We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth it.”

The Brewery Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Good food at a good price, Wood Fired Pizza Oven, Gourmet Burgers, Home Made Pasta's. We show all major sporting events on big screens TV's and are located opposite the Grand Hotel.The home to the Nambawan Brewery - Vanuatu's best range of Tap and Bottled Beer's
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really worth it.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Overpriced, you never see the locals eating/drinking there, which for me is usually an indication that its not very good. Ordered a BBQ platter, what we got wasn't really what was described on the menu, meat was very dry and the chicken still had these hair things sticking out of the skin.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
take you for your comments, everything is expensive because it is imported from Australia or New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    234
    106
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Over-priced and under-performing. No prizes for the beer - suggest you stick with Tusker. Must admit the pizza I had was ok but my partner was very disappointed with her considerably more expensive meal. High marks for imaginative creative writing on the menu. Rude owners don't give a damn - they live there whereas you are just passing through. If you do go do it on a Tuesday for half price pizza but frankly you can do better. Arrogance of owners did it for us - never again. Beautiful outlook over noisy, dusty main drag.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am surprised it has taken 5 months to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Great for Lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were looking forward to eating here, however we were disappointed. The service was not great and the pizza my husband ordered was not what he got eventhough we questioned it twice the waitress assured us it was correct ( There is a big difference between Chili Pizza and Potato Pizza though :-( . We were willing to give them the benefit of the doubt but honestly the service and bad food really disappointed - we could see lots of Westerners were frequenting the Bar so we thought the standard would be high. We left to go and finish our afternoon elsewhere. Lots of better places to eat in Port Villa, don't settle for mediocre - this place is way too arrogant for it's ability.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuleBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you for your comments, it is disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cozy”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Nice place to visit in the centre of Port Vila. Food was really nice we had lunch a seafood plate. The beer was great, just a enjoyable place to visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you for your comments, we believe we have a good selection of beer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Beer not so much”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Love the food here, their chef is excellent but honestly the beer often tastes flat so could not recommend the beer, but definitely come for the food and the atmosphere, lovely to sit on a hot day with the misters on!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ixixly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_BreweryBar, Manager at The Brewery Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you for your comments, our french italian chef works well and we will look into your comment about the beer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Brewery Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing