We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time. The room was large with a super comfy bed and awesome outdoor bathroom. It wasn't too warm so didn't matter that there was no air con. Our last few trips have been to Asia so it was a nice change NOT to get hassled. On the flip side at times everyone is a bit too relaxed. Breakfast was basic but nice. Ocean water was super clean but you can't just swoon out due to coral. Overall it my hubby and I had a great time at Breakas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 4, 2015
Dear KJV74,

thank you for taking the time to share your review with us all.

it is great to read that you have had such a lovely experience with us while you were having your tropical escape.

looking forward to seeing you again.

Tank yiu tumas

Frita Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    278
    82
    25
    18
See reviews for
79
694
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
auckland new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Came back from staying at Breakas two days ago.
Best resort we have been to: lots to do, friendly staff, great meals and our bungalow was private and clean.
Entertainment every evening, dining on the beach: too may things to mention.
No children, so a lovely quiet place to relax, they even bring you your meals anywhere you choose to sit, so a romantic meal for two on the beach is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear freedomfortwo,

thank you for the amazing review. It seems like you got to experience a little bit of everything at Breakas.

As much as we all love children at Breakas, isn't it nice just to have those few days child free. We are glad you appreciated this and also our nightly entertainment and beachside dining.

Come and see us again, you were wonderful guests.

Tropical regards

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Breakas is truely an amazing and awesome resort. From the moment we arrived which was about mid night the staff welcomed us with smiles. We spent our first three nights here in Vanuatu to celebrate a special birthday before moving to another resort that was already booked which is also lovely but so wished we had booked to stay at Breakas the whole time. The resort is beautiful with an amazing infinity blue pool which is viewed as soon as you enter the reception area and from the restaurant, bar & casual lounge areas.

We stayed in a Garden Fare which was gorgeous, the best king sized bed ever, out door shower with the trees canopy overhead & the birds whistling. The resort is full of lovely gardens & trees that define the sand paths through out.

The staff are just gorgeous and always smiling. We met the new General Manager Isaac who is delightful and would always stop for a chat along the way. The tours specialist Fretta who is awesome welcomed all the newcomers the first morning and provided us with all the local information that we required to set us on our adventure into town. We booked a couple of tours through Fretta and every thing was always just right.

We would definately come back to Breakas and bring our three teenagers.

Overall we could not fault this resort at all as everything was just beautiful - location, the staff, food & accommodation.

Keep Smiling !!

Ron & Therese Gardner

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Therese G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Therese, thanks very much for spending your special birthday with us at Breakas.

We like to think we have a special location with our amazing beach and course our famous pool.

The guest introduction we run everyday in the morning is a great way to hear what to do and get those insider secrets!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you return.

Tropical regards

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Breakas is a relaxed and simple place to stay. We had a beachfront bure which was great, nice to hear the ocean at night! The staff are very friendly. It is pretty difficult to swim in the beach due to the reef, although the pool is beautiful. If you want to relax and do very little, then Breakas is the place for you. Port Vila is about 15 mins away and buses passed the resort constantly.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieB13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, November 4, 2015
Dear JackieB13_13,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us all,

we are all glad that you have had a relaxing time , yes unfortunately at low tide yes the reef is exposed due to being on a coral atoll.

hope to see you back again

tank yiu tumas

Frita Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our group of six stayed at Breakas for a week to celebrate a 60th birthday, and our whole experience was superb. We are very grateful to our House of Travel agent Trudy for recommending this place, and after exploring a couple of other resorts during our stay, we were even more pleased with our choice. The resort is not too large so is more personal than bigger places.
The staff are an absolute asset to the place, and everyone really goes the extra mile for the guests, and they genuinely want to please. We hope management look after all the staff as they are a rare bunch who make our holidays run so smoothly. Our particular dealings with Frita, David, Steven and many others made us feel like we were part of the 'family'. The cheerful greetings from the boys sweeping up the leaves every day, the staff servicing our rooms etc was wonderful. Thanks to all of you.
The food is amazing, the setting superb, the pool is magic, dining in the sand is special, and we all particularly enjoyed the local singers who we loved dancing to - a shame they finished so early each night though.
It was great being an 'adults only' resort, and as a group of six we were a bit of an oddity amongst all the honeymoon couples and other 'tables for 2'. The staff always made sure we had a table set for 6 which was much appreciated.
The rooms are very comfortable, and the ceiling fan was adequate instead of air con. We were really happy to be in the garden fares as felt the sea view fares were a bit public. The beach is ok but not great for swimming, but there are heaps of places a short bus ride away to experience magnificent snorkelling.
We all had a fabulous stay and hope to come back another time, but will definitely recommend Breakas to anyone intending visiting Vanuatu.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden fares as they are quieter than the sea view fares, and have less traffic wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Chris,

thank you so much for the wonderful review of your time here with us. We were all sad to see you go. David, Friita and Steven say hello back.

We like to think we are small enough to give every guest our full attention even if it does get a little busy at our restaurant around dinner time :-)

We have busy replanting all of our gardens this week with some new tropical additions around the garden fares so you will have to come back and see what it looks like.

Thank you very much again and Lukim Yu Bakegan soon

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have just returned from 7 nights staying in a beach side fare at Breakas Resort. Although we have visited Port Vila on numerous occasions this was our first stay at this resort.
I would recommend the beach side fares as you can sit on the balcony which overlook Erakor Lagoon. It is a quiet resort with the 'no children policy' and an excellent restaurant. We ate there three evenings and couldn't fault the food & great service by waitress, Bec
The pool was superb and there appeared to be plenty of sun lounges & hammocks around the lagoon.
We booked a couple of tours through the resort and generally found the staff friendly & helpful.
The rooms would probably be rather hot in the summer with just one ceiling fan, however at this time of the year this was not an issue. A bit more lighting in the fares would be better as they are rather dark.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -6 would not be our choice. Although close to restaurant & pool there are guests walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing stay at Breaks! Thankyou so much to Fretta and the crew who looked after us for four days and made sure that everything was just divine. Sand in your toes for dinner, nightly performances from local artists and cultural involvement from the local and faraway islands ensured that we were able to get a really good feel for the islands of Vanuatu and all of its beauty. transport is easy, tours are easy to arrange and even if you need something out of the ordinary like a doctor at midnight - the staff and crew at Breakas made it seem easy and effortless. The food is DIVINE! the service maybe a little on island time but enjoy the fabulous wine and you just don't notice! Trust me the food is worth it! The room we had was on the "intimate" side of the resort and there are only 4 rooms on this side. The service, peace and quiet, and total privacy was amazing. Sleep in till noon if you like get up and take 10 steps to the bar, order a drink and stand in the shallows and drink cocktails till you need another nap! Wonderful place to let your hair down and really let the western world go!!!More importantly a fabulous spot to start your island adventure from!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear adetraveller

you have just almost described perfectly the guest experience we want everyone to have.

Thank you for the great review, it is very much appreciated and our team here love reading the, Fritta says hello back.

I am especially glad you like our nightly entertainment, we like to think we are bringing a little bit of the outer lines to the resort and we do try and change our performances regularly to support different groups.

We hope you come luk ( see) us again soon..

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing