We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly atmosphere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We only got to stay 3 nights as our flights were cancelled etc.
I was impressed how the owner interacted with the visitors and made us feel welcome.
Also a staff member took us to her village and that was a true Vanuatua experience.
The children sang for us and such happy children , that made my holiday to see how the other side live:))?

The bathrooms could do with an upgrade and fresh fruit for breakfast instead of tinned fruit when the country has an abundance of it. But to be fair Vanuatu is a relatively poor country so not a lot of mod cons there.
But the best people you could meet.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montys4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Breakas for the first half of our 2 week stay in Vanuatu and both loved it, much better than the place we stayed in our second week there! The staff were so friendly and helpful, the food there was lovely and the cocktails were the best we had in Port Vila! It’s a child-free resort so was very peaceful and relaxing with entertainment on offer almost every night! Eating dinner by the beautifully lit pool or directly on the beach was amazing, highly recommended! Perfect for couples on a romantic getaway! The owner of Breakas took the time to personally speak with all of the guests on several different occasions, as did the managerial staff, which was a personal touch I rarely experience in good Australian resorts! All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for 9 Nights in a Fare second row back from the beach, next to the bar. The resort was beautiful, with lovely gardens and pathways and a nice beach to sit on. The patio of the Fare was nice with a view of the ocean. The rooms/fares are stand alone with open air bathrooms, so you can expect to contend with geckos and cockroaches or beatles. There was a little bit of noise because of where we were on the resort, but nothing earplugs couldn’t fix (i am a light sleeper and always expect noise) but i had great sleeps. The resort staff were very friendly and helpful. The busses in Vanuatu were certainly an experience that makes you appreciate the true island lifestyle. We had a great time there. I would might choose a different resort next time (I didn’t like the bugs that got into the room) however my partner said he would happily return there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Subno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What an atricously run resort! Upon arrival, we were taken by the view from reception, across the horizon pool and out onto the ocean. It looked great! That was the first and last good thing about this place.
After being greeted by the owner/manager George, we went through a long and annoying check in process before being shown to our hut, about 400m from the pool and ocean with front views of the roofs of the other huts just a few meters in front of us and rear views of a cyclone fence between us and the local village about 5 meters behind that.
We took this in our stride although not impressed whatsoever. We went back to the pool to go for a swim and have a couple of cocktails at the swim up bar..... Thats the one in the resort pictures on their website. However, upon closer inspection, that is no longer functional as it is now used for seating for meals. Another dissapointment.
Later that day, after attempting to consume the terrible food from the limited menu, we decided to call it a night and hope things seemed better after a good nights sleep.
Well, that didnt happen either... Sleep, impossible... We spent the night listening to barking village dogs, screaming village babies, arguing village drunks and finally, at around 5;30 am, the delightfull sounds of a village pig being slaughtered.
We head bleary tired and blurry eyed to breakfast.. Another dissapointment, no bread to make toast, no sugar for the cold coffee and warm milk for the stale cornflakes....
Naturally, we spent the day as far away from Breakas as we could get.
Next night, same story, same noise and no sleep. The following morning we asked for a room change and were promised a different room that day.... So, after two more nights of no sleep and no room change, a "coudnt care less" attitude from staff, we decided find out what the refund policy was... Obviously, there is no such thing. Upon hearing, once again, of our frustrations, the day manager decided to make our room change happen, finally! We are told to go back to our room and pack our bags and be ready to move. We do this and wait for our porter to cime and show us to our room. He arrives and tells us that the room is nearly ready and that the current guest is just showering then we can have the room. About 15 minutes later, to our surprise, a porter arrives at our hut with a very angry lady, bags in hand and hair dripping wet. Obviously fresh out of the shower..... They had not given us a vacant room, they had kicked this poor lady out of her room and put her in ours, half way through her holiday.
With our new room, not cleaned between guests, wet towels still laying on the floor beside the dead monster cockroaches, we decided to get the hell out of there for a few days. We checked into another resort for two nights out of our seven night holiday, so we could at least enjoy a couple of days of "resort living".
We returned to "Breaka's your heart" resort and stayed for the last two nights of our holiday (as we had not checked out when we went elsewhere), hating every second of those final nights there. We spent our days in town, touring the island, doing whetever we could think of to stay away from the resort, its staff and its food.
All I can say is, if your looking for a nice place to stay, somewhere with decent food, polite staff and comfortable rooms, DO NOT, EVEN FOR ONE NANOSECOND CONSIDER THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Okay I've read the previous reviews and it's a polarising experience indeed. But I can only report on what we found. We travelled to Vanuatu on a relatively spontaneous 6 day trip for my birthday. I wanted to fly over the volcano and go snorkelling. My other half wanted to do some diving. Frita, the tour organiser, organised all this for us - it wasn't her fault that so many of the tours were cancelled and some as we were waiting for the bus. She really tried her best.
No phones and tv in the room was just fine with me. And the fan was okay too - I find air conditioning is just too chilly. I liked that the resort was child free. Been there, done that. We never did get our guided reef tour and our village tour was left until the last day. A booked massage was cancelled and rescheduled and our time was cut short - we paid less but not as much less as we should have. It was a good massage though and we could both get our massage at the same time - 2 tables and 2 masseuses. Is that the right spelling??
The biggest problem for us was the barking dogs most nights. For anyone closer to this it would have been dreadful. Something needs to be done about this. Might I suggest something permanent as the dogs just roam around free - not good for anyone except possibly the dogs. We were woken by the barking most nights.
Another complaint - if wine tasting is advertised for 6.30pm then that is when it should start. Not at 6pm so that when people arrive at 6.25pm nearly all the wine is gone. Not sure if this was Breakas' fault or the wine company but it was annoying.
We ate most of our meals at Breakas and although it wasn't cheap, we had no complaints about the quality of the meals. My other half said the chilli crab was better than Singapore and his crayfish was pretty damn good too.
So we would stay there again. But we would make sure we were well away from the area affected by the barking dogs. Not sure what can be done about this problem but something does need to be done.

Room Tip: Room 40 was okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Breakas beach resort and also had our wedding there too. We thought the dinner menu was horrible and took over an hour to get it we ended up going into town to eat as it ended up being alot cheaper then the resort, only food we ate at the resort was breakfast when they got the meals right! I can say all the staff are very friendly and loved our room cleaner. We stayed for 8 days and on the second day the pool was emptied and we were advised it would be up and running again in 2 days, 4 days later it still wasnt finished and it was time to go home, We were extremely DISAPPOINTED as the only option was to find a different resort to swim at and we also couldnt get wedding pictures in front of the pool. When I suggested to the owner that one pool in the resort isnt enough and they should build another he said the resort had no money, Which I find hard to believe as Everything in the resort was very over priced. Overall it was good at the start cause we were excited to be getting married and on holidays but If I could do it all over again I would definitely pick else where!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hi, we have just returned from the BEAUTIFUL Breakas Beach Resort and stayed in Beachfront Fare No. 13 which was very private and comfortable. As it was our 20th wedding anniversary we requested for our travel agent to request a beachfront fare located away from the pool and dining area to reduce the noise and foot traffic as we had also read some reviews and are in our 40s so sleep and reduced noise was important for us. Beachfront fares from around 7 - 20 (maybe not quiet 20 not sure only walked down that way once) are your best bet. They are all very private and as it's an adults only boutique resort the week we stayed there everyone was really respectful when walking past others rooms at night as far as talking etc which was just great :-) I would definately spend the extra for the Beachfront Fare every single time and it's so lovely to have hammocks and sunloungers a plenty just out the front of your own little beach shack magic to relax with a cocktail and watch the sun go down each afternoon. It's 3.5 star so the rooms aren't like a 5 star hotel but your feet are in the sand the whole time and this is what we really wanted. Especially lovely when dining at night as the tables and chairs are on the beach so no thongs or shoes, just really relaxed but still fine dining and very well prepared tasty meals. This place is just so restful, no TV, no clocks, no air con it is just super relaxing!!! Most relaxed we have felt in years.... The staff and the people of Vanuatu are the most friendly, happy and helpful people I have met ever. As Vanuatu's economy relies on tourists so nothing is too much trouble. The staff at the resort were always happy, friendly and relaxed and made our holiday very special indeed. Breakfast each morning was lovely with loads of fresh fruit and breads, cereal etc. Transport to and from Vila is a breeze at 150 vatu just literally put you leg out the fence of the resort and a bus will pull up within seconds with a friendly driver to take you into town or where ever you wanna go. Just be careful if you swim out the front of the resort in the middle between the wave breaks as the snorkelling is great but currents can be strong so don't go out too far. All in all, we absolutely LOVED Breakas Beach Resort and Vanuatu in general. Fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Spend the $$ and get a Beach Front Fare closer to the point Numbers 7 to 20(ish)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,538 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing