We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Houstalet Restaurant

L'Houstalet Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 87 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The typical French Restaurant in Vila since 1973Well known for it's tender grilled steaks,it's delicacies such as fresh-water prawns flambe,coconut crab, lobsters, wild pigeon and it's famous marinated flying fox in red wine.
Albury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

very very affordable, and absolutely beautiful food...the lobster omelette was just sensational....definitely try this little restaurant, u wont be disappointed, excellent service too

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlburyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    176
    60
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful Dreadful Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was the worst restaurant we ate at in all of Vanuatu. The service was slow and poor, and the food was awful, and it cost a lot. I had the coconut crab in a garlic sauce. It was more like a packet of mushroom soup mixed with water and a dab of garlic. We complained but the owner didn't really care and seem to be amazed we were so disappointed in our meals. He didn't offer any compensation or even a free glass of wine. He needs to dine at the Havannah or Tamanu to experience great food and great service. This restaurant gets great reviews in the inflight magazines, and local papers etc. Please do not waste your money by dining here. Go to the Havannah or Tamanu, you will be pleased you did! Oh by the way, once we got our meals, 4 locals came in and had their meals served not long after they had ordered. They were definately treated in a better manner than ourselves.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had few mains but they were not as good to rave about as the Snails - Escargot... They were great ! Easily able to eat 2 or 3 serves ! Nice garlic butter sauce.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AquarianDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tired and living on its past”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited this restaurant on our last night as we were keen to have some French food. We were served by the owner who was pleasant if a little rushed. We were seated in the non smoking section - a must if you abhore smoking in restaurants. I had the famous coconut crab, a let down and a meagre portion for the price. My wife had the kidney's ,dry and lacking flavour. There are many better restaurants in Vanuatu for the money

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must night out during your time in Port Vila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This isn't a five star restaurant in looks BUT it has the most amazing food you will get anywhere in Port Vila. We went back there 3 times during our holiday. Make sure you try the lobster mornay - 3 tails for only $38 and the prawn gratin is to die for

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicstar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Houstalet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to L'Houstalet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing