We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at Tropicana on Saturday 29th Dec. When we went to check in we were told that our room was not available and that we would be moved to another resort for one night, because there was nothing much we could do about it, we decided not to disagree with the arrangements and we went to the other resort. A bus was arranged within seconds and 2 minutes later we arrived at the resort. We were shown to our room and then the manager from Tropicana showed up (Calvin). He explained the situation to us briefly before we got moved and then told us more about it when we arrived at the new resort. He told us that he would pay for that nights meals and a few other ways that he would compensate us. The day after we moved back to Tropicana and were shown to our room, unfortunately there was not 3 separate beds like we requested so again Calvin said that he would make another very generous compensation, which was much appreciated. The staff were very, very friendly and Calvin has got some fantastic skills about pleasing his guests. We were 110% happy with the stay at Tropicana, and a massive thank you to Calvin and his staff for the outstanding stay in Port Vila. Calvin has got a new resort opening soon, I can guarantee that I will be staying there in the very near future. Thanks Again.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are fantastic, but during the hotter months air conditioning is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    17
    17
    3
See reviews for
48
77
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were two families travelling together and had a great week at the Tropicana
The things we enjoyed the most were the location, the restaurant and the service. It is on a channel between two larger lagoons and is great fun to swim and kayak in. The food in the restaurant was great and they were willing to serve us anytime during the day. We got great advice from Calvin, the manager about things to do in Vanuatu and how to get the most out of our trip. He was always wandering around talking to guests about what they wanted to do and tailoring advice to their preferences. Calvin moves on to another resort next week, so hopefully the same approach will continue. The rest of the staff were also great. The rooms were clean and basic. Air conditioning was available but we chose not to pay for it. In our room the air conditioner was in the living area not the bedrooms so we thought it would not have much benefit at night. Wi fi is available throughout the resort so you were able to sit by the pool or the bar and browse if that is what you wanted to do, and many people did seem to want to, especially our kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been working in the travel industry for more than two decades now and I often take part in "study tours" travelling around the World evaluating hotels for the future routs for my company.
This was a private visit and was not related to my job. I wonder who wrote the previous reviews because they are misleading and are creating a false picture of this resort. Every single guest I spoke to was very unhappy and dissapointed with the quality or rather lack of in this resort. Some guests have left before the end of their stay.
I have never, in my hundreds of trips, stayed in a hotel which claims to be a 4 1/2 stars, come accross so many issues, like smelly and dirty sheets and pillows (linen changed only once a week), dirty and smelly toilet.
Towels not washed or dried properly. Smelly kitchen towel and mouldy dishwashing sponge.
WiFi hardly ever worked and was extremely slow.
Every of four available tv channels scrambled most of the time. Another supprise, A/C not included unless paid for separately, 1200 Vatu daily (approx. $13AUD).
The widely advertised blue lagoon is more of a canal with a strong current and often full of organic debries and screaming local kids for most of the day. Hotel mini swimming pool was dirty and murky.
The most stingy continental breakfast I have ever been serevd in any hotel (for two people), consisting of quarter of an apple, half a slice of pineapple and two miniature bananas, two slices of plain white toast (no other bread ever available), jam and butter (rationd).
The only positive aspect about the place was the friendly local staff, always helpful and smiling.
Also food served for dinner in the hotel restaurant was nice and well presented.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lagoon, all with a nice balcony away from traffic noise. The local kids however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bearkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Last week, two grey nomads had the pleasure of staying at the Tropicana Lagoon Apartments. From our first moment at the resort with the welcoming smile from Anna in reception and the glass of fruit juice from Erna, we had a very pleasant five night stay.
Our upstairs room overlooking the lagoon was very clean and well presented with a very comfortable queen size bed. Although the room had kitchen facilities we always had our meals in the beautifully presented restaurant. It was very ably managed by Sheila and with Erna as her support, we spent many hours there enjoying the local beer, "Tusker", and working our way through the expansive and reasonably priced menu.
The Head Chef Andrew ensured that every meal was excellently cooked and presented.
The resorts close proximity to the town of Port Vila made it very convenient for venturing into town and travelling further afield to see the sights of Vanuatu.
Every bus trip of course is an adventure in itself so that the trip into town could take from ten minutes to half and hour but this of course added to the flavour and excitement of Vanuatu.
The lagoon adjacent to the resort or the swimming pool was a perfect place for a refreshing swim and we took advantage of the kayaks that were available for the use of guests.
The resort manager Calvin was always ready to have a chat and always ensured that our every need we met.
I know that we will be returning again to Vanuatu and with the high standard of accommodation that Tropicana Lagoon Apartments has presented to us along with their very competent and happy staff, we know where we will be staying.
Thank you to the management and all of the staff for ensuring that our holiday in Vanuatu was both memorable and very very enjoyable.
Ken and Charmaine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dad and i stayed at the Tropicana Lagoon a few months ago and enjoyed every bit of our time at the Tropicana Lagoon (even tho it rained most of the time). They are situated about a 10min drive out of town, on a quiet spot beside the lagoon. We had a beautiful upstairs room looking over the man made beach and lagoon. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and are self contained apartments (decorated with fresh flowers, a very nice island touch).
They have a swimming pool, restaurant, man made beach and canoes to use while your stay there. When it was raining they even provided us with endless amounts of DVD's to watch so we wouldn't be bored. The staff are always welcoming and greeting us everyday with a big smile and also happy to help us out with anything we needed, from an early pick up to the airport at the crack of dawn to breakfast prepared and brought up the night before. i would recommend this place to everyone. THANKS AGAIN TO ALL THE STAFF AT THE TROPICANA LAGOON!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love to travel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippaxs
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely quiet location and very comfortable, well-appointed rooms. Self-contained so you can cater for yourself but why would you? Breakfast is included and the restaurant situated over the water serves excellent food for reasonable prices. There's free wifi which works well. But best of all was the staff. The Ni-Van, as the indigenous people are called, are amazingly friendly wherever you visit in Vanuatu, and the staff here was every bit that and more. They were wonderfully helpful in the every-day running of things but also in recommending and organising things to do. They also have great senses of humour. The manager and the owners were very accessible and keen to do whatever they could to maintain the great experience you were having as well as to do whatever might enhance it. We were very grateful to have our interest in visiting the island of Tanna to see the active volcano not only raised but the have a booking made by phone as we discussed it (and it was an experience we will never forget)! Strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnacles70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is beside a Lagoon and has its own Beach, Restaurant and Bar.
It is a nice and quiet place back from any street and traffic noise.
It is 5-10 min trip to Port Villa Center with a bus or taxi (cheap).
The rooms were very nice, the bed mattresses firm, everything was clean.
We were able to use the hotel kajaks at no additional cost.
Sitting in the open restaurant next to the lagoon and enjoying a very good meal from the small but well choosen menu was devine.
Staff (mainly locals) were very friendly and helpful.
We were very happy with everything in this place - great find.
Petra & Dan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pohrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#19 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Property: Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Address: Teouma Rd. | PO Box 7021, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROPICANA LAGOON Beach ApartmentsTROPICANA LAGOON Apartments comprise 12 self contained studio apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments and 4 Villas. each Villa has their own plunge pool. All apartments are luxury and stylish built with this typically Vanuatu flair.LocationSituated on Second Lagoon, overlooking magical emerald waters and lush tropical vegetation on the opposite shore. TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments is a peaceful and friendly tropical escape in the most romantic location of Efate, yet only 5 minutes away from down town Port Vila.The property is nicely landscaped with lots of tropical palms, plants and flowers. With your own private beach on your doorstep TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments creates a wonderful ambience for your perfect holiday. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while you swim in the pool, read a book in a hammock or enjoy a cocktail at our over-water-Fare while watching a romantic sunset. Room FacilitiesAll apartments have splendid views over the tranquil emerald waters of the lagoon. They are modern, spacious, self-contained, fan-cooled and/or air condition. Each apartment is beautifully finished with tropical style interiors, warm timber flooring, deluxe bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and all modern amenities such as flat-screen satellite TV , DVD player, high speed secure internet, private BBQ (subject to availability) and in-room-safe. The studio apartments ideally cater for two persons. On request we can provide an additional single bed. All apartments have private balconies or verandas with awesome views. Ground floor apartments have their own direct beach access. Resort-& Service Facilities: Rooms are serviced daily for our - Swimming pool- 24 hours service and security- Laundry service, free tropical breakfast - airport transfer on request.- You can book tours at our tour desk/ reception. We also organize car hire for you.- Drinks and snacks available throughout the day at the Beach Bar.- Free use of kayaks, and snorkel equipment.- Free DVD library- On site parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing