We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location”
Review of Anchor Inn

Anchor Inn
Ranked #40 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: A sensational location right on the harbour in Port Vila. It is where the locals and visitors meet for a cold Tusker , a glass of wine or a meal and a coffee, watch the sunset, and listen to live music. If that's not enough to wet your appetite then check out the live sport on 5 sports channels showing all the best in international sport. See you at The Anchor
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We ordered nachos and chicken schnitzel. The service was very quick and the food was good. The serving size of the nachos was great but the chicken schnitzel was a little small for our 14 yo son.
It's basic flavoursome food. The place is clean, the staff are friendly and there's free wifi.

Helpful?
1 Thank LyNeTtE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    67
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Clean toliets, great view and free wifi”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My partner and I were looking for a place to have lunch while we were in Vanuatu for the day. I recommend having lunch at this place as it has clean toilets (not always that easy to find in Vanuatu) and a great view that looks out onto the water.

The menu is pretty good and I ordered a "KFC" dish. This was suprisingly quite good and the chicken was nicely seasoned. The food here is reasonably basic but tasty.

While you are here you can take advantage of the free wifi to catch up on what is happening back home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for the view, the cold Tuskers and the LOBSTER!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a great time at The Anchor Inn and visited twice. The atmosphere is really relaxed, and the staff friendly and helpful.
They provide free wi-fi so long as you buy a drink or food, and the view over the ocean towards Irririki Island was very soothing. We stayed for a couple of Tuskers, and chatted to J.B., one of the Port Vila locals who was really helpful with ideas on what to see and where to go.
We only looked at the food menu that first visit, but decided to come back to try the whole 1kg Lobster for 3,000 vt. It was so worth it, and a highlight of our trip.
You can order either mornay or grilled in garlic butter, and if you want order a 2kg or 3kg Lobster, depending on the day's catch.
We didn't go on a Friday night or when the cruise ship was in, when apparently it gets really busy and 'goes off' but we were really happy with our experience there, and strongly recommend a drop-in for a cold drink at least.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JodeeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good place to visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went there a few times and just sat and watched the world go by. We usually went there when a cruise ship were in, because it was fascinating to watch the people from the ship act as real idiots. The food was good and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and were always looking after you. It does not pretend to be anything it is not. Basically a pub with an outdoor feel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly environment but service was quite poor”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

After a wonderful lagoon cruise & shopping in Port Vila we decided to eat at the Anchor Inn as did alot of our fellow cruisers from the Pacific Pearl. The menu was on one side of the restaurant & after deciding what to eat you had to walk to the bar on the other side to place your order. Unfortunately we had a vey long wait for our food...one and a half hours later! And then they forgot one of the meals...another half an hour later the last meal arrived. While eating we were chatting, three times waiters came to take our plates away when we were half way through our meals! Nothing was said, they just went to pick up our plates. By this time a couple of us were abit rattled. As the last meal was being eaten a waiter came up and took the condiments off the table! Abit rude we we thought. Definitely need to upgrade their kitchen facilities and hospitality skills. I think Anchor Inn could thrive if given the right skills and utilities.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaD1072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing