We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 24-hour takeaway”

Emily's Cafe & Takeaway
Ranked #54 of 96 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Emily's is next to the National Museum and across the road from Vanuatu parliament and operates a "No Frills" restaurant that is renowned for its "5 Star" quality food at budget rates. Emily's is the only restaurant to be licensed to operate 24x7 in Port Vila and serves a variety of cuisines with regular and daily specials also featured on the menu. We are famous for our large helpings and our Vanuatu Steak and also feature dishes such as our wood fired BBQ Chicken and chips, Poulet fish and chips and Chicken Schnitzel to name a few.Emily's, ples blo gud fala kakai! (where the food is awesome!)
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good food for a good price. Serving staff is very friendly and helpful. Only place I know of that's open 24 hours. Good wifi is available with purchase.

Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - the burgers are a favourite here!
I am happy to hear you re visited and found 'consistency' in the meals as is sometimes hard to get here in Vanuatu.
Be sure to come in on your next visit
Regards
Bob & Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Emily's is a great spot for a quiet meal with good prices and good quality food.
They make a great Big Fala burger and I love the noodle dishes.
We ate here twice last week for dinners, it is consistent with the dishes offered.
We will be back again :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeaceAndLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated.
Very happy you enjoyed your meals - see you again soon
regards
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a meal at Emilys was good cheap value for money meal. Got chatting cricket with Bob the owner very friendly fellow he introduced us to Emily his wife to be (they were getting married the next day and invited us back for the wedding the following night - unfortunately our bus for the tour we were on broke down and were late getting back to town and couldnt make it ) Hope it all went well Bob and we'll be back next visit to chat sport and enjoy a good cheap meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

thank you for the review. It was a shame you missed the wedding - all went well. You can see some photos on this site in the visitors photos. We have just come back from our Fiji Honeymoon.
Next visit be sure to come by and share sport stories and a meal - great to hear from you
Regards
Bob & Emily x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a few times during our stay recently. The staff are friendly, we were informed the fish was boned, wouldn't get it again tho, not much flesh. Had spag bol, milkshakes, breakfast, nachos, steak, fried rice...everything was good. The owners beautiful & lovey wife was there & when informed they had run out of spring rolls she had the chef make us one. The owner helped us with currency exchange & offered us water from their water tank to take with us. Their isn't Much of an atmosphere but its a take away shop, I wouldn't expect one. We would return for a quick lunch or breakfast on our next visit for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miss_Jessica1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

thank you for input. I am glad you enjoyed the variety of meals we offer, as you can't seem to please everyone all the time. I am also happy to see you understand, we are a takeaway and not a restaurant and the atmosphere is suited to such. Most visitors love the quite and cool areas we provide and now the new playground for the families that visit.
Thank you for your honesty and would love to see you again
regards
Emily & Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Firstly my husband and I are regular visitors to Port Vila.We have put off dining at Emily's these past few years but decided in May of this year to give it a go as we only stay just around the corner.
Let's begin with the fish head,battered and deep fried with barely any edible flesh.There is no description on the menu that this is what you are recieving.The steak was very average and this is saying a lot as Vanuatu has Sensational Beef.
I am not going to rave on,but only to say the atmosphere is more than lacking,the staff were friendly and the food is very ordinary.
Do yourself a favour if you would like a pub meal go to the Anchor Inn where the prices are similar and the food is of a much higher standard and you are sitting at a great location right on the harbour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the steak as it is one of our best seller! Yes, we do have fantastic beef - I wish you had of said something. as for the atmosphere - we are a takeaway venue, not an a la carte restaurant, and most of our guests love the peace and quiet, the cool bar area, and the children's playground.
But I appreciate your input, Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Cafe & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Emily's Cafe & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing