We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayaking Vanuatu

Kayaking Vanuatu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kayak and snorkel the beautiful warm waters of Vanuatu, guided by local Mele Village ladies. As you kayak over to a small sand island you can learn about the history of Port Vila, the incredible wildlife and what life in paradise is like. Once arrived on the island you can snorkel the surrounds finding vibrant coral, tropical fish and if your lucky you could spot a dolphin or turtle. Kayak back to the mainland and enjoy fresh local fruits and try coconuts direct from the tree.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

So fun, instructors were very friendly. Would recommend. They provide flippers and snorkelling gear for you, as well as the canoes.

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank anna z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Absolutely breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I booked this kayaking activity through the P&O shore tours program. As expected, it was a bit pricey, but we thought it would be easier than having to organise it ourselves.
When we got off the ship, we were escorted to a waiting minibus. The minibus was clean and had airconditioning (which was a blessing because the weather was so hot!). The drive from port to the bay was roughly 30 minutes. When we arrived we were greeted by 4 staff members (the tour group was a group of around 12). We were provided with snorkel gear and swimming fins, as well as a life vest. The staff told us that we would paddle out to the coral island, and snorkel around it, before paddling back. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly- they helped us pull the kayaks from shore into the water. The kayak to the island takes roughly 10-20minutes (depends on how competent you are). The water was so clear and so beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoyed the paddle even though I have only kayaked twice before. Reaching the coral island, again the staff helped us pull the kayaks onto the island.
Snorkelling around the island was beyond amazing. Although a lot of the coral had been destroyed, it was undeniable that the still existing coral and the sealife was breathtaking. The staff told us that the surrounding area is frequented by turtles, but I did not swim far enough to see them. At one point, one of the staff members handed us food that could be fed to the fish. It was truly a unique experience, as all the fish would swim close to us and we were able to take close up photos of the fish. The snorkel was about 40minutes in duration.
Once we kayaked back to shore, we were provided with coconuts as refreshments, which i thought was a lovely touch.
Overall it was an amazing experience that I will always remember.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonh1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kayaking in Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful, it was a decent distance and the snorkelling was great, would definately go again!

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff were especially good - super friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a great time. Equipment was good and the actual kayaking was not too hard and well work the oddity as the snorkelling was a lot of fun. Such a beautiful place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Spackmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

we thoroughly enjoyed our morning at Kayaking Vanuatu.
lovely welcoming well organised staff
we had lots of fun & met some beautiful fish
this was the highlight of our holiday.
the bathrooms were also spotlessly clean.
there may have been drinks & food for purchase at the hotel, but we only had time on this trip to enjoy a coconut drink & fruit provided when we returned to shore.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank VivienneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayaking Vanuatu also viewed

 

Been to Kayaking Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing