We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely”
Review of The Summit Gardens Vanuatu - CLOSED

The Summit Gardens Vanuatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The largest tropical gardens in the South Pacific recovering well after Cyclone Pam in March 2015, the panoramic views from The Summit are stunning. Visit THE SUMMIT GARDENS for FREE, view health & body products being made at The Essential Oils Distillery, Cafe and Health & Body Gift Shop, DAY SPA and more... THE SUMMIT GARDENS have been developed to provide maximum pleasure to the visitor. Opened to the public in November 2011, the 11 named gardens, spread over 6 hectares, are all distinctly different, unfolding as a series of surprises as you follow the meandering pathways and steps. At nearly 200m above sea level, the escarpment garden offers the visitor breathtaking views over Mele Bay. Within the gardens are THE ESSENTIAL OILS DISTILLERY - see how oils from sandalwood, Tahitian lime, mandarin, tangelo, ginger, etc, grown at The Summit are extracted and where our range of health and beauty products based on Sandalwood, soaps and candles are made. The Gardens were devastated during Cyclone Pam on Friday 13 March 2015. Since re-opening in August 2015, admission to the gardens is free and must remain so until they recover their former glory and world class status, and we wanted to share this journey with you. However, costs for rehab and garden team wages are ongoing. We believe in Trade not Aid... So if you want to help us going forward, please call into The Summit Gift Shop after your garden stroll and choose your favourite Made in Vanuatu skincare products, 100% Tropical Vanuatu Inspired, 100% Natural & Sandalwood Based. All net proceeds from the shop go to cover the costs of restoring The Summit Gardens. And remember, our products carry a 100% Money Back Guarantee. Come to THE SUMMIT CAFE for refreshments or lunch and take in more of the wonderful views. ALLOW 2-3 hours for your stay - take a leisure walk and lunch or refreshments, or wander around at your leisure for the whole day if you wish! Enjoy a Walk at the Rainforest or Dare the Canyon Ride (Admission Fee applies), or do the Segway Tour (Admission Fee applies) BUT Remember, there's NO ADMISSION FEE to visit and to enjoy The Summit Gardens for now! You can come by bus, by your own car, by your transport. Do come visit-you won't be disappointed! ATTN: Air Vanuatu/ Virgin Blue / Air Caledonia / Fiji Airways / CRUISE SHIP VISITORS & Everyone - To Visit The Summit Gardens is FREE! Explore, Discover, Dine & Shop in the Clouds! If you're feeling adventurous, dare the Canyon Ride or do the Segway tour! ADMISSION FEE APPLIES to both these tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While I'm not a gardener, I was still very impressed with the gardens & the amount of work the owners & staff have put in. The distillery tour is brief but informative (this is where they make the perfumes, moisturisers etc. There are some spectacular specimens of plants here & SO many colours, you'll be taking lots of photos. The cafe & toilets are lovely & the little shop is just gorgeous - you'll be hard pressed not to buy something. And the view from up there looking back over to Port Vila is awesome. Enjoy!! Denise from NZ, September 2012

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeniseandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    213
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional gardens and informative tour.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Take the guided tour which is included in your ticket price. You glean so much information from the lovely guides. The flora in the gardens is exceptional and the views across the ocean were spectacular. I do not normally go in for gardens but this should not be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SegaYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This isn't to be missed - a relatively cheap taxi ride from a driver recommended by helpful staff at Mangoes Resort (where we stayed - awesome accommodation) up a rather steep road. Make sure the bus/taxi/tour van is able to negotiate the journey, but once there the gardens definitely didn't disappoint - recommend it. Little cafe and gift shop onsite too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canterburyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The gardens are superb, so many beautiful specimens of plants that I need to nurture and protect at home and hope for a flower. There wasn't a location throughout the gardens were something wasn't in flower. Our guide Roy was fantastic, he explained the names and uses for so many plants and flowers. Don't rush around the garden take your time to see everything - the plants, the sculptures, the walls and the view. The distillery and the garden where the plants are harvested for oils are a great addition to experience. To be able to purchase products from their very own gift shop that contain these oils adds even more to the experience. we didn't stay for lunch as we had other plans but it looked and smelt nice. Allow plenty of time, take your camera and enjoy.

You can take the bus to the Summit Gardens but we hired a taxi for the day - good value considering our driver took us where ever we wanted, waited for us and was also able to answer any questions we had. Also the money goes straight to the driver.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeahShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Summit G, Head of Tours at The Summit Gardens Vanuatu, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear LeahShannon
Many thanks for your detailed review & feedback - you may be our 1st visitors from Zambia! Very pleased you were able to appreciate all those extras little things like the mosaics and some quirky sculpures as well as the beautiful gardens. I hope you & your husband found The Distillery where the products are made interesting, it sounds like you found the Gift Shop! With the spring weather there is so much in bloom and to enjoy. We are very fortunate to have Roy & all of our tour guides who love to showcase our beautiful gardens.and to talk about life in Vanuatu. Please do come back to Vanuatu and The Summit again!
Regards
Katrina Sali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely food, breathtaking views, calm ambiance with a wif of sensual aromas. The sculptured gardens are a delight to wonder through. A favourite place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit Gardens Vanuatu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing