We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Vila Chaumieres Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Vila Chaumieres is a perfect spot for a romantic dinner. The setting is incredible, sitting overlooking the water and seeing the fish when the water is lit up. Truly magical! We stayed there for our honeymoon and ate in the restaurant every night. The food was lovely, the service fantastic and the hosts made us feel especially welcome. Would thoroughly recommend both the restaurant and accommodation to anyone visiting Vanuatu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    73
    41
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“The best setting for a fantastic meal!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I have had several holidays in Vanuatu and on our second visit wanting to have a meal outside of downtown Port Vila we were recommended Vila Chaumiere's. The path from the carpark to the restaurant beside the lagoon winds through a beautiful tropical garden ending at the bar/reception area. The organic eye fillet is sensational and easily the best I have ever eaten although my wife is a seafood nut and loves the coconut prawns. The staff are always friendly and provide fantastic service. We were so impressed that on our last visit to Vanuatu we stayed at Vila Chaumiere's tasting more of Samson's (Head Chef) creations and relaxing in the newly built swimming pool. Thanks Richard & Ursula, we will definitely be back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coconut Crab!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A must try is the Fishermans Feast, with local fresh seafood and the Coconut Crab, which as far as I know is only from Vanuatu and is just delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect position worst food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had dinner there. Lovely walk in through perfectly done gardens and sitting over lagoon in great setting it seemed perfect.
It was probably the worst meal ever eaten. 'Eye fillet' was tough and not eye fillet, fish curry inedible, salad a few limp leaves with bottled dried tomatoes olives and artichokes.
Really expensive, 3,200VT, $AUS37 for fillet steak, it should be good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummerSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“secret hideaway... delish food!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to the waterfront restuarant and well let me tell you that was a waste of time! they didnt have half the items on the menu.. all the guys wanted seafood (coconut crab) and lobster etc.. nope none of that! so the next day we asked the hotel reception where is the best place for coconut crab... she told us here.. so we went and absolutely LOVED IT. the boys said their meal was one of the best meals they have ever eaten...and as for me.. (vegetarian) they still had 2 options which was more than most.. a curry and a spaghetti with chilli and garlic.
the setting was gorgeous..and very romantic if thats what your looking for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drillthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Chaumieres Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vila Chaumieres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing