We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Jabsina!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jabsina Guest House
Ranked #10 of 20 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love Jabsina!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We 2 mums ran away from our husbands and children and spent 2 weeks on our tropical island. Of that time we spend 7 nights at Jasbina Lodge in Pango Village.
It is a very basic little house, there is no running hot water and the kitchen is far from 'House and Garden' standard. But or $20 a night it is great value and this was my 3rd trip to Port Vila so I've done the Resort holiday and I wanted to be closer to the locals (niVanuatu or niVans)
Locals laughed at us when we mentioned we had no hot water because, well, only white people have hot water showers! If you need to have ot showers then go to a resort cos Jasbina is not the place for you. This place is where you will really get the feel for the locals. Pango Village is quite affluent by local standards but way, way below western norms.
We bought and prepared our own food, purchasing from the produce market or from the local supermarket in Vila.( Au Bon Marche in Numbatu is the best supermarket and all the locals recommend it!)
It took a little while to get used to the dogs and chooks roaming around all night, barking and clucking. There was a bit of noise from the local football field for one 24 hour period but that was a really important festival, 'Children's Week'with music and games and dancing.
(Independance Day was coming up and the whole place was getting excited.) But otherwise the village is so quiet, punctuated by school bells in the morning and the sound of the ocean constantly. The locals are friendly, Alick is a kind and quiet man. He and his wife made sure the lights were on if we were late getting back in the evening and bringing in our washing if rain was imminent. Alick came often to see if we needed anything and the whole place was mopped and dusted daily. Don't go here if you want luxury but if you want to experience life a little closer to the people then this place might suit you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were booked into Jabsinas for 2 nights late July.I had arranged this with the owner Alick months previously and he had emailed us back saying he would pick us up from another establishment in Villa and take us to the guesthouse.Expecting a pickup but not sure what time we tried calling ,only to find the number not connected.Luckily we managed to find our own way there,thanks to a helpful local and walking around pango village until we finally found the place.Not a great start..
Finding Alick and the guesthouse he did apologise for not picking us up ,explaining he wasn't sure if we would turn up since the booking was made a few months ago(????)-he also explained he did not actually answer the emails or monitor the website himself -some woman in Australia did this for him.We knew the lodgings would be basic -but were a little disappointed that things were so dirty-and simple things such as soap or dishing liquid were not in the kitchen*(it was advertised as self catering).The fridge had a heavy coating of mold inside,the doors were falling off the kitchen cupboards-that were utterly filthy ,even by my well travelled standards.Leaking taps,no hot water,oven not working it was pretty rough-and a mattress that was barely 2 inches thick!i think we would have handled our "village" stay somewhat better had we been told for the 2 nights we stayed the villages partied like crazy in the football field behind the house with a HUGE sound system blasting strange commercial trance ,with an "MC" preacher over top loudly screaming about the sins of Alchohol,Kava..etc.It was kind of amusing the first night-but 27 hours later not so amusing-totally sleep deprived we stumbled into Villa booked a hotel and slept for 2 days!This is a case of the website beig far superior and charming than the reality of the guesthouse.

Room Tip: just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muylocajeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 1 yo daughter for 4 nights over the Christmas holidays.

As joannekAustralia wrote, the guesthouse is quite basic, but the locals are very friendly and you get to see a side of Vanuatu life you would never experience staying in a resort. Also really good for surfing. Alick the owner was very helpful - picking us up from the airport without being asked, buying breakfast for us as we were arriving after midnight of the Christmas eve, driving us to honeymoon beach (well recommended for a nice swim or romantic explore). The beautiful shallow coral sand beach which is couple of minutes walk from the guesthouse was good place for kids to play with local families.

Communication was a bit difficult as Alick has to go in to town to check his email, so would recommend you book a month or so in advance and be patient waiting for replies! His friend in Australia sometime replies on behalf of him.

Really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chooch4649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I stayed at Jabsina guest house for 6 weeks although I only intended to stay 10 days with a friend's family. The guest house is basic but clean and in a fantastic location at Pango Point a 2 minute walk from the best surf on the island (best in the southern summer). There are four bedrooms, two bathrooms and a full kitchen so we mostly cooked at home which made it a cheap holiday although we were invited to eat with the family several times. There is also great snorkelling close by. Jabsina is surrounded by rainforest and in a big garden where the extended Sope family all have their houses. The family is so welcoming and we really got to experience authentic traditional life Vanuatu style. We attended the local church service, saw lap lap being made, were taken to the local kava bars, Independence celebrations and other festivities with the family. It is just a short bus ride into Port Vila and you never have to wait more than about 5 minutes for a bus to come along. Jabsina doesn't have hot water but it only gets cold enough to need it occasionally in winter (I just did like the locals and heated up some water to bathe in) and while it's not the Sheraton you get to experience things that you never would in a resort. The family is so lovely and when my friend and her family were there all the kids played soccer, surfed and snorkelled together and we all hung out in the backyard together and when my friends left I spent a lot of time hanging with the different families and it was great. This is a really different holiday and I can't imagine a cheaper or better way to see the real Vanuatu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannekAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#47 of 47 in Port Vila
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.2 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Pango Motel
Blue Pango Motel
#38 of 47 in Port Vila
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jabsina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jabsina Guest House

Property: Jabsina Guest House
Address: Pango Road | Pango Village, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Jabsina Guest House Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing