We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Wellignton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Definitely a boutique resort! It doesn't allow children under 15 years, so not the place to go if you have kids, but a really great resort if you want to spoil yourself a bit.
The rooms are fantastic, very well tended and perfect in every detail. They aren't big, but there was more than enough space for the two of us. And I really loved the "almost-outside" shower and the semicircular bathroom. We had a garden bungalow and we quite enjoyed staying in the lush tropical garden.
The location is amazing, with a large coral beach, that is not so commonly found in Efate, the see is shallow over the reef, so keep track of the tides if you want a good swim or snorkeling. The common area with reception, cafe and restaurant is all around the swimming pool and right on the beach and there are plenty of comfy chairs, umbrellas and hammocks all around. In the evening the dinner tables are all set around the pool too, so if you want you can eat directly on the beach with only the stars above you.
And the food is really good.
We especially enjoyed the Melanesian feast even if we don't like much these touristic events: the food was really worth it, the price reasonable and the show not too cheeky.
Service is great, people are kind and helpful and the owner very friendly.
There is wifi internet, but isn't free and a bit pricey (there is room for improvement here!).
The resort is about 20 min from port vila, with a road that can be rough, but minibuses pass almost continuously and we didn't have any problem to go out and come back.
I definitely recommend this resort, the perfect place for a relaxing and great holiday!

Room Tip: you can't be disappointed by any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elipuccioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    271
    80
    25
    18
See reviews for
77
677
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a place!! Beautiful setting, beachfront dining, the most amazing service, we really didn't want to leave. The staff & manager go out of their way to ensure you have a fantastic stay.. this is our fav place we have stayed at so far :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It's a rare occasion that a resort lives up to the travel brochures. Stayed for a week over xmas and loved every minute of it. Stayed in a beach front fare - highly recommend those ! Loved the "no children under 15 years of age" policy.

The staff make this a wonderful resort. No such thing as "island time" here. Prompt service with a smile is the norm.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtowneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived quite late at night and were transferred via bus. Arrived within half an hour and proceeded through check-in (not very speedy) before getting to our garden bungalow room, where our bags were waiting. Toilet was broken and wouldn't stop flushing, but as long as the bathroom door was closed the sound wasn't audible. Requested someone to check on it that night at around 10pm and someone came to fix it, but it broke again. Wasn't completely fixed for the entire stay as it still wouldn't stop unless you opened the cistern, but as long as you didn't push too hard on the flush no problems were encountered so we didn't complain.

Bathroom was fantastic! Not one of the completely open-air ones, but still had an opening... no creepy-crawlies were encountered. Shower is bliss, but could use higher pressure. Bedroom was nice, beds comfortable. The timber shutters are awesome as they allow privacy, keep the room dark, and allow a nice breeze when open. No TV and no phone, so a great tech-fee getaway, but there were power points for charging all our things. Internet available at reception, cannot comment as did not use. Accessed free internet in Port Vila as a deal with currency exchange. There is a public TV lounge in the open air.

Trip to Port Vila was easy, just caught a minibus outside the hotel. Also went on an island trip with a driver we found through one of the staff. All of the staff are friendly, housekeeper a little shy, but once you find someone you like, highly recommend asking them for someone to drive you around!

The main downside to the resort was the restaurant, where we had to wait for too long and service was not great, waiters forgetting who ordered what. Breakfast had a good variety though, enjoyed the fruit.

For food, L'Houstalet restaurant was a favourite for dinner, stopped by three times on our week trip. Located on the outskirts of Port Vila closer to the hotel. We also kept some snacks that we bought from Au Bon Marche in the mini fridge in our room, however food prices can be quite high in Vanuatu, try the market for cheap, fresh fruit.

Many things to do every day not just at the resort. We went to the falls outside Port Vila which were very impressive, as well as the turtle conservatory and mud baths on our day trip. Back at the hotel we went on the village and reef tours. A great place for relaxation was the Lotus Day Spa in Port Vila where we all had massages, a bit expensive but very relaxing (don't expect much pressure), however it was the service afterwards that made my day - they served us with fresh fruit platters and iced tea! Also had massages at the hotel, a bit cheaper and more pressure which was appreciated. The massage room is open to the breeze through the glass shutters and the waves can be heard.

A lot of poolside and beachside reading was done, with a couple of uses of the pool (always empty as placed in the shade). Had to wait a while after check-out for the transfer so we were able to stay next to the bar where the cocktails were great.

Great stay, but the little things like better service were not there...

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are perfect - very shady area so room stays cool even without air-conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zozo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here in May '11 and absolutely loved it.

Slight issue at the start when the resort was overbooked, but the way the resort dealt with it was 5 star. We were met at the airport personally by a manager from the resort to inform us of the unfortuante overbooking, and they had arranged for us to spend the first night in warick la lagoon (which we would not recommend). Whilst staying here on arriving back to our room after going out for dinner, we found a bottle of chilled cava had been left for us on ice in the room with an apology note from breakas. The following day we were picked up by car by another breakas manager and driven back to the resort. Our room was upgraded from the oceanview fare we had booked to one of the beautiful oceanfront villas. And we were also offered a free dinner in their restaurant that evening due to a considerable delay in getting into our room.

The resort is stunningly beautiful and a lovely size for having a relaxing holiday (the lack of children also helped!) Our room was amazing and had a huge veranda with a sun undercover complete with sunloungers- great for reading when the rain hit. The local minibuses offer a great service and it's very cheap and easy to get into town.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and we were given great advice on the best trips to book.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Abolutely Fantastic! The staff are 1st rate, always happy, smiling, extremely friendly and have all the time in the world for you! Alfred is an absolute asset, Janik is a clown! Accomodation is great, clean and comfortable. Get aquainted with the Lizards who visit and the Crabs who love visiting the bathroom at night! :)
The food is great, just a few dollars more expensive than in town, same with the drinks.
If you stay here, ask Alfred if he can take you to his village, Pango, only a few minutes walk up the road for some Kava.
The beach is great to lounge around on, swim in and definately to snorkle in!
Only blemish was we booked a Beach Fare and when we arrived were given a Garden Fare as the Beach Fares were all taken, nevertheless it was in a great location, close to the bar and only 50m to the beach, Fare No.2, highly recommended as it is behind the main complex so you have maximum privacy .
Regardless of where you stay, stock up on lollies for all the children you will meet while in Vanuatu, seeing their smiles and appreciation for just a simple lolly will make even the grumpiest of people smile!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We've had a wonderful time at Breakas, and would definitely come back. Vanuatu is such a lovely place and we would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu

Property: Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Address: Pango Bay Road, Port Vila, Efate 00000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst swaying palms fringed on it's own private beach, Breakas Beach Resort is an intimate 3.5 Star tropical resort in a 5 star location for adults only welcoming guests over the age of 15 years. Enhanced by individual garden & beachfront Fares (Bungalows), Breakas Beach Resort is the ultimate relaxed "feet in the sand" beach holiday. Slip into a world of tranquility. The Resort features a stunning 22 metre infinity pool which falls into the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of a private cove on the Pango peninsular provides an unrivalled backdrop in Port Vila. Fares (Bungalows) are scattered along the shoreline and throughout manicured tropical gardens ensuring privacy, intimacy and seclusion. With spectacular views to Port Vila's best surfing beach break, the restaurant provides a unique setting for a unique dining experience. The executive chef has created one of the finest menus using fresh, local produce, seafoods and world class Santo beef and we are famous for our beachside dining with stars above and sand underfoot.... It does not get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Hotel Port Vila
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing