We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, beautiful people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, beautiful people!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Breakas was an ideal place for us to wind down. If you like being close to nature and appreciate gentle but professionally trained staff then this resort is for you. The beach-view rooms are worth the extra cost as the view is stunning and the sound of the ocean at night so relaxing. The pool was pretty: a great place to relax. When you stay here you know you have been in Vanuatu, ad not some generic resort which could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    271
    80
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
677
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we arrived we were told we couldnt check in, there was kaos in the reception with un happy guests fixing up bills and being over charged, bags were everywhere and not much room to move.
we left our bags and returned later to check in, the staff we rude and not welcoming and we had to ask to be shown our room and take our own bags. Nothing of the resort was explained to us.

The pool was warm and very murky.

We only had lunch once there which was a beef burger, undercooked and beef patty was tiny and un ripe tomato.

The breakfast buffet was a joke, only fruit and toast (the toaster was busted) if you wanted a hot breakfast you had to pay.

The only two positive things I can say are the surf was good, due to cyclone currents and the late night security were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lollvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned yesterday from our experience with your resort. Although very disappointing to be mucked about re too many over bookings when we first arrived, after waiting 2 hours to find out what was going on and wasting time we were finally sent to another resort for a night and then returned the following morning told we would have to stay in a garden fare for a night then moved to our beach front the next day, this never happened even though we had paid for this. We were given a massage voucher and a complimentary dinner after we asked for them this we are grateful, however we were let down due to the fact this period of 7 days over new years was our honeymoon so as well as being stuffed about with our room, we never received our bottle of champagne or fruit basket which were part of our package. Though I do understand there was a glitch in the bookings and staff were very busy we do think that no real effort was made to make us feel special on our special time - A woman from management try to re-assure us that they were doing all they could to help us however we heard several difference stories from others from the same woman which really isnt good service, the few times she spoke to us she didnt even remember who we were or likewise made us feel better being it our honeymoon, this is very disappointing and let us down immensely. Pre-paid trips that were supposed to have been confirmed by reception was stuffed about and we wasted a day trying to re-organise these. However on a positive note we were impressed by the pool and beach area of things as well as the genuine generosity of food throughout our stay. Breakfast was full of amazing fresh fruit as well as cereals and breads all you can eat was awesome! Lunch and dinner menus were very reasonable even if at times there was a wait on food. The staff most of the time were very helpful and friendly where possible, they can all be commended for atleast having a smile! We were left fresh clean beach and bath towels each day and our garden fare was cleaned each day however you need to think about water blasting the showers atleast once a year to remove mould build up around the bottom. The bed was made up freshly for us each day as well however the mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Although we had animal visitors most days this didn't bother us due to the fact we knew we were on an island and on a beach. Security was helpful throughout. We would definitely come back however we will expect a higher quality of service and professionalism and NOT to be stuffed about waiting around and not knowing when things were to be sorted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband & I along with two friends stayed at Breakas Beach Resort from Boxing Day through to 2nd Jan. During this time we found this resort to be absolutely amazing. Not only were the rooms great & perfectly cleaned every day but the staff made this resort worth while. Always kind, approachable & willing to help especially catering for my gluten free needs. The owner was also fantastic. Always talking to guests to see how they were & enlightening us on Vanuatu's culture. I would recommend this resort to anyway staying in Port Vila & will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came here for a week to de-stress and thoroughly enjoyed it. Arrival not great, especially after spending 2 hours getting through the steaming hot airport, but after that, a swim in the pool that's bigger than it looks, and then the sea when the tide came in and all was well with the world. Accommodation we had a burre at the back, which was more private, and clean and cool. Restuarant was good, though drinks a bit pricey. Avoided over-priced buffets and ordered off the menu which worked well. Also pleasantly surprised that entertainment laid on each night. Varied from great local dance groups, to terrible singers but all good fun. Owner around a lot, and I think he does a great job employing and training the locals. Highly recommend the village trip laid on by the hotel to get a feel for the surroundings. Take some old toys or school stuff for local primary schools and you will be very popular. Some of the other guests new the scene and had brought along bags full. Most of us arrived and left after a week and everyone seemed to have enjoyed it here. Surprised at some of the other reviews. It's not the hilton, just get into Island time, chill out and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you get a choice, far end from the hotel on the front, or at the back for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had booked this accommodation a good 3 months before our trip and everything was confirmed and payed for. However, when arriving at the resort they could not find our booking and when they did (after numerous calls and computer checking) they told us they ''accidentally'' overbooked the hotel and there was no room available for us. they eventually managed to get ourn room ready for us the next day and we did manage to settle in. The massage/relaxation room was very average, not professional and tacky. The seafood buffet was definitely not worth $50 as there were very few options and the dessert tasted stale and dry. Breakfast was very basic and you had to pay an extra $20 each day if you wanted eggs/toast etc. overall it was a nice venue however management really needs to get organised and sort out their services ASAP

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Preena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

No air con, privacy and rooms too dark with energy saving bulbs- however, everything else good- great pool and atmosphere- but need that air con at night! Beware the rooms close to the main reception, while changing into swimwear, my wife noticed passersby staring into room, and too hot to close thd shutters

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing