We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Havannah, Vanuatu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Havannah, Vanuatu
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Simply superb! My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in March 2012 for 3 nights and it was absolutely perfect. Because we went in the off peak season we had the place almost entirely to ourselves. We splashed out and got the Waterfront Villa - which was gorgeous! The bathtub was huge and we had our own private deck complete with a day bed and plunge pool (just in case we got tired of swimming in the pristine turquoise ocean just a few meters from our deck). There was also a lovely swimming pool perfect for lazy afternoons in the sun. If you want to go into town the hotel provides a free shuttle bus service, but remember the shops are closed for lunch during the middle of the day so plan your activities carefully. I didn't get a chance to use the spa facilities, but if they're anything like the rest of the hotel I'm sure they'll be top class.

The restaurant was beautiful. Words cannot describe how delicious the food was. It was better than anything I've eaten in Australia and there was a great range to choose from. We got the full board package which includes all your meals, but it's worth noting that this package does have restrictions. Things like garlic bread, dessert and certain dishes aren't included. Our travel agent failed to explain this to us when we bought the package, but the owner Tish was extremely understanding and went out of her way to fix it. Having said that, you do get a LOT of food for your money so it's excellent value. And even though it's not included in the full board package you HAVE to try the souffle at least once, although I should warn you it's very addictive. The view from the restaurant was nothing short of spectacular - we saw some amazing sunsets and the bay is frequented by dolphins and turtles. You can choose to sit inside the restaurant itself, on the manicured lawn, on the beach, or for special occasions you can book the private pontoon which has a glass floor so you can see the fish swimming underneath you. Very romantic!

Now, for the staff. The front desk staff were very welcoming and helped us book taxis, activities etc in a fast and professional manner. The waiters gave us five star treatment the whole time we were there. They were friendly, attentive and efficient, going out of their way to provide excellent service. The chefs were beyond amazing. The food was always cooked to perfection, beautifully presented, and served in a timely manner. I never saw the staff who did the cleaning and laundry, but the room was always spotless and we never had to use a wet towel or sleep on an unmade bed. They tidy everything while you have breakfast and turn down your room while you have dinner. The turn down staff also made cute little animals out of the beach towels, which was adorable. Whoever looks after the gardens, pools etc also does an incredible job. I swear it's like they vacuum the grass because there's hardly ever a leaf out of place. And lastly, the owner Tish was a joy to deal with. She was so friendly and knowledgable about the area. It's obvious she takes great pride in her hotel and customer satisfaction is her number one priority. The staff at The Havannah were the best of all the places we stayed at!

I don't really have anything negative to say about our stay at The Havannah. It's hard to improve on perfection! The only itsy bitsy thing was the snorkelling gear provided could've been better quality. The flippers were just flimsy plastic and the snorkel leaked so I ended up with a mouthful of water every time I inhaled. The staff were very helpful and gave us a different set to use, but the second set was pretty much the same. Apart from that one tiny detail everything else was perfect! If you're looking for "the perfect honeymoon accomodation" this is it. My husband and I have the most treasured memories of our stay at The Havannah and hopefully we'll be able to visit again sometime soon.

Room Tip: The Waterfront Villas are perfect for honeymooners wanting a luxurious and private setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Eileen
Your review of our resort is greatly appreciated even so I cannot take any credit for it as I was not there at the time. Tish, the previous GM who took great care of you as moved on and I have taken the helm of the Havannah at the end of May. However a lot of the staff who did make your honeymoon special are still with the Havannah and I will make sure they get a copy of your review, as they are the important factor of the overall experience. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you at the Havannah, again soon.
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    45
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
448
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My now husband and i eloped in July 2012, marrying and staying at The Havannah Resort...and defintely one of the moast amazing and memorable experience of our lives!

We stayed in the waterview bungalow with our own private plunge pool. AMAZING! We had spectacular views and every day house keeping cleaned and tidied our room, and during the evening did a wonderful turn down service which we looked forward to whenever returning to our room (a different animal awaiting on our bed made from our towels with a note - very clever and a great touch). If there was something extra we needed or requested, they were on our door in a second to assist!

The Point Restaurant is defintely world class. The food was amazing...never a disspointment! We tried our best to work through the menu however couldn't help but go back to our favourites :-) If you do visit, please make sure you book a private dinner on the jetty. We had our wedding dinner there and it was so beautiful! Sunset views of the Pacific and Vanuatu islands were amazing..and when you combine with amazing food, cocktails and candlelight, you could not ask for a more romantic setting! All the staff went above and beyond with service, always friendly, smiling and happy to ensure your experience was the best.

Frederick and Victoria (the General Managers) as well as all the staff at the Havannah went above and beyond to assist us with every need we had for our stay and for our wedding. It was the best decision we made to elope..no stress, no fuss, and nothing was too big or small a job that they didn't take on. We were married on the jetty with a glass bottom floor which was beautiful. It was only the two of us but they made the celebration so special and one to remember and cherish forever.

Take advantage of the romance package! Massage, romantic turn down service (candles. flowers petals all over the room), secluded picnic beach drop off (and more)...well worth it!

Thank you again for an amazing experience, we will be back for an anniversary celebration for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Kristel
Thank you so much for your review of our resort. We were very pleased to be able to provide you and W. with great memories of your wedding and honeymoon. I do hope your parents did get over the shock of you eloping and getting married under the tropical sun of Vanuatu. Until we meet again, enjoy your life together.
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We did not stay at The Havannah, however we did drop into lunch via Helicopter...yes you heard me right.....Helicopter....
It was absolutely awesome we left Port Vila with Vanuatu Helicopters and 15 / 20 minutes later landed right on the beach in front of "The Havannah".
This is a real celebrity experience.
We were warmly greeted by Victoria and offered a place on the comfy lazy lounges overlooking the harbour and Moso island.
After a delicious Pina Colada we made our way to our table with nothing less than perfect views.
I would recommend the Beef Salad...excellent. The rest of our meals were lovely. I had a coconut crumbed Chicken breast with a to die for sauce (I am sure it was something more fancy than a sauce, so pls excuse my lack of panache).
Hubby had snapper, which he also enjoyed.
After our delicious meal we wandered back to the lazy lounge couches and enjoyed a very good cup of coffee.
The Havannah is a beautiful experience of a lazy afternoon, been attended by an excellent hostess and wonderful staff. I would really suggest you experience it the way we did.
It was such a great day.....Take the chopper, indulge in the foods of The Havannah and laze away.
We had to drag ourselves out of there to return to Vila, but not until we had seen how really beautiful and immensly well kept the accommodation are.
Enjoy! Simone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Simone
It was indeed a glorious sunny day to arrive by helicoptere at the Havannah. I am sure the scenic flight is awesome. I am glad to read that Victoria and our team took great care of you, and most importantly that you had a lazy relaxing afternoon. If you are ever in need of another lazy day, we are only a hop away. See you again soon!
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a fantastic resort! Beautiful grounds and luxurious rooms (we stayed in a waterfront bungalow), combined with a fine-dining restaurant all made for a very memorable weddingmoon. The Manager's, Frederick & Victoria, were always happy to help with any request we had to make not only our holiday, but wedding also, an experience we'll cherish forever. We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful, romantic place to get married. Thankyou to Frederick, Victoria and all their happy, friendly staff!

Room Tip: Don't miss out on a private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Wade and Kristel
Thank you for your review of our resort. Victoria and I are happy to know you have taken back with you some great memories of Vanuatu and the Havannah which is what we aim for. Remember that when you are in need of a break, we are only a short hop away.I wish you both a healthy and happy life together.
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stopped here for our Honeymoon/first wedding anniversary. We chose the Havannah as the reviews were excellent, the rooms and resort looked great.
We booked a Waterfront villa, we chose it as we wanted something a bit special, but all the villas looked great and would stop in any of them on a return visit!
Our room was fantastic. Clean and comfy with great views from either the sofa or the bed (or the bath too!) The shower and bath were superb too. No complaints about the room, bedding or towels. Turndown service with homemade cookies and bottle of water and different towel animals was a nice touch.
We had no real issues with any bugs or insects, there was a large can of mortein under the sink for any problems.
We had breakfast there everyday, which was usually enough to keep us going until the evening. We weren’t planning on eating at The Havannah every night, but we did. The food was excellent every time, fresh local produce cooked just perfectly, ever meal was fantastic. A great way to end each day. We had booked to have a meal on the jetty, but unfortunately the weather stopped that one, maybe next time!
One day we went on the picnic to another island, this was great. Order your food when you book your trip then it’s all ready for you and you just have to jump in the boat and you’re off. They can also send some snorkelling gear on the boat with you for while you’re on your own beach. We ordered far too much food, the sandwiches were massive and the brownies were huge, but gorgeous too! Mmm mmm! We’d definitely recommend the picnic.
All the staff at the resort were superb, always friendly and remembered your names and made you feel welcome and relaxed. The combo of a great resort and fantastic staff really made our holiday special.
The hotel itself was excellent, all very well maintained and clean. With only a small amount of guests there at anyone time it made for a nice relaxing holiday. The transfer from the airport was about 30 mins, not too far really. We went into Port Vila one afternoon, reception sorted us a taxi there and we hopped on the shuttle bus to get back.
The location of the Havannah being away from Vila wasn’t a problem for us, we preferred that we were stopping a little further out and the ‘city’ is not that far if you want to go.
In summary, great location, great rooms, great food, great staff, really couldn’t ask for more!
Would recommend with out a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It was indeed a pleasure to have you both staying at the Havannah, and I am glad you enjoyed your relaxing honeymoon. We do hope you will have the opportunity to return for an anniversary or a second honeymoon. Until we meet again, have a great life together. All the best.
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Havannah was an amazing place for my new husband and I to take our honeymoon. We've traveled a lot together and typically like to be on the go seeing and doing as much as we can, but for our honeymoon we simply wanted to relax and enjoy each other. The was the ideal place to do this.

Pros
The local staff was extremely warm and friendly. Always willing to help with a smile. We were on a first name basis with them after just a few days.
The location is a bit removed from the airport and the town of Port Villa, but for pure relaxation and seclusion it was perfect!
The room was beautiful with ocean views, a private patio with our own mini infinity pool, it was cleaned twice a day and included beautiful and modern amenities.
The food was delicious - fresh caught. I think we arrived at the beginning of a new menu and it didn't change until our second to last night, which made the choices limited but luckily they were delicious.
Reserve a night to enjoy a candle lit, private dinner on the dock with a glass floor.
Upon request they'll build bonfires on the beach at night.
No kids allowed.

Cons
None!

This is a great place to take a romantic vacation to just get away and enjoy the beauty around you. The water is clear and beautiful. The sunsets were enjoyed on a swinging daybed on the beach and breakfast taken alfresco on the lawn overlooking the gorgeous ocean water.

Romance and relaxation at it's finest.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room with sliding doors that open to the patio which overlooks the water. Amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear CDenham
On behalf of the team at the Havannah, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are all very happy to have been able to provide you with a relaxing honeymoon and we hope you will have fond memories of Vanuatu for many years to come. All the best
Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Havannah - a special treat for the birthdays of my husband and son (50th and 21st). All the staff make you feel like you are very special and nothing is too much trouble. The individual villas are spacious, with a variety of views. Ours looked out into the harbour and down onto the pool and were surrounded in beautiful gardens. We spoiled ourselves every night with cocktails and dined in style. Had a fabulous relaxing time and would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havannah-GM, General Manager at The Havannah, Vanuatu, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Deborah
Thank you for your review of our resort. I am glad that David and Sam had a good birthday celebration in Vanuatu, and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back at the Havannah. Kind regards
Frederick Maclean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
14.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
17.0 mi away
Eratap Beach Resort
Eratap Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
13.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havannah, Vanuatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havannah, Vanuatu

Property: The Havannah, Vanuatu
Address: Samoa Point, Port Vila, Efate 1111, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Havannah, Vanuatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havannah is Vanuatu's adult only luxury retreat for couples. Located just 30 minutes drive from the International Airport the Havannah overlooks the pristine waters of Havannah Harbour on the northern side of the main island of Efate. The tranquility of the resort makes it an ideal place to unwind and rediscover yourself and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Havannah, Vanuatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havannah Hotel Port Vila
The Havannah, Vanuatu Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing