We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”
Review of The Summit Gardens Vanuatu - CLOSED

The Summit Gardens Vanuatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest tropical gardens in the South Pacific recovering well after Cyclone Pam in March 2015, the panoramic views from The Summit are stunning. Visit THE SUMMIT GARDENS for FREE, view health & body products being made at The Essential Oils Distillery, Cafe and Health & Body Gift Shop, DAY SPA and more... THE SUMMIT GARDENS have been developed to provide maximum pleasure to the visitor. Opened to the public in November 2011, the 11 named gardens, spread over 6 hectares, are all distinctly different, unfolding as a series of surprises as you follow the meandering pathways and steps. At nearly 200m above sea level, the escarpment garden offers the visitor breathtaking views over Mele Bay. Within the gardens are THE ESSENTIAL OILS DISTILLERY - see how oils from sandalwood, Tahitian lime, mandarin, tangelo, ginger, etc, grown at The Summit are extracted and where our range of health and beauty products based on Sandalwood, soaps and candles are made. The Gardens were devastated during Cyclone Pam on Friday 13 March 2015. Since re-opening in August 2015, admission to the gardens is free and must remain so until they recover their former glory and world class status, and we wanted to share this journey with you. However, costs for rehab and garden team wages are ongoing. We believe in Trade not Aid... So if you want to help us going forward, please call into The Summit Gift Shop after your garden stroll and choose your favourite Made in Vanuatu skincare products, 100% Tropical Vanuatu Inspired, 100% Natural & Sandalwood Based. All net proceeds from the shop go to cover the costs of restoring The Summit Gardens. And remember, our products carry a 100% Money Back Guarantee. Come to THE SUMMIT CAFE for refreshments or lunch and take in more of the wonderful views. ALLOW 2-3 hours for your stay - take a leisure walk and lunch or refreshments, or wander around at your leisure for the whole day if you wish! Enjoy a Walk at the Rainforest or Dare the Canyon Ride (Admission Fee applies), or do the Segway Tour (Admission Fee applies) BUT Remember, there's NO ADMISSION FEE to visit and to enjoy The Summit Gardens for now! You can come by bus, by your own car, by your transport. Do come visit-you won't be disappointed! ATTN: Air Vanuatu/ Virgin Blue / Air Caledonia / Fiji Airways / CRUISE SHIP VISITORS & Everyone - To Visit The Summit Gardens is FREE! Explore, Discover, Dine & Shop in the Clouds! If you're feeling adventurous, dare the Canyon Ride or do the Segway tour! ADMISSION FEE APPLIES to both these tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Snug, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We loved everything about our day at the gardens. Beautiful views, gardens, people and restaurant. Best food I ate anywhere in Vanuatu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, Manager at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Karen G,
We are so pleased you found The Summit and were able to thoroughly enjoy your visit and to really unwind. Thanks for your fantastic comment about the food and have passed on your feedback to Chef and the kitchen team - they will be flattered. We are fortunate to have a great team up here. Hope you will make a return visit soon.
Regards, Carlene Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    213
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We got the 'Mele express' bus from the Anchor Inn in town up to the Summit Gardens, the day we went it was raining on and off whilst we were there, but we wandered on through with our umbrellas and could still appreciate the beauty of the gardens, we could only imaginge how magical it would look on a sunny, clear, day. You can get some amazing photos overlooking Port Vila from the gardens also. We ate at the cafe (good food) and spent up in gift shop (too many choices) We look forward to returning on our next holiday to Vanuatu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jewels99Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful - not to be missed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We took our almost three year old to The Summit gardens and highly recommend it.

Everything was well sign posted (not always the case in vanuatu) and was beautifully presented. Our tour guide, Wendy, spoke english beautifully, was very informative and great with our son, pointing out things to him that are interesting for a little boy. Lots of pathways and spaces for children to safely explore.

The view was completely spectacular. I loved how there was a different little garden and mosaics to discover around every corner. Hubby has a background in horticulture whereas I have little gardening expertise but we both found it very interesting and inspiring.

Very tranquil, special spot that is a real gem in Port Vila.

Helpful?
Thank Travelswithbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, Manager at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Travelswithbeck
Thanks for your great review and to know that The Summit Gardens was still able to provide inspiration to you and your husband with his horticulture background. The Gardens have so many different plants in bloom at the moment. Wendy, like all our tour guides love taking visitors around the gardens, even the little ones can be kept entertained - I think they have a fantastic job and to be able to enjoy the views and gardens everyday as a bonus. Hope you will return to Vanuatu and The Summit again in the future.
Regards, Carlene Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great garden”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The mature garden is well set out with a good pathway. I had Wendy as my guide. She was well informed and gave interesting comments in the 20 minutes it takes to get around. Ben, at the distillery gave a good account of the development from a sandalwood plantation to the present time. The restaurant has good value pizza. The gift shop has an excellent range of products made from its own sources.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, Head of Tours at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Doug012,
Thank you for your lovely comment on your visit to The Summit. Wendy is a great tour guide and enjoys her job very much explaining how the different plants are used locally. Ben is always very passionate about sandalwood and enjoys sharing his knowledge with visitors. The Café makes good pizza especially in the wood fired oven - delicious, and the shop ladies are excellent with their product knowledge. I hope you bought some products for yourself and as gifts. Please do come back and visit us again.
Regards, Katrina Sali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While I'm not a gardener, I was still very impressed with the gardens & the amount of work the owners & staff have put in. The distillery tour is brief but informative (this is where they make the perfumes, moisturisers etc. There are some spectacular specimens of plants here & SO many colours, you'll be taking lots of photos. The cafe & toilets are lovely & the little shop is just gorgeous - you'll be hard pressed not to buy something. And the view from up there looking back over to Port Vila is awesome. Enjoy!! Denise from NZ, September 2012

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeniseandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit Gardens Vanuatu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing