We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Value Food and excellent beer”

Warhorse Saloon Restaurant &Bar
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place for Value Food and excellent beer”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The War Horse Saloon is a very friendly place where you can get a very large serving of scrumptious food and some really excellent beers brewed by the owner.

We enjoyed the burgers but were tempted by a lot of the menu.

The atmosphere is straight out of the western movies (with updates for TV to watch essential football matches) and somewhere you always feel you will get an honest tasty meal and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pussinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    138
    50
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Such a strange place”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I don't think the Saloon bar is the kind of place you go by mistake. It attracts a crowd of OZ expats, bikers and big eaters. The food is average - but the portions are huge (we shared the ribs among 3 people).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Wings in the South Pacific!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were there with friends, and enjoyed an amazing "American Feast"

All my friends had ribs, though I chose 4 servings of chicken wings (buffalo wings), with their awesome blue cheese dressing (I miss the USA). It was great and then we proceeded to get slightly tipsy. Great night out!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I just love the poppers !”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I visited the War Horse Saloon a few times for drinks with friends, entertainment and food. The place is amazing for its setting, very much like a Saloon from a Western movie! The food is simple but delicious and I am in love with the stuffed chillies (poppers) and the BBQ ribs, not to mention the buffalo chicken wings and all the rest. Drinks include a lovely draft Boots bear produced by a local brewery, as well as everything else at reasonable prices for a great night out, especially when live music is playing. Staff is well trained and very friendly. A unique and fun place in the heart of Port Vila. I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fra_havannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“American Ribs, American Paraphernalia and a big horse on the roof”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Friendly yes, Otto made sure every one was happy, well watered and fed. We had a game of darts, not a good game but it was fun. The place is decked out really well, with the cow hide chairs, saddle stools, and the toilets well if you just go to look at the ladies toilets it was worth the trip, they are decked out to the nine's It was a great night for Bundy lovers at 550VT a glass, some what enjoyed the meal, there was a lot of it. Beef ribs were ok, didn't fall off the bone like we were used to in America, but we didn't enjoy the pork ribs they had sort of a gamey flavour. So this was a hard one to rate, as I loved the atmosphere, but wasn't a huge fan of the food. Oh and the locals they don't know about it so it is on Wharf road, Port Villa.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AntDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warhorse Saloon Restaurant &Bar also viewed

 

Been to Warhorse Saloon Restaurant &Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing