We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEW”
Review of Aqua on Erakor

Aqua on Erakor
Ranked #23 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Scotch Steak was AMAZING.....we were only there for lunch so I can only imagine what their dinners would have been like!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 31hoosier_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    73
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We decided to have the last dinner of our week long trip to Efate at Aqua on Erakor and are so pleased we did. The service great, food lovely and the sunset spectacular, a perfect end to a perfect week. Only one complaint I wish there had been more coconut prawns in the entree! Restaurant was pretty quiet and some of the resort staff amused our kids feeding the fish with them, then after dinner playing cards and board games whilst we watched the sun go down.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Was really disappointed with the service. We were there last year same time and it was very good. New owners perhaps?

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dinner fiasco”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We caught the ferry over to Erakor island from Port Vila in the middle of the afternoon and spent a lovely few hours on the beach there. The restaurant looked lovely and the outdoor seating was inviting so we decided to extend our stay on the island and have dinner there instead of the original plan of returning to Port Vila for dinner.

The whole experience was a disaster. We sat at our table and waited for a good few minutes before a waiter came and took our order. It wasn't even six o'clock yet and the restaurant was mostly empty so we're not sure why we had to wait for so long while a big group of waiters stood around chatting... but we thought "we're on island time" and decided to just enjoy the sun. After a while, they came and took our order, which included a starter, a main and a dessert.

We waited a full hour before the starter arrived at our table. In the mean time, other people started arriving and getting their food. Some people who had arrived after us had their starters and desserts before we even got ours. We weren't sure what was causing such a big delay and every time we asked we were told "food is coming soon".

The starter came and after a few minutes so did the mains. Except they weren't what we had ordered. We tried pointing that our but the person didn't seem to want to understand us and we had already waited so long for food we decided to just eat what had been brought to us (after trying to get the point across that it was not what we had ordered). We waited another good 45 minutes for our desserts and had to re-order them because they had forgotten about it. We ordered an ice cream sundae for each of us (each sunday with one scoop of chocolate ice cream and one scoop of strawberry ice cream, as per the menu). When it eventually came, one of us was handed a bowl with two scoops of strawberry ice cream and the other got a bowl with two scoops of chocolate ice cream. We tried pointing it out that it was wrong but the person insisted that "it was chocolate and strawberry ice cream" and it shouldn't matter that the scoops were in the wrong bowls. In the end, we gave up and just shared both bowls.

While all this was going on, many people around us were having their own issues too. The table next to ours, for example, also waited a while for their food (not as long as us, though) and got offered a free bottle of wine for their troubles. We got up to pay and told them our thoughts on the whole experience. We were told that there was a problem with the computer system (which doesn't explain why some people were getting food quickly and others weren't...but okay) and the waiter offered an apology. We mentioned that other people had received more than an apology and, since it wasn't exactly the cheapest restaurant we had ever been to and we had been there for many more hours than we had expected to be, we would like some sort of compensation. The waiter said something along the lines of "I've already apologised" and called the manager who didn't apologise or even seem to care about the fact that we hadn't had a good experience. Without even looking at us he said "just give them 10% off", making us feel like we were some sort of issue that was meant to be dealt with and get rid of quickly.

I realise we may have been unlucky the day we went to Aqua on Erakor but any review is only based on people's experiences of a particular occasion and, as such, we thought this would be a valuable contribution. The beach at Erakor island is nice but, if we ever go back, we'll probably either pack some sandwiches or return to Port Vila before dinner time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thejourneyists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go early for the family special!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Ate at Aqua on a recommendation and very glad we did. We went over at about 5pm to make sure we could get a table overlooking the water, and found that they do a 'family special' meal deal for $AUD25/adult or $AUD10/child if you order between 5-6pm, which comes with garlic bread, a main and a dessert. (5-6pm is also happy hour for drinks!) Food was great, and we couldn't finish it all! Service was great, and there were only three other groups there while we were eating, so we weren't surrounded by noisy kids either. We saw several different types of fish and starfish over the balcony, and the atmosphere was amazing. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaSharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua on Erakor also viewed

 

Been to Aqua on Erakor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing