We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Beach Bar

The Beach Bar
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A great place to hang out for the day. The Beach Bar is famous for its wood fire pizzas, but offers a large choice of alternatives as well. The kids just love playing on the beach with all the free water toys while Mum & Dad relax in the beer garden. Sit back and enjoy the stunning sunsets over Mele Bay whilst enjoying a cold beer or glass of wine. Keep an eye out for the special "Friday Night Fire Dancing" evenings, Tuesday Movie nights on Port Vila's biggest screen, right on the beach and our Sunday Sessions starting with live music from 1pm followed by our great new show "Sunday Kustam Karnival" where Bank's Snake Dancers meet our talented Circus Performers". Something for everyone at The Beach Bar!
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Awesome location and a nice tasty pizza. Wish we had of arrived earlier on a Friday night as by many of these reviews say the fire show is meant to be great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    348
    69
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Friday firework show”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Drinks and pizza are great. Yum tucker beer. Unfortunately I didn't think manager was as friendly as he could be. Great place to go with kids. Great swimming beach and toys for kids to play on

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunsoakerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had several meals here and all were great. the kids enjoyed that they could play on the beach after lunch while mum and dad could enjoy a few drinks. Rango the lizard was a big hit as were the inflatable toys in the water the kids could play on.

Our waitress on each occassion was Alpheni (sp) she was lovely and very personably with us and the kids.

Great view and great atmosphere and the pizza's were awesome. Only a short trip from town and can get a bus there for 300 vatu approx $3.00AUD

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SealWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Staff require more training on how to remember orders!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Great ambience and feel to the bar. Lovely setting by the beach. Fire dance show is a must see but maybe eat before you go as they have a habit of forgetting your order.
We went to the fire show Friday night and the place was packed, we waited 2 hrs only to be told after checking with the staff numerous times on the progress of our food that our order had been lost. Although frustrated we understood as they were so busy. We gave them another chance on the Saturday night and they forgot our pizza order again (3 turned up out of 4 ordered) and also a
drink. If the staff had a bit more training and some follow up skills it would be
better.

Fire show sensational, great value cocktails, great setting just lacking a little in customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKNDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortVilaTom, Owner at The Beach Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your review and we will take onboard your comments. You are right about about how busy it was on that Friday night and although i appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you, we do excuse our staff for making a few mistakes under that pressure. However we have no excuse for making the same mistake the following night. We unfortunately have lost several of our most experienced staff to work in Australia and New Zealand in recent times and have had to turn to some of our new recruits from the hospitality course we have set up in the local village. These guys are not quite up to speed yet but have been thrown in the deep end. As they are keen and excited we are sure they will soon become valuable members of our team. We are glad you enjoyed our bar and look forward to seeing you back soon and hope our newer staff members will then be able to offer you the fantastic customer service we are usually known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friday night fun!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The place for ex-pats to gather on a Friday night. Lots of kids, families and fun to be had, with the spectacular fire-twirling show being a real highlight.

Good food, reasonably priced, with wood fired pizza as well.

No credit card facilities, and be warned, if your run out of Vatu's and use your $AUD, then the exchange rate of 80Vt to $1, is a very poor deal - however, on the fourth bottle of wine with our little party no one seemed to care at the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing