We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vicky's Honest Opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vicky's Honest Opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very pleasant manager who made us feel welcome in a homely environment.
Weather was a bit cloudy during our 1 week break but we just relaxed and enjoyed the laid back attitude to life in Vanuatua. Would definitely return there as it is easy to get a bus into town and you are not living in the thick of things.
Staff at the resort also very pleasant. Nothing is too hard for them and they were not intrusive at all. Once a full bar and kitchen serving daytime and evening meals is in place it will be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over the lagoon are sunny and perhaps not as noisy as those at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    17
    17
    3
See reviews for
48
77
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We enjoyed the location on the lagoon and the views from our deck over to the local village. Great service from all staff with special mention to Calvin for going the extra mile and making sure we were happy and had everything we needed. He gave us great recommendations for dining out and sightseeing which we really appreciated!!

The development is only 2 years old with beautiful tropical scenery and we look forward to seeing the outdoor cafe open in the next few weeks. The introduction of the pontoon boat will be an exciting option so we wish you best of luck with your future plans.

We really enjoyed getting to know all the people at this resort so thank you for a lovely stay!

Stacy & Tony from New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiStace2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I found Tropicana by accident, while I was riding along the main road. The owners were super helpful in fitting me in for what ended up being nearly three weeks, even though it was peak season for them. I had to move rooms a couple of times to fit in, but this meant that I got to experience both types of rooms. Upstairs ones have the advantage of a private balcony and better views.

The rooms were beautifully clean and made up with wonderful bright flowers on the first day. The staff kept the rooms perfectly clean for my whole stay and were super friendly the whole time.

The kitchen was very use-able, with enough to get by very well.

The apartments were right on the water at second lagoon, which was stunning, particularly in the afternoons and sunsets. You could swim in either the clear lagoon or the swimming pool at the resort.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have private balconies, which are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We arrived at the Tropicana by accident. We were meant to be booked down the road, but a mess up by Air NZ meant that we arrived at Tropicana. It is not a big flashy resort like some on Vanuatu. It is a good quality set of self catering apartments - which provide complimentary breakfast.
SItuated on a lagoon location, with 17 apartments, of 1 or 2 bedrooms, the site is compact but comfortable. The apartments are tastefully decorated with native timber floors, and ours had two bedrooms and a spacious lounge with galley kitchen, and a well appointed bathroom.
The staff could not have been more helpful, especially bearing in mind that we came on the hop due to the booking mix up. Martina, the owner, was helpful. She didn't even mind that she had no way of knowing who would be paying - us or Air NZ. She provided useful local knowledge, and help in booking tours. She even told us the attractions which we could just go to ourselves without the extra cost of an organised tour.
OK, so it is not a big flashy resort. It does not have a restaurant [although one is planned], but there is a beautiful restaurant only 100m away. And a trip to town in a minbus is only 150VT each, or 1000VT for a whole taxi. There is a local store about 300m away, or again, a short trip to town for a supermarket - or the local main market, where you can buy all manner of local produce - paw paw, grapefruit, taro, tomatoes onions salad and anything else.
Martina has plans for expansion and four new villas were under construction.
Thanks to Martina, and the girls, Marie, Winna, Naomi for making us welcome and comfortable.
This place is a hidden gem, and perfect for a quiet hideway, or even for the odd business trip.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lagoon. Downstairs ones are fine mobility access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charteredlossadjuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

There were many positives to staying at Tropicana, but what stood out in particular was the quality of personal attention given to us by the host and owner Tina. She was always prepared to make a phone call for us to arrange a dinner reservation, a tour or check on any other inquiry we had.

The apartments are spacious and well maintained and about 5 minutes from town by bus - and we never waited more than 2 minutes at any time of day for a bus to pass [flat rate fare 150VT pp, about $1.50]. All apartments have a small but functional kitchen, and supplies like bread, milk, or other groceries can be bought at a store 100m down the road.

And while we tended to go out and explore the island most days, our favourite in-resort activity was sitting on our balcony overlooking the lagoon and the activities of the Ni-Vanuatans on the other side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We, a family of four, stayed at Tropicana for 9 nights and all I can say is ...wow! The resort was situated about 7 minutes from town and easily accessible by bus. The bus service on the island was unlike anything I had ever seen before; you would have to wait no more than 30 seconds and a bus would come along to take you anywhere you wanted to go! I feel that being that little distance from the centre of the town was a bonus as this allowed you to get away from the hustle and bustle of Port Vila and enjoy the quiet and beautiful surrounds of the lush greenery, pool and lagoon which the resort offered. The apartments were very lovely, clean, comfortable and well appointed with a nicely equipped kitchen if you wanted to shop at the supermarket (Au Bon Marche) and have a quiet night in. All apartments had double doors which opened up to the view of the lagoon and/or pool. What a way to relax! The staff are very friendly and do a wonderful job of cleaning the apartments each day and leaving little personal touches of beautiful hibiscus flowers around the apartment.The host Martina was absolutely amazing, she was exceedingly welcoming and made every effort to help make our stay a memorable one. She organised breakfasts, taxis, restaurants, tours and was a source of an incredible amount of local information.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are the way to go. One step and you're either at the pool or the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Tropicana is a nicely appointed, comfortable, clean apartment complex 10 mins drive out of town. It is self contained, which suits people wanting to save money on eating out (which can be expensive in port Vila), and families with young kids. Overall we enjoyed our time at Tropicana.

Rooms:
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was well set up, clean and comfy. Plenty of storage space for suitcases etc. The kitchen was minimally appointed with cooking implements, one bonus was that the staff provided us with a bigger fridge which was excellent. No curtains on windows which made for some early wake ups from children!

Facilities:
Tropicana is on the lagoon, and has a man-made beach. Its not really great for swimming - water gets deep quickly and has a strong current. But its nice for kayaking. Its lovely to interact with the local people who live on the other side of the lagoon - the kids from the village regularly came over to play with our kids. The pool is nice, but it is small. Internet access was excellent, and free. There is an awesome nakamal (covered deck) over the lagoon which is so nice to sit and relax on.

Service:
Hospitality was generally good. At the front office, Nessan was lovely and really helpful, as were the other local staff. The owners Martina and Jorg were also helpful and generous, but at times hard to track down!

Location:
Lovely, scenic, quiet spot. Only 10 mins to town in a bus, and lots of buses pass by on the main road. Quite a few mozzies around the lagoon - take repellent! But otherwise, great location.

Issues:
We arrived at the hotel at 730pm, having come straight from the airport. We were exhausted and hungry, but there was nothing available at Tropicana to buy and eat. There is a small shop, but it was closed. Would be great if the shop could open when guests arrive late at night so that they can get supplies.

It would be useful if Tropicana could update the information folders in rooms to contain information about cyclone and earthquake preparedness. There was a cyclone when we stayed, and it was tricky to find info about what to do, where to evacuate to, etc.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
7.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#19 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort

Property: Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Address: Teouma Rd. | PO Box 7021, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROPICANA LAGOON Beach ApartmentsTROPICANA LAGOON Apartments comprise 12 self contained studio apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments and 4 Villas. each Villa has their own plunge pool. All apartments are luxury and stylish built with this typically Vanuatu flair.LocationSituated on Second Lagoon, overlooking magical emerald waters and lush tropical vegetation on the opposite shore. TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments is a peaceful and friendly tropical escape in the most romantic location of Efate, yet only 5 minutes away from down town Port Vila.The property is nicely landscaped with lots of tropical palms, plants and flowers. With your own private beach on your doorstep TROPICANA LAGOON Beach Apartments creates a wonderful ambience for your perfect holiday. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while you swim in the pool, read a book in a hammock or enjoy a cocktail at our over-water-Fare while watching a romantic sunset. Room FacilitiesAll apartments have splendid views over the tranquil emerald waters of the lagoon. They are modern, spacious, self-contained, fan-cooled and/or air condition. Each apartment is beautifully finished with tropical style interiors, warm timber flooring, deluxe bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and all modern amenities such as flat-screen satellite TV , DVD player, high speed secure internet, private BBQ (subject to availability) and in-room-safe. The studio apartments ideally cater for two persons. On request we can provide an additional single bed. All apartments have private balconies or verandas with awesome views. Ground floor apartments have their own direct beach access. Resort-& Service Facilities: Rooms are serviced daily for our - Swimming pool- 24 hours service and security- Laundry service, free tropical breakfast - airport transfer on request.- You can book tours at our tour desk/ reception. We also organize car hire for you.- Drinks and snacks available throughout the day at the Beach Bar.- Free use of kayaks, and snorkel equipment.- Free DVD library- On site parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing