We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of Harmony”
Review of The Summit Gardens Vanuatu - CLOSED

The Summit Gardens Vanuatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest tropical gardens in the South Pacific recovering well after Cyclone Pam in March 2015, the panoramic views from The Summit are stunning. Visit THE SUMMIT GARDENS for FREE, view health & body products being made at The Essential Oils Distillery, Cafe and Health & Body Gift Shop, DAY SPA and more... THE SUMMIT GARDENS have been developed to provide maximum pleasure to the visitor. Opened to the public in November 2011, the 11 named gardens, spread over 6 hectares, are all distinctly different, unfolding as a series of surprises as you follow the meandering pathways and steps. At nearly 200m above sea level, the escarpment garden offers the visitor breathtaking views over Mele Bay. Within the gardens are THE ESSENTIAL OILS DISTILLERY - see how oils from sandalwood, Tahitian lime, mandarin, tangelo, ginger, etc, grown at The Summit are extracted and where our range of health and beauty products based on Sandalwood, soaps and candles are made. The Gardens were devastated during Cyclone Pam on Friday 13 March 2015. Since re-opening in August 2015, admission to the gardens is free and must remain so until they recover their former glory and world class status, and we wanted to share this journey with you. However, costs for rehab and garden team wages are ongoing. We believe in Trade not Aid... So if you want to help us going forward, please call into The Summit Gift Shop after your garden stroll and choose your favourite Made in Vanuatu skincare products, 100% Tropical Vanuatu Inspired, 100% Natural & Sandalwood Based. All net proceeds from the shop go to cover the costs of restoring The Summit Gardens. And remember, our products carry a 100% Money Back Guarantee. Come to THE SUMMIT CAFE for refreshments or lunch and take in more of the wonderful views. ALLOW 2-3 hours for your stay - take a leisure walk and lunch or refreshments, or wander around at your leisure for the whole day if you wish! Enjoy a Walk at the Rainforest or Dare the Canyon Ride (Admission Fee applies), or do the Segway Tour (Admission Fee applies) BUT Remember, there's NO ADMISSION FEE to visit and to enjoy The Summit Gardens for now! You can come by bus, by your own car, by your transport. Do come visit-you won't be disappointed! ATTN: Air Vanuatu/ Virgin Blue / Air Caledonia / Fiji Airways / CRUISE SHIP VISITORS & Everyone - To Visit The Summit Gardens is FREE! Explore, Discover, Dine & Shop in the Clouds! If you're feeling adventurous, dare the Canyon Ride or do the Segway tour! ADMISSION FEE APPLIES to both these tours.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I loved these beautiful gardens on the hilltop with some great views over Mele Bay. Getting there by twisting road is an adventure in itself and only adds to its charm. I’ve been to many botanic gardens before but The Summit Gardens are not just a collection of plants. Their welcoming team managed to create a very special atmosphere of tranquillity and harmony. Their café and beauty products shop are rightly praised. They also have nice picnic area. Recommended.

Thank Helga718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 53 reviews
"essential oils"
in 27 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 12 reviews
"great garden"
in 6 reviews
"tropical plants"
in 13 reviews
"awesome views"
in 8 reviews
"hire car"
in 7 reviews
"hideaway island"
in 27 reviews
"cyclone pam"
in 14 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 8 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 6 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 7 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 14 reviews
"distillery"
in 87 reviews
"soaps"
in 48 reviews
"escarpment"
in 11 reviews
Filter

295 - 299 of 617 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

it was a great place to visit but I don't think I would return in a hurry. We have a lot of the same plants at home in Australia. The design was stunning and so was the view. Our guide was very nice.

Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi Helen,
We appreciate your feedback on your visit. Yes a lot of the tropical plants are similar especially if you are from Queensland and other parts of Australia it can be grown in pots. I am pleased to hear you mention about the design of the garden and yes we always receive great comments about the stunning view. Thank you for the comment about the tour guide.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited by ourselves on a Saturday, by catching a taxi from Port Vila. Taxi was very expensive (4,000VT) each way. It was our first day in Vanuatu so we weren't quite aware of how far it was or what was good value.
We had a guide take us to the distillery, but being Saturday it was not operating so we just viewed the machinery and had a short talk on how the oil was extracted.
While the gardens were pleasant to walk around they were not overly special and in my opinion not worth the 2,000VT entrance fee. We had a guide for the first little bit but then she left us to follow the path through the gardens by ourselves. We took our time and stopped at all the lookout points to view the magnificient views over Mele Bay. This was definitely the highlight. At the cafe we broke our walk and had lunch. Again it was nice fresh food and a pleasant tropical punch but expensive for what it was. Continuing our walk after lunch we were able to complete the circuit of the gardens including a lunch break in under 2 hours. We were back in Pt Vila within 4 hours having spent almost $A150 in transport, food and entrance fees for 2 people - in my opinion quite expensive for a walk through a tropical gardens.

Thank rayw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi Rayw111,
Sorry to hear your comment “not particularly good value” but we appreciate your feedback on your visit. I would guess your comments on the gardens have been badly affected by your experiences and costs of getting to and from the gardens. Of the $A150 spent for 2 people for the outing, about 60% of that was for taxis. The taxis and buses are privately owned and even though there are standard prices for different locations they still charge as they wish, and they charge fare plus waiting time (as they do all over the world) and its beyond our control. The best value is to buy our tour on the web which includes transfers to and from The Summit, admission, voucher for light refreshment at the cafe and a free gift worth $10, all for $49 per adult. You could have also booked at the hotel tour desk which is the same price of $49 or Vatu4,900 per adult, thus a possible saving on the day of $50 between you. Next time you visit a country and stay in a hotel please talk to the tour desk staff as they are loaded with information on what to do and how to do it. I would suggest from your comments that you are not a gardener and that is why you thought the gardens were not “overly special” and not worth the 2,000VT entrance fee. We will have to do better it seems even though there are 1000s of plants spread over a beautifully designed 6 hectares, and some 14 local people employed in garden maintenance and tour guiding. The tour guides do not normally desert visitors unless visitors specifically ask to walk around the garden themselves. I am pleased to hear that the million dollar view was at least a highlight of your walk. The café serves fresh delicious organic food with a unique presentation style. Even though you did not fully enjoy your visit with us we hope that you can still spread a kind word to your friends and families.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I did the half day tour and loved it. First of all we given a talk about the Distillery and all about the sandalwood. Then we were taken around the garden which was lovely, lots of flowering plants , and the garden origins were explained.


Our morning tea was great value, beautiful presentation and lovely food.

All in all, I thoroughly recommend it especially for garden lovers.

Thank KiwiAngie1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi KiwiAngie1811027,
Thank you for the five star review you gave us. You obviously enjoyed your visit which I am delighted to hear. Thank you also for recommending the tour to garden lovers. Booking a tour is value for money as you would have known as it includes transfers, admission and voucher for light refreshment at The Café, but better to book on our web page. The garden flowers bloom at different times throughout the year with lots of variety and colourful foliage. So people like you who are into gardens will definitely love our tropical garden. Please spread the word to others so that they too can come and visit our tropical garden.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Summit gardens is a delightfull location. The coffeyshop had great food and drinks and sold a range of exquisite oils and soaps. The garden is great and excellent for a quiet wander, but the view is magnificant and well worth the entrance fee and windy road to get there.

Thank BruceBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, The Summit Team at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi BruceBuderim,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I totally agree with you and appreciate your comment “well worth the entrance fee and windy road to get there.” You certainly enjoyed your visit that is why you wrote a wonderful review about your visit. Everything at The Summit is unique no where else in Vanuatu where you will find a garden with a million dollar view, distillery where they make health and beauty products, shop and café and the zipline. Please spread the word to others so they too can come and visit us and enjoy the million dollar view.
Regards,
Katrina Sali, Head of Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit Gardens Vanuatu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing