We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$134
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$104
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$156
$147
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$163
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$93
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$251
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$253
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveler rating
626
303
93
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
303
93
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden fareoutdoor showerbeach frontbeachfront farereef shoesseafood platterentertainment every nighttour deskvillage walkmelanesian nightinfinity poolthemed nightsmosquito netrelaxing holidaypango villagehappy hourour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for 4nights, and we were very disappointed. We stayed on Espirito Santo (Moyyan House by the Sea...Most amazing place in the world!) and I'm afraid this resort didn't quite cut it. The staff were helpful, but not very friendly. The whole place had an air of arrogance about it...especially the tour desk guy named Arnold. We greatly missed the shy, friendly and generous people of Santo...as all of Port Vila has been westernised in a bad way. I'm not one to complain at all....but we had an issue with barking dogs here and didn't sleep much at all...when we told the staff, they moved us around twice....so all in all we stayed in three different rooms for 4nights stay. We were exhausted and wouldn't recommend this place for honeymooners who want privacy and seclusion. This resort was filled with mostly over 55's. Otherwise....the rooms were clean, the food was fine (westernised) and it was overall a fairly average over populated resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms due to being kept awake all night by barking dogs. We stayed in the back row of villas in the Garden area...and this is when we had issue's with dogs barking (near a local village). The beach front villa we stayed in for one night was nicer then the Garden ones...and it had a lovely view of the ocean (the waves drowned out the barking and we slept well!!).
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McDonalds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned at the end of May 2012 from a second stay at this resort. We both enjoyed the experience. This is a quiet peaceful place where it is possible to relax and unwind. The accomodation is comfortable and the location by the sea and set into tropical gardens is perfect. The staff are helpful and all work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We particularly liked the delicious meals served by the pool and the entertainment each night. Having themed nights featuring different Pacific cuisine and dance groups was fun and interesting. One of the highlights was the village tour where resort guests are able to see the village and meet the people. Pango village has a friendly atmosphere. We took pencils and books for the school which were appreciated. Any useful gifts are a way to help these delightful people and their families.
We would recommend a trip to The Summit Gardens where a beautiful vast garden is situated overlooking the coast. Rooms of themed tropical plants blend into each other over an easy walking trip. The cafe serves delicious cakes and coffee and sells local beauty products. Hideaway Island is also a good day trip for snorkelling. The great treasure of a trip to Vanuatu is meeing the people. They are friendly and polite and in our experience make visitors feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived at Breakas after we had already spent seven nights at Erakor Island (we couldn't choose between the two when booking, so decided to split our time between them), and I guess we had been spoilt. Erakor was wonderful with charming friendly staff, Breakas, well, not so much. We consider moving from Erakor to Breakas our only real mistake of the trip.

Firstly, Breakas is gorgeous, its in a lovely location, the pool is stunning, the decor is stunning and the gardens are lovely. The food was good, and the cocktails wonderful.

We stayed in a garden room, and it should have been lovely, the decor was nice, the bed was big, and the garden setting was leafy and wonderful. Unfortunately the room was incredibly dark and it was also very close to the road, so we got a lot of road noise. The staff used the garden next to our side windows as an unofficial path to and from work, so all day, during the early parts of the night, and early in the morning we had people walking past noisily (including on our last morning someone who must have been running late because they thundered past our room at about 5.30am). The room was also very close to the next room, so if we had our louvres open, and they had theirs open, we could see right into their room and vice versa. On our second day, our hot water (which had been sporadic on the first day) ceased working. When we reported this, to their credit they organised someone to come and look at it almost immediately, and it was fixed in the mid afternoon.

I guess our biggest problem was the staff. There were a few shining lights, George the owner was a genial host who told stories, offered to take photos for you, and tried to make you feel at home. Alfred on the tour desk was an absolute gem, organising tours for us (even though I always asked at the last minute) and suggesting when it would be a better option to organise our own bus for the trip instead (absolutely fantastic for the Eton blue hole, where most tours only give you a half hour to swim there, when instead we could swim for as long as we liked). And Alina on the front desk was very helpful. However the rest of the staff we came across seemed unhappy and uninterested. At Erakor for a member of staff to not say hello and smile was a rarity, at Breakas it was rare to get even a smile from them, let alone a simple greeting. There seemed to be little or no real camaraderie between the staff, and in turn that seemed to affect how they reacted to guests. At Erakor it had felt like a big happy family, at Breakas it felt like they were just going through the motions.

All in all, Breakas was a bit disappointing, and it wasn't a great finish to our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeccaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Breakas from 19 - 27th May 2012. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left, ALL the staff were friendly. George the owner checked daily that we were happy & had everything we needed & Alfred the tours manager was a legend including taking us on a village walk tour to his own village.
The pool was a little on the cool side but the ocean is on your doorstep & was a perfect temperature.
The Melanesian night was great but the seafood night I thought was a bit overpriced.
We LOVED the open air shower in our room & the room was cleaned & made up every day.
The fresh flowers everywhere is a nice touch.
There were couples representing all age groups there which was lovely.
It was great that there were no children at the resort, sooooo relaxing.
The only slight down side of the resort was the tourists from the P&O cruise ships that dock in Port Villa for a day. But apart from that it was a sensational resort & we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kool68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A true holiday - if that is what you need.The spotless bures (with thatch roof, on the beach sand in a tropical garden ) have no clock,no newspapers ,no radio,no TV, no computor, no air con.. Just a light ,great shower ,comfortable bed ,fridge,fan and serenity. The nearly always perfect weather (night and day) and the sound of the surf in the back ground top it off. Staff are all very friendly and helpful..There is computor access ,some newspapers and tv available for those who might want to spoil their holiday! There is excellent snorkelling off the reef in the front of Breakas.Transport to town and its attractions and restaurants (about 4 km - $1.50) is cheap and easy via the multitude of buses. Breakas lets you forget the over complicated ,stressful , busy world we live in and get back to the basics of enjoying life for what it is. This was our third stay at Breakas.

Room Tip: Beachfront is nice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KJB911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews