We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views and underwater scenic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayaking Vanuatu

Kayaking Vanuatu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kayak and snorkel the beautiful warm waters of Vanuatu, guided by local Mele Village ladies. As you kayak over to a small sand island you can learn about the history of Port Vila, the incredible wildlife and what life in paradise is like. Once arrived on the island you can snorkel the surrounds finding vibrant coral, tropical fish and if your lucky you could spot a dolphin or turtle. Kayak back to the mainland and enjoy fresh local fruits and try coconuts direct from the tree.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice views and underwater scenic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great views but don't particually like paddling lol if you have the energy go for it

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tamwatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Kayaking was sooo much fun. Its something I would do once. The staff were fun and friendly, very interested to know where you're from :)

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank elsie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

A very ordinary experience. Definitely not worth the money. There were only 2 of us on the tour, and the 2 tour operators were not keen to be at work, Kevin and Gwen. We weren't phased that the coral was dead, it was more the fact that it wasn't a pleasant experience. There were plenty of fish and a couple sharks too. I also do not recommend letting the guides to take photos using your camera. Mine hasn't worked since. Thank goodness for travel insurance. After the tour the guides just wanted to get home, so they were continually telling us the bus was ready to take us, even though we hadn't finished our refreshments. Spend your money somewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank jimsgems84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
“loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

it was great kayaked to a little coral island snorkelled got to see fish got backed had a few snacks and coconuts waiting for us when we got backed girls that took us on the tour were really nice and friendly

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

advertised as 'glass bottom kayaks' are actually cheap plastic kayaks that have a perspex look through that is so scratched you see nothing. The paddling destination off Benjor is the very very small coral island surrounded by broken coral and a few Nemos. Apart from a few other lonely fish there is nothing, we experienced much much more in other locations in Mele Bay and around Efate. There is so much more to see just snorkelling for free off the coast at Benjor, give the plastic tubs a miss.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank eel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayaking Vanuatu also viewed

 

Been to Kayaking Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing