We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summit Gardens Vanuatu - CLOSED

The Summit Gardens Vanuatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest tropical gardens in the South Pacific recovering well after Cyclone Pam in March 2015, the panoramic views from The Summit are stunning. Visit THE SUMMIT GARDENS for FREE, view health & body products being made at The Essential Oils Distillery, Cafe and Health & Body Gift Shop, DAY SPA and more... THE SUMMIT GARDENS have been developed to provide maximum pleasure to the visitor. Opened to the public in November 2011, the 11 named gardens, spread over 6 hectares, are all distinctly different, unfolding as a series of surprises as you follow the meandering pathways and steps. At nearly 200m above sea level, the escarpment garden offers the visitor breathtaking views over Mele Bay. Within the gardens are THE ESSENTIAL OILS DISTILLERY - see how oils from sandalwood, Tahitian lime, mandarin, tangelo, ginger, etc, grown at The Summit are extracted and where our range of health and beauty products based on Sandalwood, soaps and candles are made. The Gardens were devastated during Cyclone Pam on Friday 13 March 2015. Since re-opening in August 2015, admission to the gardens is free and must remain so until they recover their former glory and world class status, and we wanted to share this journey with you. However, costs for rehab and garden team wages are ongoing. We believe in Trade not Aid... So if you want to help us going forward, please call into The Summit Gift Shop after your garden stroll and choose your favourite Made in Vanuatu skincare products, 100% Tropical Vanuatu Inspired, 100% Natural & Sandalwood Based. All net proceeds from the shop go to cover the costs of restoring The Summit Gardens. And remember, our products carry a 100% Money Back Guarantee. Come to THE SUMMIT CAFE for refreshments or lunch and take in more of the wonderful views. ALLOW 2-3 hours for your stay - take a leisure walk and lunch or refreshments, or wander around at your leisure for the whole day if you wish! Enjoy a Walk at the Rainforest or Dare the Canyon Ride (Admission Fee applies), or do the Segway Tour (Admission Fee applies) BUT Remember, there's NO ADMISSION FEE to visit and to enjoy The Summit Gardens for now! You can come by bus, by your own car, by your transport. Do come visit-you won't be disappointed! ATTN: Air Vanuatu/ Virgin Blue / Air Caledonia / Fiji Airways / CRUISE SHIP VISITORS & Everyone - To Visit The Summit Gardens is FREE! Explore, Discover, Dine & Shop in the Clouds! If you're feeling adventurous, dare the Canyon Ride or do the Segway tour! ADMISSION FEE APPLIES to both these tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
1 review
“Great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I received an excellent garden tour from Joyce, who was very friendly, interested and knowledgeable about the different plants. She pointed out a number of plants which I would not have noticed myself. The staff at other parts of The Summit were also friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice_In_Vanuatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Alice in Vanuatu,
Joyce would like to thank you for your comment a. Joyce started working with us as a tour guide in October 2013 and I am pleased to hear comments like yours as this is good staff feedback. You mentioned that Joyce pointed out a number of plants which you would not have noticed and that is exactly why we recommend taking a guided tour because you do not see some of the plants that is hidden. Yes all of our staff are very friendly.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    213
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A must see for all ages. Incredible views, stunning gardens and fantastic, passionate staff made the afternoon one to remember.
Thanks Gibson!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Sue,
Thank you for your short and sweet comment about your experience with us. Gibson is one of our best tour guides who loves to show The Summit tropical gardens to visitors. Gibson would like me to pass on his thank you for your comment.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A tropical paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a truly magnificent place – thoroughly recommended! Discovered by chance while searching on the Internet before departing on a cruise, we visited The Summit Gardens, Essential Oils distillery, Café and Shop on a private trip booked online whilst sailing on the ‘Sea Princess’ from Brisbane to New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and then back to Brisbane.

Unfortunately we were unable to tour the Plantation as the guide was on holidays that day. Nevertheless, other friendly and knowledgeable local guides showed us around the most amazing cliff-top gardens – offering (on this fine day) outstanding views across Mele Bay. Our cruise ship could just be seen below the horizon.

The café ambience was delightful and the shop staff most helpful. Among the various products purchased, we must highlight the efficacy of Tamanu Oil – on returning home, my wife injured her foot and she can vouch for the healing properties of this oil.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Rossko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Rossko_11,
Thank you for recommending The Summit as a place to visit while in Port Vila. We are lucky that when you search for things to do in Vanuatu The Summit appears as one of the top 10. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. You visited us on Saturday 21st December and from reading your review I can tell that you had a wonderful experience with us at The Summit. Thank you also for posting those lovely photo’s that you took whilst walking around our tropical garden. The plantation tour is available but you will have to book in advance for us to arrange the tour. All of our hand made products manufactured onsite is all made from essential oils which each oil whether it be ginger, sandalwood or tamanu contains different healing properties. Thank you for sharing your testimony on the effectiveness of tamanu oil which healed your wife’s foot, one of the benefits is pain-relieving. You can always purchase more tamanu online when you run out. The Health & Body Shop staff are very knowledgeable about the products sold in the shop and always happy to assist customers.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tropical Garden to die for !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Amazing private collection of tropical plants that will blow you away !!!!
The drive up to the Summit Gardens is an adventure on its own and well worth the short trip from Port Vila and Mele Cascades is also a short 5 minute trip away !!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi John H,
With the words you used about the gardens it sounds like you are a garden lover which you very much enjoyed it. Yes I totally agree with you tropical garden to die for and tropical plants that will blow you away. The Summit is about 20 minutes drive from town but worth the drive up the mountain as you get to enjoy the relaxing and peaceful tropical garden walk and at the same time admire the spectacular view. Please do come back again and visit us.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visited as part of the Summit Tour - wonderful day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went on a cruise around the South Pacific in November 2013, and booked a tour with Summit Tours for our day in Port Vila. They met us with a bus at our ship, we went glass bottom kayaking, swimming, snorkeling and for a tour of the gardens. We had a private guide for snorkeling and kayaking and another wonderful guide for our walk of the gardens. This is such a worthwhile trip; you get such a varied day and the gardens are a lovely, relaxed way to finish the day. We had lunch in the Summit cafe, and the food was wonderful! The pizza's are amazing and huge; definitely value for money. We were even driven back to our ship after our day ashore, so there was nothing for us to worry about. I would definitely recommend using the Summit tour. The gardens have a few stairs and winding paths, so maybe not the best for people who have difficulties walking, but there is a short and a long track, so if you go on a hot day (like we did!) you may prefer the shorter walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Maddie H,
I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful day with us at The Summit and that your tour was worth while the trip. You would have enjoyed your tour because you first kayak and snorkel and saw the underwater garden and then the surface garden one below and the other ontop. Like all cruise ship tours we pick up at the wharf and also drop off either back at the wharf or in town. It is much better to book a tour online like you did as it includes transfers, admission, and voucher towards light refreshment at the café and a free gift at the health & body shop. All of our garden tour guides are wonderful with our guest and love their job of sharing information. Yes people rave about The Summit Café pizza’s which has a unique taste due to being cooked in the woodfire oven. Thank you for recommending The Summit Tour and we hope you can promote us to others.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit Gardens Vanuatu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing