We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquana Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$62
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Chaumieres(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$106
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Villas(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$161
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$157
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$32
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$147
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Pango Motel(Port Vila)
$32
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
285
27
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
27
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanny servicefire dancerswonderful nannieskids clubuninhabited islandtrivia nightfree shuttlefamily holidayshort kayakgarlic prawnswatchful eyebumpy dirt roadgreat holidayday tripmum and dadgreat familylocal school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 320 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Myself and my partner recently returned to Aquana for a 10 day holiday. We already knew to expect there impeccable rooms, delicious food and picturesque location as we also stayed back in December 2012; but had to cut our trip short due to a family emergency. In the couple of days we spent there we did not want to leave and knew we had to return to Aquana. The staff were very compassionate and did everything they could to ensure our early departure back home ran as smoothly as possible.

Upon our return to Australia I was amazed to find an email From Fabienne (one of the owners) checking to see how everything was; it was this above and beyond attitude that showed in everything they did.

Naturally we returned to Aquana recently to enjoy a full 10 day holiday. Fabienne again continually communicated with us prior to our arrival, and even checked 4 days before our arrival if we would be needing transfers (something we had forgot)! We would defiantly recommend a transfer, the price is alot more reasonable than any taxi or bus and they know where there going! Also our flight was substantially delayed, and staff checked our flight details with the flight company to make sure our pick up ran as seamless as possible. Our transfer was waiting for us when we arrived!

We stayed in two different bungalows over the two trips and both rooms were immaculate, they are cleaned everyday, and we hardy ever saw the maids!

There is plenty to do at Aquana itself and also on the tours they offer. We recommend Eton beach and the blue lagoon, hours of fun on the rope swing for kids and adults. Also take out one of the free canoes and snorkels they offer and explore the nearby islands, so much to see and crystal clear water! The pool is cleaned daily and is always inviting and great for kids. There were a couple of families staying at the resort while we were there, and there kids always seemed happy and entertained. Seems like a great place for families and couples alike. During our stay they put on some fantastic entertainment, including fire dancers and kava tasting that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The food is incredible. We ordered of the menu most nights and never ran out of options. The fish is extremely fresh and caught frequently so I urge you to try it. Marcel was always around to offer suggestions, or make up and entirely new dish for you, which he did on a few occasions. As with all the staff at Aquana, he seems to genuinely care about his food, and guests! The cocktails were made to an equally high standard, so we took full advantage of happy hour!

During our stay we did a number of activities, always arranged through fabienne at reception, who nothing was ever too much trouble for! She basically arranged our whole trip, always with a smile!

It is the defiantly the staff that make aquana, they are very friendly and always go above and beyond what I would expect or have ever experienced at any other resort. They are never to busy to have a friendly chat with. Myself and my partner will defiantly be returning in the future. Big Thanks to Hugo, Birgit, Fabienne and Marcel for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francescamoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Aquana. Grandad, Grandma, daughter and I imagine our unforgetable 23month old grandson Niko! We were met on arrival with enthusiasm a refreshing cocktail and cooling towels. The level of attentivness just didn't stop the whole week. The staff are exceedingly happy and helpful. The nanny service was so good that our grandson regarded them as his family for the week. Even the bar staff were happily carrying him around.
The entertainment offered was of a high standard with a local youth group singing and dancing and firedancers being our favourites. The rooms were very clean,comfortable and spacious .The grounds were kept beautifully. Swimming was a delight either in the pool or the lagoon. We became part of the Aquana family for the week with the entire staff waving us goodbye as we left.

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are the pick.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moreinput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A big "Thankyou" to Hugo, Rita, Marcel and Fabbie.......we attended Jed & Lynda's wedding and O.M.G what an experience. Aquana is just so beautiful. The food is divine - hats off to you Marcel - every meal was absolutely beautiful. The owner's and staff are all so lovely - they orgainised day trips of snorkelling and visitis to blue water holes to swim, local boat trips to snorkel whilst supplying the best BBQ lunch cooked right there for us The wedding was the best wedding ever - great friends, food and drinks along with local village dancers and fire dancing...Aquana is the place to stay if you visit Port Vila and want beautiful food, total relaxation and want to experience Paradise......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

There's probably not a lot more to say that hasn't already been said but here's another family's take on Aquana where we stayed at the start of March (with a 4 and 6 year old).
Getting to the resort is around half an hour - easily organised by the resort prior to arrival as we did. Most of the journey is along good roads though the last bit of the journey is slightly off the beaten track though don't be put off by this!
The first thing that impressed and continued to impress were the warm welcomes and how happy and friendly everyone was in the resort - it immediately put us at ease and we knew we were in for a relaxing stay. The resort is beautifully appointed with a man made beach area opening up onto a calm, shallow lagoon ideal for swimming and kayaking and with easy access to the open ocean for more adventure and breathtaking coral reefs and island beaches. One of the areas of the beach has a particularly high sulphur content - very good for you generally but even better - extremely buoyant so easy to just float around with no loungers/inflatables required!
The bungalows are well furnished with everything required for a good nights sleep, relaxing on the porch with a good book or watching a movie from the well stocked DVD library. The main building has the restaurant, bar and swimming pool providing a great area for enjoying the excellent food on offer, a bit of socialising in the evening or a swim in the very well maintained pool.
There are always nannies available to look after the kids as and when needed who are even available to go out on excursions and take some of the pressure of looking after the kids - ideal if you've got young ones but want to enjoy snorkelling or the waterfalls as we did! This is not a formal kids club and in our opinion far better and part of the benefit of being a small, boutique resort. The kids can be with you enjoying family time one minute but then if they want to go off and do something different, or the parents want some quiet time - the nannies are never far away and will be keeping an eye on the kids and seem to instinctively know when to step in - perfect! Our kids formed bonds very quickly with the these young ladies whose calm and gentle influence was fundamental to making our holiday such a relaxing experience.
Back to the food briefly, being foodies we were delighted to meet Marcel - a great chef with a genuine love of food - happy to discuss/recommend and even cook something entirely different to what is on the menu if that's what we came up with as an idea together - not something I've come across too many times and yet another example of what makes this place unique.
Other things to mention were the great massages that can be arranged, beautiful walks around the local area with the locals very welcoming and happy to give you directions if you get a little lost!
Thanks to Fabienne, Marcel, Hugo (and Rex!), Birgit and all of the staff for making us feel so welcome. Congratulations on creating such a tranquil oasis! We certainly intend to return before too long!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TimBUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Mid January, 6 nts with 2 teenage kids- who gave it 9/10! A simple relaxed break with great food and lovely staff. Yes this is ideal for younger kids, but we didn't mind listening to the children having fun in the pool etc (it was peak school holidays and would be ideal for all types of people when it isn't!). My teens were very happy and the "nannies" and other staff members were happy to play soccer and beach vollyball with my son(and hubby) in the afternoons. It is away from everything, but we were happy to chill and only went off site a couple of times.
Staff always helpful.
Worst thing was the shower- weak and too hot or freezing, nothing in between!
Do ask to have the bedroom window blacked out.
Take your own snorkel gear if you have it.

Room Tip: The rooms 6,7 and 8 would be my first choice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplepaula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews