We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Havannah, Vanuatu
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

About 10 years ago we spent a week in a resort close to Port Vila which was very average. Since then we have enjoyed many trips to Fiji staying at a number of different 4 and 5 star island resorts. The Trip Advisor reports for The Havannah took my eye and we decided to venture back to Vanuatu. We certainly were pleasantly surprised with this beautiful resort. A peaceful, tranquil location, superbly appointed and presented room (pool access villa) with our own little beach and infinity pool shared by 4 or 5 other villas, providing unobstructed views to the crystal clear ocean. The food was excellent with "specials" to give some variety to the meny each evening. I think if we stayed longer perhaps the menu would have been a little restricted - so more on the specials board would be good. We only stayed 5 nights, as we moved to Eratap to see what that was like, (see that review) but would certainly return to The Havannah. Snorkeling was very good too! We will return!

Room Tip: The rool access villas are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easehours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

I was glad to read that there have been some positive change to Vanuatu in the last 10 years, and that you made it back, finding us at the Havannah. We do change menu seasonally and we appreciate it may be a little restricting after a few days, which is the reason of the special. We also will try to cook anything you would like, if we have the ingredients and the know how, we only need a little notice and we do put guests' suggestion on the Special for other to enjoy. In any case, I thank you for your review and comments and look forward to seeing you again at the Havannah, before you return to Eratap,and not in 10 years, I hope.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for The Havannah, Vanuatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Havannah for the first part of our honeymoon and it was beautiful! I had done so much Internet searching to find the right place and I did! The room was lovely, the atmosphere Friendly, the staff so helpful, food was delicious and the views magnificent. We had a pool villa which was awesome. If you want a romantic luxury honeymoon in paradise then this is the place! We stayed in port Vila on our return from Tanna and while it was nice it did not compare to the Havannah in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Jill
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments about the Havannah. I trust you did enjoy your trip to Tanna which is an awesome experience. I have passed on your comments to our staff and they all look forward to welcoming you both at the Havannah. In the meantime, enjoyed your newly married life and have the best time.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our fourth visit to The Havannah. It is relaxing, clean and beautiful. We stayed in the lagoon rooms which are not the most expensive but are the best.

The staff really make this place. The are all natives of Vanuatu and are so friendly and extremely well trained. They greet you by name on every occasion and are so willing to help.

This is one of my favourite resorts in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2crownies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Havannah and I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. I am a strong believer that staff make a resort and after your 4th visit, I am sure they made you feel as old friends coming back.
Until we meet again, I wish you both, all the best.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Havannah is an awesome place.

Its in a great spot on the bay, where you can sip a cocktail watch the sunset and see dolphins jumping. Some of the highlights include having dinner at the end of the pier, a very special affair, or down on the beach by the fire they make nightly. The whole place is setup for views and relaxation, there are kayaks, and snorkels or if you prefer just laze by the pool on the awesome longers or 4 poster beds.

Highlight of the trip was the evening sunset cruise which, sailing around in the bay and enjoying this very unique place.

Recommended for couples who just want to get away from it all for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardFrench1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Richard
Thank you so much for your review of the Havannah. We missed each other by a few weeks as I arrived at the end of May to take on the leadership of the resort. In any case, it is good to read that you had a grand time with the resort and you enjoyed the facilities we provide. The sunset cruise is definitely something to do when staying at the resort, as it is a beautiful way to end the day.
I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Havannah.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A lovely secluded spot with picture perfect views. We stayed at The Havannah for our one week honeymoon and it was exactly what we were hoping it would be. We were surprised at how much a taxi costs between port villa and the hotel but after visiting port villa we were glad we did not stay in a hotel there. We stayed in a garden fare and it was lovely and private, probably more private than the pool or beach fare but it of course didn't have the direct pool or beach access the other two have. Snorkelling beside the jetty is very good and if you take the picnic on the Island there is very good snorkelling just off the island too. The staff were very friendly and thankfully aided my coconut water addiction and cut open the coconuts I bought in port villa.
We unfortunately got very sick halfway through our trip and so we didn't get to do much sight seeing. The extra comfort of air conditioning was good at night, some fare type hotels we looked at didn't have air conditioning but we were very glad of it while we were unwell.

A very enjoyable stay in a lovely quiet place.

Room Tip: The pool villas still have a view of the beach directly over the private pool. For maximum privacy g...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dev45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Brandon and Megan
Thank you for your review of the Havannah resort and I was sorry that you were unwell as you did missed out on some opportunities of sight seeing. I also wish I could have done more for you but we have had this bout of 24 hours viral bug that as been going around and requires rest and lots of hydration to let it take its course.
For the taxi, we have negotiated a flat rate with a couple of local operators and when book through us, the cost is 3000 vatu one way to go to town or AUD$30, this was done to avoid the hassle of bargaining as taxi here do not use meters. In any case, we do look forward to having you stay with us again and hope that you will be in fine shape for your next visit. Until we meet again!
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort is the only place to stay on Efate in Vanuatu. Avoid any resort in port villa. The weather at the Havannah was much much nicer than in Port Villa when we were there - despite it being only a 30 minute drive from the town to the resort. The ambiance of the Havannah side of the island is also much better than port villa- much more of a holiday destination. The Havannah resort is small, boutique and friendly. No kids and excellent service. The whole resort was just a great atmosphere of relaxed and elegant. The manager Frederick and his wife are very very friendly, always coming around to say hello. The staff will provide you with whatever you need - and contrary to many reports on trip advisor, the snorkelling gear has now been sorted and is great, the menu - well, its just a guide, they will serve you whatever you want to eat as long as you give them enough notice to source the ingredients for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They offer an amazing picnic to an island, and the sunset cruise with a complimentary drink is free and well worth the trip - all in all, you get what you pay for and the Havannah is well worth paying for. Don't get drawn in by any resort in Port Villa, we went to look at them all for our next visit, and NONE of them were even close to nice - the Havannah is the only place we would ever stay on Efate, and judging by the people who "day trip" to have a look at the place, many people wish they stayed there too. There is a shuttle bus into Port Villa at 10am and 3pm daily (if you really must go there, there are a few shops, its not pretty, and its not worth visiting) - we went in one day and then got a helicopter ride back - AWESOME, we were greeted back at the resort by Frederick as we landed on the beach with big smiles and plenty of chatter. Many others did the same, and it seems a popular and practical way to travel back from the town.

The Havannah is the only place to stay - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The water villas have their own pool and its amazing - if you can, book one of these. There is z air...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Hmp007,
Thank you very much for your review of the Havannah and its services. I was also happy when I received my new snorkeling gear as it had been a long time coming and to be able to provide our guests with a higher quality equipment. The helicopter arrival is always a great way to get to us and it shows Efate from a different angle which makes the experience worthwhile.I have passed on your comments to our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you and Philip to the Havannah sometime soon. In then meantime, all the best to you both.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just want to say what an absolutely amazing time we had at the Havannah resort. My husband and I stayed at the Havannah for our honeymoon in October and we could not fault anything. Friendly staff, exception service, beautiful food!

This is a perfect place for honeymooners aa there are no children, as much privacy as you want, all the tables are set up for two and the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic.

Before we decided on where we would go for our honeymoon we wrote a list of criteria and the Havannah met all of them. While we wanted to relax and spend time together (in a place that had our own private pool!!) we also wanted to be able to take part in some activities. Our 10 days at the resort was probably spent 60% relaxing and 40% getting out and out which was just what we wanted.

The staff are absolutely amazing- this will probably leave the biggest impression on us! The couples day spa was also fantastic and can not speak highly enough of the whole experience.

A massive thankyou to Frederick for everything!!

Elly and Nick Williams

Room Tip: We happened to be in Room 17 which was on the end so we only had one neighbor. We also had private a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly2012255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Elly and Nick,
It was our pleasure to have you staying at the Havannah and we are happy to have given you both great memories of the Havannah and Vanuatu. I need to correct your statistics as I thought you were closer to 70% relaxing and 30% getting out, not 60/40! The Havannah staff and I wish you all the best for the future and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
14.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
561 reviews
17.0 mi away
Eratap Beach Resort
Eratap Beach Resort
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havannah, Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havannah, Vanuatu

Address: Samoa Point, Port Vila, Efate 1111, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $360 - $904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Havannah, Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havannah is Vanuatu's adult only luxury retreat for couples. Located just 30 minutes drive from the International Airport the Havannah overlooks the pristine waters of Havannah Harbour on the northern side of the main island of Efate. The tranquility of the resort makes it an ideal place to unwind and rediscover yourself and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Havannah, Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havannah Hotel Port Vila
The Havannah, Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing