We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Hideaway Island Marine Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Shore Excursion: North Efate Snorkeling Adventure
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Hideaway Island earlier this week, and were not disappointed. It was a beautiful day, and the place is just stunning. We had lunch on the beach, and sat in the sun for a while, then did a little snorkeling just off the beach. The fish come in so close you don't need to go out very far to see them. We caught the ferry across and paid the entry fee of 1000vt per person, and the hiring of the snorkel gear and fins was also 1000vt per person. The staff were very friendly, the food was great, and overall we had a wonderful relaxing day in the sun. Would highly recommend a day trip here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NZnpfamily_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    489
    197
    46
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My 6 year old daughter had the most amazing time here, she snorkelled down to the underwater post office and loved swimming with all the fish. She calls it the fish town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyliecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I did the full day tour, which we recommend! Was the best and most amazing tour we did! We are going back for our one year anniversary! LOVED IT! excellent staff! It was our first time snorkelling which was so fun! You can snorkel just close around the island and then do the open sea snorkelling which was absolutely fantastic! I loved it so much! You can relax and have a few drinks on the sun beds, play volley ball and ball games as well as going on the glass bottom boat ride and feed the fishes! It was such an amazing experience! I loved it so much! Be prepared to spend 90% of your time in the water and enjoying every moment of it! We also got to visit the underwater post office which was quite fun! Before going back to the hotel we had lunch and some drinks! Beautiful food and friendly staff! Try and hit hideaway island when the cruise ships aren't there as it gets busy all the time but is super busy when the cruise ships roll in! I highly recommend hideaway island! Such a beautiful and amazing place! but make sure you take reef walkers as the coral is everywhere and is hard as hell!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Snorkelling Paradise”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visit the underwater post office, and swim with an amazing profusion of marine life. Stunning colours and they are completely unafraid. The ferry is free, 1000 vatu to go on the island, and 1000 vatu to hire snorkel sets. The beach is coral, so make sure you take footwear.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkelling”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fantastic - beautiful fish so colourful, if you love snorkelling best place to visit friendly staff - the water felt like a bath and you can also post a card from the post box underwater

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Island Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Hideaway Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing