We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best stay ever”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed from the 10th until the 17th of March. Throughout Cyclone Lusi and the rain Pam and her staff made our holiday the best stay we have ever had. All the staff are so friendly. Frita, David,Ernest just to name a few. Everyone made our stay so enjoyable and made us feel special and welcomed at all times. We had Beachfront Fare 11. Geat view. No sounds from the main area. Food was great. Drinks were cold. Shows we're good. Snorkelled right out front. Beautiful blue starfishes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Christine,

thanks so much for the wonderful review. Most of our guests were so understanding during the cyclone and everyone seemed to have a great time even during the wind and rain. We were lucky it lasted only a few days. The clean up after was a bit of a pain but thank you for your patience.

Even during the worst weather we want all of guests to have the best time they can. Thanks again and hope to see you back again during our normal beautiful weather!

Tropical regards
Salote - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    273
    82
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
685
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed between 7th - 14th March. Staff were brilliant & nothing was a problem for them. Pool isn't huge but was still great as few guests in there at any one time - resort didn't seem overly busy! We were in beach front fare 10 & was great as just back from beach and still close to pool & amenities with privacy. Very basic with no tv or even phone to call reception. TV would have been handy as we endured cyclonic weather for 2 days and plenty of normal wet season rain the rest. Still we really enjoyed the resort and how relaxing the ambience is !
Only negative is we found the resort amazingly way over priced & we are from Sydney so expensive we are use too!! Don't be fooled the exchange rate will be an expense offset, it ain't by a long way ! So to sum up - great resort with lovely smiling helpful staff & overall great food, just be prepared to spend spend big ! Ohh & no kids was sensational too .

Rob & Wendy

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Rob and Wendy

thanks so much for the nice review. We are glad you had a relaxing time at the resort. We find the no TV in the individual rooms is a nice point of difference and we do have the TV hut for our guests that need their bit of news and sport ( along with cold beers)

We think our food prices are very well priced and on a par with most comparable restaurants in Vanuatu. Vanuatu certainly isn't Bali for food prices as everything is imported and we have a lot smaller population. We are definitely very much cheaper than Sydney on most items ( I travel there every month and I cant find a prime beef eye fillet for $30 at any decent restaurant as much as I try)

Thanks again for choosing Breaks and please do come back and visit us soon.

Tropical regards

Salote - Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Omg simply amazing! The most beautiful, warm, friendly staff. We were treated to Lulu's smile each night and he made our stay that much easier. Falling asleep listening to the waves each night was divine and no children was GREATLY appreciated! A truly romantic holiday for my partner and I.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Samantha,

We are so glad you chose us to have your romantic escape to the tropics. We do our utmost to you have a relaxed "feet in the sand" experience and do as much or as little as you want.

We passed on hello to Lulu for you, big smile back from him!

We hope you come back to Vanautu and Breakas again, we will be all hear waiting for you!

Tropical regards

Salote - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

was able to get good surf and good snorkling and spearfishing right at the resort literally a stone throw away.The rooms are clean but can get warm at night. The resort is away from the city which suited me and close to the villagers which were friendly and good to meet. The staff are unbelievably helpful and polite compared to Australian usual service and you feel that you are in good hands. EG before we left the yards man who is from the local village set out a local flowers along the balcony on our last day, and also the workers in the restaurant hooked me up with the local people from the villages to go surfing with and spear fishing with was an awesome education and experience for sure. There is also kitesurfing there just outside the resort too with flat areas and waves to boost off. Care must be taken that some of the breaks is on the reef and some structure/ debris underwater ensure to ask the locals or staff where it is safe they will be happy to help. excellent time was had would go back there for sure

Room Tip: where breeze is garden rooms are warm at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whichwayTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear whichwayTownsville

what a great review. We are glad we attended to everything you needed.

Our special guests make it all worthwhile for us. We just had some guests leave after their 14th trip to stay with us!

We have a great left and right break for surfing as your saw and yes the kitesurfing is really starting to take off as well. We recommend guests to bring their boards!

Thanks again for a nice review, we put them up in our staff room for all to see so the gardeners will get a nice surprise with your comments about the flowers.

Tropical regards

Salote - Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Breakas is a great place to unwind, destress, and leave the hustle bustle of normal life behind. There are no clocks in the villas and it's entirely up to you what you do every day. Do alot and see alot or do nothing and just lay around the pool sipping cocktails all day. It's entirely up to you. If you don't want to leave the resort then you don't have to. The food is superb. Try the fresh fish for lunch, snap fried in a light batter, or the beautiful hamburger with salad and fries. And for dinner, I can heartily recommend the beef medallion....it just pulls apart with minimal effort and melts in your mouth. The staff are beautiful people and just so warm and friendly in a genuine way that you just don't find here in Australia. There is something different every night in regards to live entertainment while you dine under the stars or under cover (your choice). You will want for nothing. I wasn't fussed on going overseas for a holiday.....I'm usually quite a homebody. My partner organised the trip and booked the accommodation, but I would definitely go again. And I would definitely stay at Breakas again. Don't procrastinate. Don't put it off. Just go. Stay at Breakas. You will love it. You will love the place, you'll love the people, you'll love everything about it and you'll want to go back. I know I do. I'd like to say a big hello and a heartfelt thankyou to Pamela, Fritta, Katia, Flora, Melibu, Roy......all the housekeeping staff....everyone. Don't think too hard about where you're going to stay while you're in Vanuatu. Just book yourself in at Breakas. Just do it. You'll be glad you did :-).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roverdrivecaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Roverdrivercaravan, what a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Pamela, Fritta, Katia, Flora, Melibu, Roy all say hi back.

Roy is the master at sourcing the best cuts of Santo beef which is why yours was so good :-) We are very proud of our Chefs and quality of the locally sourced produce.

We so hope to see you back again soon.

Salote - Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are feeling like placing time in a bottle, then Breakas resort is for you! This little plot of absolute beachfront is like stepping out of all the things in our reality that stress us into another paradigm. The fares are really funky, but still in keeping with the natural island theme, right down to the little geckos that sing to you from the rafters at night! But, this all positive, the fares are very comfortable. The facilities and amenities around the pool and restaurant are excellent for the price you pay, so the value is excellent. The food and the cocktails are heavenly, as is the range of local fruits at breakfast, including freshly grated coconut! At this point I would like to give Roy,part time manager while we were there,as well as being the food and beverages manager for his very proactive management style which came across in the consistently beautiful food! All of the staff were wonderful, they are very gracious, friendly people, and while things don't happen as quickly as they do in asia, I much preferred the energy of the NI Vanautu people! In light of this I would highly recommend going on the village walk, there is an amazing lady taking preschool children into her own home and mostly at her own expense, other than what we visitors donate, to give these children a better start to their education, she is inspirational! The resort management present several cultural shows during the week which is both entertaining and gives insight into the unique culture of this beautiful region. So thank you and Namaste to everyone at Breakas.

Room Tip: Staying on the beachfront is much cooler, as the light breezes weren't reaching into the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherpete2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Cherpete2013, thank you for the wonderful review.
We very much like to ensure our guests get that relaxing "feet in the sand. tropical island" experience, after-all that is what vanuatu is all about :-)
The local village walk is very popular as is the visit to the preschool. many of our guests support the preschool with donations of stationary and books, we are very lucky.
Hope to see you back again soon

Salote - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our 7 day holiday at breakas was fantastic the staff were extremely helpful, all tour bookings and self guided trip advice that was given was spot on, without there assistance our island experience would have missed the gloss. Our room was a perfect addition to the island experience and very well designed for the warm climate, the room was not air conditioned and although I was initially concerned it may have been to warn it was no problem each night we experienced a perfect light ocean breeze, very comfortable and no TV, the missing TV I did not miss. Food at the resort was great quality both dinner and breakfast very nice. Each night the resort had entertainment arranged anything from island dancers to local bands, very well organized. The location of the resort is about 35mins walk from town (yes we walked it) however jumping on the local island bus system will have you there in 5 mins, no problem with transport around town because no matter were you are the buses find you and at 150VT per person to travel anywhere around town it's super affordable to use. I really have to thank Roy for the great 'out of town' advice, our self guided tour of the islands north was great, real nice location to travel through and the local were super happy to greet you and have a chat. Another special thanks to Dave the man who kept us entertained at night and went out of his way to allow us to experience local island cava bar. Thanks Breakas for a great time was fantastic experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakasVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Brett B, very glad you chose Breakas to kick back and enjoy a bit of downtime and relaxation.

We like to think we are far enough away from Port Vila to feel like you are on your own little island but close enough ( few minutes by bus) to get into town and see the sites. This proved to be exactly right for you guys.

Thanks again for the wonderful review

Salote - Breakas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing