in the restaurant on a weekday evening. Food is better than many (but not all) restaurants in Vila - I found prices reasonable for what you get. One issue is that they apparently serve coconut crab, which I have heard you should avoid eating in Vila due to dwindling populations. If you are in Vila for a few days and need some variety and want to enjoy a quiet out-of-the way setting on the water, Elan works.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ilims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan R, Owner at Elan, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.

As stated on our menu we only purchase coconut crab from HIW Island where there are millions of them and they are ethically farmed. We never bring them in during breeding season.

Depending on the time you had your meal, it is very unusual that you had the restaurant to yourselves. However, every restaurant has the odd quiet night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ate out every night in Vanuatu & Elan was definitely one of the best ones. We had a table by the water were we could see the waves & sea life whilst we ate - also saw a sea snake swimming around by the light.
The food & service was also very good plus the owner has done a great job with the restaurant.
The restaurant is a bit out of the way past the ferry terminal but all bus & taxi driver knows were it is.

1  Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I visited for dinner, so missed any view of the ocean and Ifira Island. Ambience rather nice. The service was only reasonable as the Ni-Van waitress is not well trained by Australian standards. My meal of pork was excellent but my wife said her poulet was a little too fatty. Price was reasonable. We would like to go again in the daytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank basil31532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing