We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar management should pay the performers”
Review of The Beach Bar

The Beach Bar
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A great place to hang out for the day. The Beach Bar is famous for its wood fire pizzas, but offers a large choice of alternatives as well. The kids just love playing on the beach with all the free water toys while Mum & Dad relax in the beer garden. Sit back and enjoy the stunning sunsets over Mele Bay whilst enjoying a cold beer or glass of wine. Keep an eye out for the special "Friday Night Fire Dancing" evenings, Tuesday Movie nights on Port Vila's biggest screen, right on the beach and our Sunday Sessions starting with live music from 1pm followed by our great new show "Sunday Kustam Karnival" where Bank's Snake Dancers meet our talented Circus Performers". Something for everyone at The Beach Bar!
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar management should pay the performers”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went there for the Friday night fire show around 5.30pm and there were already hundreds of people there. We were lucky and got the last table. The food is sub-standard pub grub, but at highly inflated prices. The fire show was fantastic and well worth seeing.

One troubling aspect though is that during the final stages of the show, a bucket is passed around for donations because the performers are volunteers and not paid. I and many others did not donate, given the exhorbitant prices we had already paid for food and beverages. I would have thought for the amount of customers and money that the show brings to the bar, that the Australian management would have the decency to pay their performers .... or is this just another case of expolitation of locals by Australian businesses here?

Andrew

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortVilaTom, Owner at The Beach Bar, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Not really sure where to start on this article. So perhaps we should just stick to the facts.
Our menu is unashamedly “pub food” in case you didn't notice, we are a pub! We are very proud of the standard of our menu and have many glowing testimonials on this site to attest to this, however mistakes can be made especially on very busy nights and if you felt the quality was sub standard you should have mentioned it on the night to management when we could have done something about it.
As far as being “highly inflated and exorbitant” all our pricing is equal to or cheaper than any other similar establishment in Port Vila, so you are just plain WRONG!
As for the show that you thoroughly enjoyed but refused to support in any way, we do pay for the performance every week. Not only do we pay for it but we created the show and developed it into the amazing performance you saw. We spent many thousands of dollars and countless man hours to do this. We have taken around 30 previously unemployed, shy and timid young people and turned them into gainfully employed confident and outgoing people who can now perform in front of 100’s of people.
They now perform at least 7 shows a week around Port Vila and this is one of the best revenue raisers that Wan Smol Bag theatre has got. Wan Smol Bag is a wonderful organisation who helps the youth of Vanuatu in many different ways. We are very proud that our show can be of such great assistance to them and are very grateful to the guests every week who come along and enjoy the show and generously donate towards these fantastic young kids and this wonderful organisation.
The fact that you chose to watch their performance and not contribute one lousy dollar because you felt you had paid too much for your hamburger (how that has anything to do with them I’m not sure) I think clearly shows who is exploiting who. We hope you don’t come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    349
    69
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The service was great and the food was excellent. Really good atmosphere, very relaxed. The bar is in a fantastic spot with a lovely view over the bay.

The fire dancing on the Friday night was AWESOME. That was our best night there.

Definitely worth visiting.

Tony & Tricia W

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyWynneCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I became a regular on a ten day holiday!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic place for families and groups of friends. Food and drinks are available all day and free wifi and water sport toys. Staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to find you tables and chairs for the busy nights. The events they hold like the fire show, movie night etc are well attended. Food prices are reasonable. Get in quick if you want pizza as they go through 30kgs of dough pretty quickly!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Friday night fire dancers”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great show fun for all types of familys. Food and drink is really good proces and very friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn_F0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic night for all the family”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

As a family we went to the Friday night Pizza and Fire Dancing and it was a very enjoyable night for all. It was a very busy night so it paid to order as soon as possible and was good to have eaten before the fire show started as this was just amazing. Pizza's were nice and fresh and had enough of a choice to keep everyone happy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJHesketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing