We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquana Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

In October this year we had the pleasure of returning to one of our favourite resorts in Vanuatu, only this time we bought with us enough guests to fill the resort for our daughters wedding.
While Aquana Beach may not be promoted as one of "the" wedding venues in Vanuatu, I can safely say that it is one most welcoming, special places to hold a wedding.

The wedding party ( all 27 of us ) were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived at Aquana for their "wedding week long stay". Nothing was too much trouble to arrange and Fabienne, Marcel, Birgit and Hugo made everyone feel at home ,as we had hoped they would. Its lovely to return to a place where everyone remembers you and makes you feel special.

The wedding arrangements were a breeze with Marcel having a "sixth sense" as to the type of delicious food that would be required. The Aquana Team worked with our wonderful wedding planner Virginia Shore, of Events Vanuatu, to make the day very special - nothing was too much trouble, even beautiful fresh white sand was laid at the wedding arbour on the morning of the wedding. Our special thanks went to the Aquana staff who were happy to stay much later than they normally would have to look after the guests and children.

We had a number of small children amongst the guests and they were looked after all week by the nannies and a couple of our guests wanted to "take a nanny with them" when they left. Everyone enjoyed the beautiful food, great cocktails at happy hour and the relaxed atmosphere.

If you are looking for a wedding venue in Vanuatu and would like a special day made more special by beautiful people, then Aquana may be the place for you.

Room Tip: An Beach front Vila is worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 316 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We can't rate this resort highly enough - we travelled with our 3 year old son and stayed for 10 days, during which time we feasted, swam, snorkelled, relaxed, drank cocktails and experienced another culture.

The nannies - lovely and amazing. I wish we could have taken them home with us (and so does our son). The only difficulty was getting our son to sit down and eat, when he had so many better options of playing with the nannies, looking for crabs and jumping on the trampoline with the other kids!

The owners and staff - again, absolutely lovely and professional. Nothing was too much trouble.

The outrigger transfer to our own private island for the day - unbelievable.

The lagoon - always the perfect temperature and with plenty of shallow area for our son to paddle about.

The ni-van people - absolutely beautiful - endless smiles and warmth.

What more can we say - go to vanuatu and stay at aquana! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Beachfront of course, but its a small resort so everything is good. We were in bungalow 6 which I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisellemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Amazingly friendly, approachable and informative staff and owners. Nothing was too much trouble and everything impeccably organised. Our beautiful waterview villa, with airconditioning, fan and private patio, was serviced daily. The comprehensive menu provided generous helpings of top-grade cuisine. The artists providing the excellent entertainment were very talented. The location gave us the opprtunity to meet locals and share the life in their village. The hot water in the shower was a bit erratic, but overall the facilties, food and service were outstanding.

Room Tip: The waterview bungalows have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks . We stayed with 3 other families . We all had a fantastic time . Food was great staff were helpful and Hugo had lots of stories to tell . It took me a while to understand the place meaning the location , beach and environment but Aquana are very conscious of protecting the environment so it made sense that it stayed as natural as possible. We paddled to deserted islands and walked through natural jungle .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

As Tracey and others have said, a perfect hideaway for young families - balmy sunshine, cool inviting waters, fab food and all day FREE nanny service to boot - it doesn't get any better!
We actually had the pleasure to stay at the same time as Tracey's family and the kids became fast friends as did all the children staying at the resort.
I agree with Tracey that Vanuatu is a great destination, better than Fiji which can feel like that it is overrun by tourists.
Aquana is a small resort of 14 bungalows, in a secluded spot about 20 mins from Port Vila. Although smaller than a lot of big resorts, Aquana has successfully created an intimate and friendly environment, a key reason we chose to stay here. As an indication, I enjoyed on more than one evening a beer with Hugo (one of the owners).
After a day or two both adults and children (our 2 young girls) became very familiar and relaxed in this safe environment. Our kids are normally cautious around new surroundings and people, and we were pleasantly surprised how quickly they adjusted, thanks largely to the nannies who were always ready to occupy and entertain any children.
As all have said the staff are helpful, warm and very approachable which made for a wonderful stay. You can do as much or as little as you please, with help at hand at reception to organise any activities (Fabienne, Chris and the team). We all really enjoyed the day trip to Eton Beach and the Blue Lagoon which is a must with a stay at Aquana. In addition there is free to hire non-motorised water equipment and a well stocked DVD library with many latest releases to enjoy on those lazy days.
Regarding food we marvelled at the quality and choice available (we stayed for 10 nights). Marcel and the kitchen staff create some fantastic dishes and we thoroughly enjoyed the fresh lobster caught on one do the days - I still drool over the succulent lobster meat bathed in a white wine and cheese sauce - 10 out 10 YUM!! Prices for food although not cheap, were reasonable for the quality we received. A tip for visitors is that we regularly just ordered a single entree and main to share between two, portions are typically generous.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Would we stay again? Absolutely and look forward to booking the next trip in the near future.

Room Tip: Bungalows 7 or 8 face the water and are located far enough from the main dining area to be peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've just read MattSharpe's review below who was staying there at the same time as us - and it is very detailed and perfectly described so there is no need to elaborate.

Only to stay, that if you have a young family and want a holiday where the parents also get a break in an Oasis of Resort Perfection - this is the place.

I want to cry with joy when I think about just how great our 8 days at Aquana was. Vanuatu in my opinion is better than Fiji. And Aquana is by far, the best family destination we have stayed in (and we generally take two overseas holidays a year with our twins).

Please feel free to message me if you want any details and I would be more than happy to answer any questions.

Also, the week before we stayed - there was a wedding there, and it is also a stunning spot for this - with the best catering on the island - with the best staff!

Thank you so much to Fabienne, Marcel, Hugo and Rita for a wonderful holiday. I wish I could jump through the computer to every person considering Aquana to yell that it is the best place!!

Also, I run a travel business - and have already had three enquiries in less than two weeks given my strong recommendation!

Room Tip: There are only 16 bungalows - and all with a view of ocean. Any room would be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing 8-day trip at the beautiful Aquana Beach Resort with our 2 kids, aged 2 and 4. We chose this resort based on the almost universal praise on TripAdvisor, and on the whole we were not disappointed. As we heavily used these reviews in making our selection, I wanted to return the favour by writing a detailed and honest a review for anyone considering coming here. As many have mentioned before, Fabienne and Marcel along with Rita and Hugo have really worked hard to create a lovely boutique destination squarely catering for those with young families. Given that they themselves have young children who live on the resort they clearly understand their market. The owner’s passion and genuine desire to please is reflected throughout the staff, and from the moment of booking through until check out none of our requests were too much to ask. That said however, there were a few minor gripes that has made me mark this down to a rating of 4 – nothing that couldn’t be remedied, and more on that later.

In terms of what we loved about Aquana – as many have said before, this is a little slice of paradise, quiet, relaxing and safe and far from the worries of the world. The resort is small, with around 15 bungalows so never feels crowded – you quickly get to meet everyone else staying there, and given that they are mostly of a similar demographic it is easy to chat and find common ground – not to mention opportunities for the kids to make new friends. If you are considering a family holiday with kids under 6 then you really can’t go wrong with this place. One thing I would mention though, if you are looking for a quiet or romantic destination without kids then the Aquana may not fit that bill. There were some childless holidaymakers on the resort with us, and it looks like they were less appreciative of having lots of screaming kids running around their breakfast table every morning. The facilities on the resort, whilst not extensive, were very good and well maintained. The small pool was clean and nicely located between the bar and the beach, with ample loungers and a shallow end for the kids to splash around in. There is a small children’s play area inside with toys, games, arts and crafts which kept our kids occupied for hours, and allowed the parents to have some peace during mealtimes. One issue I found with this setup however was that there was no fencing between the pool and the play area/bar – often our 2yo would go barrelling towards the pool with nothing to stop him falling in. I would suggest that for safety’s sake that they look at putting up some sort of child-safe barrier here.

The beach on the resort is pretty, with a lovely view across a sheltered wave-free lagoon towards a forested island and some stunning sunsets. However, it is not a great swimming spot. Despite the imported sand, there is some sharp coral, a steep descent into deep water and it is silty to the point that you can’t see the bottom. Whilst it is possible to swim, practically speaking for young children or non-swimmers it is not ideal beyond splashing around at the edge. If you are looking for a good swimming beach you do have the option of hiring the on-site Outrigger, whose driver will take you to a beautiful island for 2 hours with some amazing coral and snorkelling opportunities. We were told that there are often sightings of Turtles and Dugongs around here, however we were not fortunate enough during our trip to see them – plenty of fish though! There are better beaches around the island, and one of the best is at Eton – around a 30 minute drive from the resort. You have the option of taking a tour (which also takes in the beautiful Blue Lagoon) or self-driving. We hired a vehicle, and if you have the confidence to do so I would highly recommend doing this. The road in and out is unsealed and a bit bumpy, and some of the roads around the island are poorly maintained, but other than that driving here is relatively easy and the roads are uncrowded. We also loved having the flexibility to go where we wanted on our own timings, which when you have young kids is a bonus. Another great spot to drive to is the Mele Cascades – about 40 minutes to get out there, and then another 20 minutes of a relatively arduous climb, but well worth it to swim in the beautiful natural cascade pools. If you get the chance, I would also recommend that you swing past the Tanna Coffee café near the falls on the way back for a refreshment and chat with the friendly owners.

Other than the pool and beach on the resort there is also a small playground with swings and slide, plenty of buckets and spades and a large trampoline, which all the kids of all ages spent many hours on. You also have the option to sign out snorkelling gear, aqua shoes and lifejackets and take out one of the kayaks across the lagoon – ideal for the adults and older kids. The daily free bus transfer into Port Vila (about 30 minutes away) is also a great facility, and it is worth doing this at least once to stock up in the markets and grab some lunch or pasties next to the harbour (although TBH one trip is probably sufficient). There is on-site entertainment a few evenings a week – the highlights of which are the fire dancers and the Fatumanu Kastom dancers/musicians. All up, there is plenty to keep the kids occupied and the adults relaxed for at least a week – although by the end of our week the kids were starting to get a little bored.

The bungalows are, as many have already mentioned, spacious, clean and modern with good facilities. There are 1-bed and 2-bed options – both types of bungalows are the same size, with a larger bedroom in the former. Bungalows 4-8 are on the beachfront with the best views (although bungalow 4 is right next to the bar/restaurant so has the least privacy). The lounge room has AC, with ceiling fans in the bedrooms (needed during the summer season). There is a small mini bar, a kettle with tea/coffee and a TV and DVD player which is tuned into Australian terrestrial channels. Not that you’re likely to spend much time in the bungalow, but when you do it has all you need. Some have mentioned lack of shelving space in the bathroom, but that is a small issue. We also found that there is not a huge amount of hanging/drawer space in the bedrooms either – but there are additional drawers in the lounge for clothes if required. One criticism I did have was with the shower in our room – it was very difficult to get the water to a good temperature, which is important with reluctant kids – the temperature would vary from very hot to very cold, and we had to constantly move between the two extremes. We did speak to the management about this, and this is a result of the dedicated gas water heaters. The housekeeping is really good – the ladies who come round are friendly, efficient and quick and I could not fault them – every day they cleared our bungalow of sand, brought us fresh towels and made our beds – what more could you ask for!

The food on the resort was of a consistently high standard, with some exceptions - although I would not go so far as some of the previous reviewers have in terms of singling it out as amazing. On the whole, Vanuatu is not a ‘foodie’ destination, and with the exception of a few higher-end French restaurants the choice of cuisine on the islands is limited. In that sense, I have little doubt that the quality of what you get at the Aquana is high by Vanuatu standards. This fact was underlined to us during our last night here when the Prime Minister of Vanuatu was seated at the table next to us entertaining a foreign delegation! By international standards however, I found a lot of what was served to be above average at best – particularly in light of the prices paid. For example, we paid over $40 for 14 garlic prawns – expensive by any standards, and certainly unthinkable for anyone on a local wage. Marcel has certainly put a lot of effort into creating a diverse menu, and there are some standouts in there – we particularly enjoyed the Melanesian Curry. Some of the options on the menu were less impressive however, particularly some of the children’s options, which whilst still expensive were uninspiring and oversalted. We would have liked to have tried more, but the prohibitive costs of eating all our meals here meant that we had to be selective. The isolation of the resort however meant that in most cases we had no other options. The breakfasts are included, and you get the option of cereal, fruit and toast along with a cooked main - but if you are a vegetarian or unable to eat bacon then the few remaining breakfast options get a little ‘samey’ after a week. Overall I would rate the quality of the food around a 7/10, but the value around 5/10.

The service on the resort from the management all the way down was warm and friendly to a tee, and nothing was too much trouble. From arranging food for our arrival to making packed breakfasts for our departure we were treated like family. Small touches like having our dinner table moved onto the sand to get a better view of the (amazing) fire dancers, arranging our car hire, through to the cute amuse bouches and floral decorations at mealtimes and the staff learning all of our names we were made to feel like we were getting 5-star-plus service throughout our stay. The wait staff were attentive but not over-bearing and all clearly have been well trained and enjoy their work. The staff manning reception were happy to go the extra mile to help out and advise, and everyone was clearly proud of their country and were more than happy to have a friendly chat.

Last and not least, the nannies. The fact that the nannies have received such glowing praise was one of the deciding factors in us choosing this resort – in fact for us opting for Vanuatu at all. Whilst we did not expect them to provide proxy childcare for us, we did have some pre-expectations of what services they would provide. Not wanting to be too controversial here, but to be honest we were a little disappointed. Whilst some of the nannies were clearly more attentive than others, we did often find that for parts of the day they were either unavailable or idly ensconced in group chats and not focussing on the children. Don’t get me wrong, they would equally spend time playing with the kids, doing arts and crafts and sitting with them on the beach or trampoline – but often I would then watch as their attention would drift as they ended up doing their own drawings or crafts for example whilst my 2yo ran off once again in the direction of the pool or the sea. On a number of occasions when I had left my children with the nannies I would then see one or both of them wandering alone and unattended, and I started to lose trust that they would be entirely safe. What was particularly unacceptable for me was that on one occasion I noticed a nanny who had been assigned to solely look after a 5-year-old whilst her parents left the resort had left her alone in the swimming pool without supervision for a few minutes. After seeing that I knew that we could not do the same. They do state that the parents are ultimately responsible for the safety of the child and knowing their whereabouts on the resort, but it would only take one incident to completely undermine the purpose of these nannies and destroy the reputation of this resort. Management take notice – you have worked hard to build this place up and you need to ensure that complacency does not start to creep in. For this reason I was considering marking you down to a 3-star review, but given the passion and hard work and the great job you are doing running this place otherwise I have given you the benefit of the doubt and I am sure that this is an issue that can be rectified.

All in all, despite the few gripes outlined above we all had a fantastic holiday at the Aquana. Vanuatu is a beautiful, unspoilt archipelago and an ideal location for a family holiday. The local NI-Vatu people are some of the friendliest people we have met, and are rightly proud of their country. Vanuatu is still a developing country, and the infrastructure here is nowhere near as developed as that in say Fiji or Thailand for example – but that is part of the charm of coming here. The Aquana is a relatively new addition to Efate, and the owners have done wonders in transforming an isolated stretch of mangroves into a lovely resort and injecting well-needed funds into the local village economy. With a little more focus to tighten up the areas outlined above this has the potential to be somewhere truly great. Would we go back? Maybe – we certainly see the attraction of doing so, but I would perhaps wait until our kids are a bit older and more sensible! If however you are looking for a relaxing and unpretentious family holiday I have little reservation in recommending the Aquana Beach resort.

Room Tip: Bungalows 4-8 are on the beach - #4 is right next to bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MattSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
16.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
600 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,578 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquana Beach Resort

Address: Eratap Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $178 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, Aquana Beach Resort has become Vanuatu's leading three and a half star family friendly boutique Resort and this has largely been due to the unique childcare approach it has developed and the quality of the food from it's very popular casual dining restaurant. Located 25 minutes from the International Airport and only 15 minutes from the town centre, Aquana is situated in a large lagoon surrounded by groups of deserted islands and pristine reefs. Aquana has a 150 meter long man-made beach great for children to be able to play free from danger and for adults to relax on and soak up the sun. Aquana consists of 16 bungalows all located within 30 meters of the lagoon front and a hot a la carte and a continental breakfast are both included in the room rate and the resorts idyllic surroundings provides the perfect location for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Aquana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquana Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing