We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at Reasonable Prices!!”

Emily's Cafe & Takeaway
Ranked #44 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Emily's is next to the National Museum and across the road from Vanuatu parliament and operates a "No Frills" restaurant that is renowned for its "5 Star" quality food at budget rates. Emily's is the only restaurant to be licensed to operate 24x7 in Port Vila and serves a variety of cuisines with regular and daily specials also featured on the menu. We are famous for our large helpings and our Vanuatu Steak and also feature dishes such as our wood fired BBQ Chicken and chips, Poulet fish and chips and Chicken Schnitzel to name a few.Emily's, ples blo gud fala kakai! (where the food is awesome!)
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food at Reasonable Prices!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I live on the Island and am making my way around Port Vila, so far, the burgers are good at Errakor Island, but the burgers are better at Emily's Cafe!! Great meat used with egg, bacon and cheese included with salad for less than $6 Australian?! Heck yes.

Great overall menu as well, always reasonably priced and now with an ATM that disposes Australian Dollars that can be changed for Vatu over the counter at the best rates in Vila.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ixixly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So glad you found our famous burger - Aussies need an Aussie burger!
We try to have convenience for all travelers and so the ATM has been a very popular addition. I'm glad you took the time to include these items in your review, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    51
    27
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sports Bar-ish”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Is on main road so easy to have a go . Has both good takeaway and full mains. Sports bar-ish / tv screen and they do Live music which is good fun ! Worth Stopping by during busy Holi-Day..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AquarianDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Live music has been a key factor in our success. Not much of it in town. We try to create a fun & friendly atmosphere in which one can relax after a hectic 'touristy' day,.
Really appreciate your review, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so cheap!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're wanting to have a decent meal and save some cash then Emily's is well worth a visit. Very very cheap meals (1000 vatu steaks!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Our 1000vatu specials are changed daily, so you can visit more than once and not have to have the same meal. was great to have you with us...love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good for a casual night”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Got takeaway one night for the kids and they enjoyed the food, nothing bad about it, just burgers and chips, staff were friendly, about the same price as home

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks Kerry for your review..glad the kids enjoyed the burgers. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Open 24/7 means that you know you'll always get a meal here! The market meals are cheaper. The food here is nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I think most of us have been hungry late at night and not been able to get a feed - so our 24 hour cafe is ideal for you night owls. Glad you liked the food, hope to see you again, thanks heaps for the review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Cafe & Takeaway also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to Emily's Cafe & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing