We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally enjoyed the morning and sunset cruises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caraid Sunset Day Cruise

Caraid Sunset Day Cruise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyed the morning and sunset cruises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We took both the half day morning cruise and the sunset cruise and really enjoyed both. Lily and the crew were extremely friendly, helpful and had a laugh with us.
I am not an experienced snorkeller but enjoyed myself, got to see heaps of different fish, all swimming around me. Had plenty of time to play around and enjoy the lovely water and relaxing beach location.
The sunset cruise again was great, lots of nibblies to eat, wine, beer, music and relaxing, scenic cruise.
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank csm941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easy cruise and great snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We took a half day (morning) cruise around to Paradise Cove where the skipper has access to a lovely beach and great snorkelling. While the coral is pretty worn out, the fish are many, varied and wonderful, and they literally nibble at your fingertips, The boat was clean and well maintained and the crew professional. I chatted to the skipper a bit and enjoyed the conversation. The morning tea (fresh fruit, biscuits, coffee/tea) was great. The six adults and six kids (9 - 12 years) all loved the cruise and swim/snorkel. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A relaxing afternoon on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The sunset cruise was good to give us an idea of Port Vila. The boat was a really well looked after sloop. Three free wines/champagne or beer and trays of finger food kept coming around. The water was lovely and calm. This trip isnt for adventurers its just a nice cruzy cruise out to the end of the cove, its very scenic and the sunset was rather spectacular on our particular day. A nice opportunity to chat to other visitors to Vanuatu. Very smooth sailing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank f00au2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing fun with friends and family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Our group of six took the Caraid sunset cruise to enjoy our last night in Vila. The sky was mostly clear with just a few wispy clouds on the horizon.

We were given some pegs to use as currency for our onboard drinks. Once you're pegless you can only have more drinks if you pay for them. The first ones are included in the tour price. A few light sandwiches and snacks were passed around as well.

We explored the Port end of Vila harbour before rounding the corner and heading out past Iririki and Ifira Island.

Crew member Ishmael serenaded us with his guitar as we sailed along.

We glided leisurely past waterfront homes and ocean front resorts before the sunset and then returned after dark into the moonlit harbour.

It was lovely and we all enjoyed it tremendously.

We were back on land in time for a not-so-late dinner at The Flaming Bull Steakhouse.

It was the perfect way to end our family holiday.

Helpful?
1 Thank J_T_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Recently (June) made a trip to Vanuatu with my partner, staying at the Iririki Resort on the bay in Port Vila. We saw the Caraid Sunset Cruise advertised and booked. It found this trip extremely disappointing and way overpriced. We saw the "Captain" once, who came out of the wheelhouse just once, for a period of approximately 5 minutes to give the passengers a safety and lifebelt talk, he disappeared inside, never to be seen again. The staff looked like they were just going through the motions, but were polite, if very remote in manner. There wasn't any commentary, any decent music, only 2 staff distributing very, very ordinary finger food of Ritz crackers and dips, small sandwiches etc and the allotted number of drinks apparently included in the price. It didn't matter that the sunset was clouded over and that it rained - the trip itself was very lacklustre, uneventful and left you feeling very flat when you landed back on shore. I have done a sunset cruise in Thailand on a similar type of ship and it was wonderful, with the crew making you feel really welcome and looked like they were enjoying themselves also. I would recommend you do another activity other than this.

Helpful?
3 Thank VolcanoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caraid Sunset Day Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Caraid Sunset Day Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing