We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Pizza and a Movie”
Review of Nambawan Cafe

Nambawan Cafe
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Nambawan is a relaxing water side cafe - built using local materials alongside the Arts and Craft Market. It has cafe fair, with a juice bar using only fresh ingredients (no concentrates or canned juices) and only imported fruits when not in season.
Blue Mountains
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun for Pizza and a Movie”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Probably one of the most relaxing and cheap nights out we had, while we were in Vila. Simple pizza and beer on the waterfront, with the kids watching an outdoor movie on the big screen! A nice night out and a nice mix of locals and tourists.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samoa_Wedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    261
    72
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best cafe, in a top spot”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We could have happily gone to Nambawan every day of our holiday. Unfortunately we only found it towards the end. So, if you're headed to Port Vila take this advice and seek out Nambawan on day one. It's right on the waterfront in the main part of Vila town (in Nambawan funnily enough!) and just next to La Tentation and the little market for tourists. In the same hut as the cafe you'll find helicopter tours and a diving business. We had a few breakfasts at Nambawan cafe - good coffee, delicious banana-coconut muffins, lime-coconut balls, toasted sandwiches and excellent fresh juices and smoothies in a great range of flavours (see our pictures). Its also a relaxing place for a cool drink in the afternoon, and there's free wifi. The prices are pretty reasonable too, and three nights a week they host moonlight cinemas, in one of the nicest locations you're likely to ever see a movie.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks, good prices”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We welcomed the prices at Nambawan after spending money on resort meals. The food was decent and the drinks were very nice. I particularly enjoyed their Iced Tanna Coffee and their Pina Colada, and my husband took a liking to their Kava Cocktail.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, MO
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Free WiFi, free movies, great Pizza, amazing view”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

This is a very popular place for the expats when visiting Vanuatu. The prices are reasonable compared to the other expat places. The free wifi is really nice and one of the few (if not only) places in Port Vila where you can get free wifi. 3 Nights a week at ~6:45pm they show a recent run movie. We saw Narnia:Voyage of the Dawn Treader while still in theaters.
The pizzas are quite good (Thin crust American style with some interesting toppings). The beer is cold, they'll bring plenty of water.

Call ahead for a reserved table on movie nights (the schedule is posted all over town).

While not great food, it's certainly adequate and the kids enjoyed the smoothies.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Efusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee, outstanding location”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Numbawan is the place for coffee, wireless internet and a light meal. We went a number of times and it was great - with a view to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nambawan Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nambawan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing