We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great snokelling”

Hideaway Island Marine Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Shore Excursion: North Efate Snorkeling Adventure
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day North Efate Snorkeling Adventure from Port Vila
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great snokelling”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

great snokelling make sure you go when the tide is up or near to full heaps of coral and fish nice food and bar as well if not staying on island no problem just a 1000 vatu entrance to island

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    503
    205
    47
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I had hoped...”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Disappointing. It would probably be better on a sunny day, as the day we went was overcast. However, I have seen far more colourful coral and fish species on the Barrier Reef and Bali.
Take reef shoes if you intend to walk on the 'beach'

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JPWJ1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great day or 1/2 day experience”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

As you see in all the reviews, the highlight of Hideaway is the snorkeling. Our family (with teens) spent hours snorkeling the reefs. This was a great family experience where we swam together, pointed out fish to one another and sat to watch the sunset. Our family still talks about the day we spent at hide away.

If you enjoy snorkeling, this is a great place in Efate to do that.

Some tips:
-Take VT because it costs to get on the island (but worth the fee)
-Buy your own snorkeling gear in Port Vila and pack them in because it cost you to rent the gear (you will have ample opportunity to use the gear throughout your holiday)
-Happy hour has great prices on alcoholic drinks
-Take water shoes because this is a coral beach

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnintheGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the turtles!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

You get to see a range of beautiful turtles at this place - we loved it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stepha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day trip or to stay!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Fantastic snorkelling, great restaurant. Kids loved the glass bottom boat ride and feeding the fish. Highly recommended!! Going again in August!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lorza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Island Marine Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Hideaway Island Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing