We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Bega, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip, resort was lovely but too small & intimate for the amount of guests staying at the hotel, i prefer Irikiki island more space & closer to town & more dining options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    271
    80
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
677
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at Breakas in December 2011. Spend there one week. It was a nice place, friendly happy staff. The resort is adult only. It's really quiet and peacefull in the evening. We enjoyed our stay at this resort, although I must say that there are few points which may be improved. The bar was closed at 9.30 - 10.00 PM, this applied also when events were organized by the Resort staff. Breakfast was poor, and the same every day. Lunch and dinner were OK. The tour office inside the resort was not very helpful, they could have done more.

In any case, there were a lot of things that one can do outside the resort. Make your own program and you will enjoy your stay at Breakas. If you enjoy diving, you will enjoy also the diving company which is advertised by the resort. Really nice team and of course, beautiful diving places!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quite place and close the bar, go for the garden view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffetta06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked to stay at The Breakas Beach Resort in Vanuatu (adults only) in a 3 bed villa with our own pool. When we arrived we were told that we were in fact staying at Surfside on Breakas Beach, a family friendly resort next door. It was not a problem regarding the "family friendly" bit as we were the only people staying there. We were told that all of the Breakas Beach Resort facilities were available to us as there were none at the Surfside? The facilities were good but to get a drink in the bar after 2130 was difficult as it seemed the bar closed at 2200 and the staff were rather keen on making sure we were out earlier. The pool at our villa was poor (a pool enclosed by walls on all sides) but the view from the front of our villa was breathtaking. The beach at Brekas is disappointing as you have to cross a large amount of coral to get to the open water. Port Vila town itself is very dirty with rubbish strewn around the place ( it needs someone in authority to get it cleaned up and that could be done without a lot of cost) .There are a limited number of restuarants, not of a very high quality. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Port Vila in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFRudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for 4nights, and we were very disappointed. We stayed on Espirito Santo (Moyyan House by the Sea...Most amazing place in the world!) and I'm afraid this resort didn't quite cut it. The staff were helpful, but not very friendly. The whole place had an air of arrogance about it...especially the tour desk guy named Arnold. We greatly missed the shy, friendly and generous people of Santo...as all of Port Vila has been westernised in a bad way. I'm not one to complain at all....but we had an issue with barking dogs here and didn't sleep much at all...when we told the staff, they moved us around twice....so all in all we stayed in three different rooms for 4nights stay. We were exhausted and wouldn't recommend this place for honeymooners who want privacy and seclusion. This resort was filled with mostly over 55's. Otherwise....the rooms were clean, the food was fine (westernised) and it was overall a fairly average over populated resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms due to being kept awake all night by barking dogs. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McDonalds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned at the end of May 2012 from a second stay at this resort. We both enjoyed the experience. This is a quiet peaceful place where it is possible to relax and unwind. The accomodation is comfortable and the location by the sea and set into tropical gardens is perfect. The staff are helpful and all work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We particularly liked the delicious meals served by the pool and the entertainment each night. Having themed nights featuring different Pacific cuisine and dance groups was fun and interesting. One of the highlights was the village tour where resort guests are able to see the village and meet the people. Pango village has a friendly atmosphere. We took pencils and books for the school which were appreciated. Any useful gifts are a way to help these delightful people and their families.
We would recommend a trip to The Summit Gardens where a beautiful vast garden is situated overlooking the coast. Rooms of themed tropical plants blend into each other over an easy walking trip. The cafe serves delicious cakes and coffee and sells local beauty products. Hideaway Island is also a good day trip for snorkelling. The great treasure of a trip to Vanuatu is meeing the people. They are friendly and polite and in our experience make visitors feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived at Breakas after we had already spent seven nights at Erakor Island (we couldn't choose between the two when booking, so decided to split our time between them), and I guess we had been spoilt. Erakor was wonderful with charming friendly staff, Breakas, well, not so much. We consider moving from Erakor to Breakas our only real mistake of the trip.

Firstly, Breakas is gorgeous, its in a lovely location, the pool is stunning, the decor is stunning and the gardens are lovely. The food was good, and the cocktails wonderful.

We stayed in a garden room, and it should have been lovely, the decor was nice, the bed was big, and the garden setting was leafy and wonderful. Unfortunately the room was incredibly dark and it was also very close to the road, so we got a lot of road noise. The staff used the garden next to our side windows as an unofficial path to and from work, so all day, during the early parts of the night, and early in the morning we had people walking past noisily (including on our last morning someone who must have been running late because they thundered past our room at about 5.30am). The room was also very close to the next room, so if we had our louvres open, and they had theirs open, we could see right into their room and vice versa. On our second day, our hot water (which had been sporadic on the first day) ceased working. When we reported this, to their credit they organised someone to come and look at it almost immediately, and it was fixed in the mid afternoon.

I guess our biggest problem was the staff. There were a few shining lights, George the owner was a genial host who told stories, offered to take photos for you, and tried to make you feel at home. Alfred on the tour desk was an absolute gem, organising tours for us (even though I always asked at the last minute) and suggesting when it would be a better option to organise our own bus for the trip instead (absolutely fantastic for the Eton blue hole, where most tours only give you a half hour to swim there, when instead we could swim for as long as we liked). And Alina on the front desk was very helpful. However the rest of the staff we came across seemed unhappy and uninterested. At Erakor for a member of staff to not say hello and smile was a rarity, at Breakas it was rare to get even a smile from them, let alone a simple greeting. There seemed to be little or no real camaraderie between the staff, and in turn that seemed to affect how they reacted to guests. At Erakor it had felt like a big happy family, at Breakas it felt like they were just going through the motions.

All in all, Breakas was a bit disappointing, and it wasn't a great finish to our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeccaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Breakas from 19 - 27th May 2012. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, ALL the staff were friendly. George the owner checked daily that we were happy & had everything we needed & Alfred the tours manager was a legend including taking us on a village walk tour to his own village.
The pool was a little on the cool side but the ocean is on your doorstep & was a perfect temperature.
The Melanesian night was great but the seafood night I thought was a bit overpriced.
We LOVED the open air shower in our room & the room was cleaned & made up every day.
The fresh flowers everywhere is a nice touch.
There were couples representing all age groups there which was lovely.
It was great that there were no children at the resort, sooooo relaxing.
The only slight down side of the resort was the tourists from the P&O cruise ships that dock in Port Villa for a day. But apart from that it was a sensational resort & we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kool68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing