We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquana Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Aquana for 10 nights with our 2 year daughter. I actually booked here after cancelling our reservations at a large 5 star resort on Denarau in Fiji, and was glad we did so.
The staff are wonderful and take real pride in their work, and nothing is too much trouble. Children aren't so much "accommodated" at Aquana, as genuinely welcomed with open arms. You can have a peaceful meal or a trip somewhere by taking advantage of the babysitting, but I also found that the staff made it easy to enjoy actually having our daughter with us rather than dumping her at a kids club.
As this is small resort you get to know the other guests, staff and the owners.
The standout thing was how flexible Aquana was in accommodating our every wish, usually on very short notice.
This was one of the most relaxing family holidays we've had and congratulations to Hugo and the family for all that they've achieved with their vision so far.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BozD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
202
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at Aquana a few months ago with my Mum - we stayed for 7 nights with the sole purpose of rest and relaxation - we were not disappointed! Aquana is located some 20-odd minutes away from the hustle and bustle of town on a lovely lagoon (some lovely sunsets!). Being a small resort there are always staff on hand to attend to your every need, and always with a big smile and friendly demeanour. Nothing was too much for them - you want lunch in your room: okay. You want drinks served at the water's edge: no worries. You need snorkel gear/coral shoes: free of charge. You want something that's not on the menu: we'll see what we can do! My Mum and I ventured into Port Vila a couple of times during our stay but really would have been happy to never leave the resort, as there was plenty to do there. Our favourite day would have to be taking the outrigger from the resort to a nearby island to enjoy (at our leisure) a lovely seafood platter made up by Marcel, washed down with champagne and as much or as little snorkelling as we felt inclined to do! We felt really spoilt that day (as an aside, I was also surprised at how great the snorkelling is - I'm not a regular swimmer but easily found myself in a giant acquarium not too far from the shore of that island!). Having your own personal chef also made us feel very spoilt - Marcel would often chat to us before dinner to see what we 'felt like' having (whether on the menu or not) and the meals were always delicious, no need to go anywhere else for food. Birgit, Hugo and Marcel were wonderful hosts and their desire to provide a wonderful and stress-free experience for their guests was obvious. The rooms are spacious and well-furnished, we didn't need the aircon too much but appreciate that in a hotter period it would be essential (yet Aquana is one of the few resorts in Vanuatu that offer aircon). We noticed other people at the resort making use of the babysitting service which I though would be a real bonus if travelling with kids and looking to unwind. There were a few little glitches here and there as the Aquana team do face challenges, being a new property in a country with somewhat unreliable supply/logistic chains and a population that works on "island time", but overall they are doing a fantastic job, always doing the best they can by their guests, and I look forward to returning one day to see how the place has evolved. Thank you Birgit, Hugo and Marcel for a wonderful stay and I am sorry it took me so long to put up my review!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Aquana in January, and had a wonderful time. A tour of the local island with one of the aquana staff was a highlight, and the service during our stay was impeccable. The resort managers were welcoming and we had the most specular local coconut crab, bought and prepared by the chef at Aquana. Just check out the crab!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had 5 days recently at Aquana Beach Resort, and to be honest I couldn't fault anything. Transfers from airport were well organised Check-in and check out - both quick and without any issues. We were greeted like special guests when we arrived and Birget showed us around the resort and explained all we needed to know. All staff were friendly and we chatted plenty to all of them. Being a small resort made it easy to get to know all. Our lagoonfront 1 bedroom bungalow was large and cleaned immaculately every day. Flat screen TV & DVD player (plenty of DVDs avalable) , hammock chair and table with 4 chairs on patio. We did a few of the day excursions from the resort and they were all great value - Eton beach, blue lagoon, mele cascades, scenic lookout and snorkelling trip in outrigger canoe. They have free shuttle bus to town and back daily 1000hrs and returning 1630hrs.(about 25 min trip. Restaurant meals were excellent - you could dine wherever you wanted - at the waters edge, on your patio- nothing was a bother. Night-time entertainment was also organised - polynesian dancers and local singers/performers on melansian feast night. Kava was also available most nights for those that desired! Eratap village is nearby to walk to if you wish to visit also.
Well suited for those who want to relax, however there is still plenty to do if you wish.
Many thanks to Birget, Hugo, Marcel and all the beautiful staff for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starfish623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This family run resort on a quiet and isolated part of the island is the perfect place to call home when you are on holidays. We recently went up there for a wedding and decided that we wanted a secluded place to recharge the batteries, this was going to require peace and quiet, great food and just enough fun in the sun, which was all delivered in spades by a team that were prepared to go above and beyond in all aspects of our holiday.

If you are heading to Vanuatu and looking for serious value for money, this resort will have you doing as I am now writing my first review to congratulate the Aquana family for ensuring our holiday left nothing to be desired. If we are in Vanuatu again this is where we would stay without question.

There is absolutely no need to leave the place, with beautiful and affordable food available at anytime during the day, guests from other hotels travel in to dine here. With the chef and his team available to source any local product to create the experience you desire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have had an amazing holiday at the beautiful Aquana resort.We travelled with our two grandsons and we all had the best holiday.To Marcel,Birgit and Hugo together with the warmest and friendliest staff a big thankyou.Nothing was too much trouble.The bungalows were very comfortable and the lagoon right in front was great for swimming as was the pool.Kayaking and snorkelling to nearby island was a highlight.We also went on a village tour.Loved the food,always cooked to perfection.A very relaxing and peaceful holiday,we will be back!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I cannot rate this place highly enough on beauty, service, friendliness. A wonderful place for kids as all the staff are so great with kids. Everyone is smiling all the time and it's infectious. So much to do, so little time. We will be back.

Thank you for making our anniversary so perfect.

Geri, Marty and Kayanna xx

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungConnollyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
16.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
541 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquana Beach Resort

Property: Aquana Beach Resort
Address: Eratap Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, Aquana Beach Resort has become Vanuatu's leading three and a half star family friendly boutique Resort and this has largely been due to the unique childcare approach it has developed and the quality of the food from it's very popular casual dining restaurant. Located 25 minutes from the International Airport and only 15 minutes from the town centre, Aquana is situated in a large lagoon surrounded by groups of deserted islands and pristine reefs. Aquana has a 150 meter long man-made beach great for children to be able to play free from danger and for adults to relax on and soak up the sun. Aquana consists of 16 bungalows all located within 30 meters of the lagoon front and a hot a la carte and a continental breakfast are both included in the room rate and the resorts idyllic surroundings provides the perfect location for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aquana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquana Beach Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing