We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three great days of diving!”

Big Blue Scuba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Blue Scuba teach more people to dive than anyone else in Vanuatu. We have local instructors and dive masters with great local knowledge. They love to share their dive sites with divers of all levels and experience, with multiple boats and dive sites we can cater to all.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Three great days of diving!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I came to Vanuatu planning to do some scuba diving and when searching TripAdvisor, Big Blue seemed like the operation to go with. From the start of my experience with them right until the end they were professional, friendly and experienced and put me at ease. I dived six sites over three days with divemaster Wils, who was friendly, instructive, and willing to let me choose the sites I wanted to see! Twin Bommies was the highlight, with oodles of fish, including a lionfish, and even a sea snake! The hire gear was top-notch and well maintained and the boat well equipped. Diving conditions were great - the water was smooth as glass most of the time, and visibility was >20m. I would be happy to recommend Big Blue to anyone wanting to dive from Port Vila.
What to bring: towel, clean clothes to change into afterwards (there is a hot outdoor shower at the dive shop).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    30
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
“Inexperienced diver”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Although having had my open water ticket for some time, I still class myself as an inexperienced diver. I have had 3 dives so far with Big Blue and would recommend them to anyone diving in Vanuatu. The dive masters/guides were not only extremely knowledgable but very helpful and attentive to people like myself with little experience. Mark and Matty were my guides on separate occasions and both gave me tips to improve my diving and make the experience more enjoyable. If time permits I will be taking another trip with them and would use their services if I came back to Vanuatu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Take the plunge... or the dive”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

How could I not try scuba diving now working here in Port Vila! And colleagues recommended Big Blue - conveniently located at Numbawan in the centre of town (by the water of course...). From the moment I started with nervous questions - through to now having had a dozen dives, gained my advanced open water diving qualification, the team at Big Blue have been nothing short of great. Great in terms of professionalism in their teaching, great in terms of making each and every one of us feel like a long lost friend, great in terms of value for money, and great in terms of the actual dives, and the fun when out on the boat/diving. No hesitation in saying - go see Mike, Maggie, Dave, Gerry, Fabrice, Ben, Roy, Lu, Mattie, Max and many others - they will look after you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Instructors, Great Gear and Great Sites”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mark and Luaki took me out for a double morning dive at the Twin Bomies and the Konanda. Really good sites heaps of life and structure to look at and good visibility.
Great hire gear and friendly staff, would recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hello!
Just a quick feedback regarding the AU$90 scuba dive experience I did with BigBlue in Port Vila:
It was amazing! The staff were really friendly, shared a lot of stories and facts about Vanuatu, took good care of us and really profesionnal.

The diving was perfect: clear water, colorfull corals, beautiful fishes and...... a turtle!!
We went down to -12m, which was quite good for a furst time.

I trully advise you to see them. Walk along the water newt to the famous Market, and you will find them next to the petanque field.

Have fun!!
Mathias and Linda

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ichabeuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Scuba Diving also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Big Blue Scuba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing