We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Emily's Cafe & Takeaway
Ranked #45 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Emily's is next to the National Museum and across the road from Vanuatu parliament and operates a "No Frills" restaurant that is renowned for its "5 Star" quality food at budget rates. Emily's is the only restaurant to be licensed to operate 24x7 in Port Vila and serves a variety of cuisines with regular and daily specials also featured on the menu. We are famous for our large helpings and our Vanuatu Steak and also feature dishes such as our wood fired BBQ Chicken and chips, Poulet fish and chips and Chicken Schnitzel to name a few.Emily's, ples blo gud fala kakai! (where the food is awesome!)
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food was good. It was better value for money than anywhere else we'd been. We took takeway from here back to our resort.
Instead of dinner costing us over $100 it cost us just over $50.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chuxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We try to keep the prices down and the value for money up, as the last thing you want when visiting another country is to be hit with a huge meal bill. Glad your liked the food enough to take with you! ope to see you again.
regards
Bob & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    51
    27
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value at a great price!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pub style fare well done and at a good price. Evening specials are superb value. Great steak and cheap beer. It isn't elegant but if you want a great feed after hitting the kava bars this is the place to go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 879VICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
thank you for your review - which says it all. And open 24/7 is an added bonus if you're out late with new specials daily.
Thanks again for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winmalee, Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great company and food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Emily's is not in the main street of Port Vila. It is near the museum and opposite the Parliament House of Vanuatu. You can walk up, it takes about 10-15minutes and is good if you are moderately fit and ok with the humidity.

It's worth the walk. I recognised Bob and Emily from other reviews on this site. Bob immediately called us in to welcome and make us feel at home. We chatted the whole time there. I had an awesome burger, it was one of the best meals I had whilst on Efate.

We returned the next night for dinner and the ex-pat company that Bob and Emily introduced us to, gave us a great insight to life in Vanuatu. We gained cultural insight and were given honest answers.

I had a great cuddle with Reece (Bob and Emily's son) and we will be sure to come back next time we are in Vanuatu. I highly recommend this cafe to you.

BTW: Bob, I found the website I was talking to you about for looking at earthquake and volcano maps. I hope it works on your iPad, as the students in my Science class really love the live feed the site gives us.

Thanks Bob and Emily, we enjoyed our food and time with your staff and family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks Peta, it was lovely to have you join us - glad you liked our famous burger! Socialising is a popular thing here, as we see people from all walks of life, all happy to share their experiences with others. So I'm glad you were able to receive some local, honest information about our country.
We really appreciate your review, thank you.
Bob , Emily & Reece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food, massive helpings, reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A hidden jewel in the realm of Vanuatu cuisine. Emily's may not be one of your "glamourous" restaurants but the food is to die for! Emily's has a large selection to choose from, generous helpings and reasonable rates and being open 24x7 means I get to enjoy the fine food, good company and awesome atmosphere any time night or day. Thanks guys!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ewhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank for the fantastic review. I am glad you found the extensive menu a plus as we try to cater to everyone. 24/7 also adds to the convenience, and there's always someone here if you just want to chat! Hope to see you next time you are in Vila.
Regards
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Frills - that's Emily's!!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is as the title states, No Frills. If you have ever been to Greece and gone to a village and eaten at a taverna, that is the type of place you will be eating at. It is outside, the chairs are plastic, the tables are wooden and spacious, the floor is concrete, the service is friendly to the extent the chef comes out of his kitchen and chats with you about your meal. The description of the meals I would say are big, a home cooked taste, value for money and quick service. They accommodated for our kids tastes also, which was nice. The only place where I could buy a vodka cruiser, so I was overjoyed. After our dinner, we walked back to the main street of Port Vila to catch a taxi to our resort. The walk was very pleasant, even though there were no street lights we felt very safe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank soula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob N, Owner at Emily's Cafe & Takeaway, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We do try to make you feel 'at home' with our big home cooked meals and value for money. Service and friendly smiles are what we're all about. Kids are always welcome and we now have a playground for them. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write this review for us.
From Bob & Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Cafe & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Emily's Cafe & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing