We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!!!”
Review of Troppo Mystique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troppo Mystique
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We made the big trip from the US to Vanuatu with our 10 year old son. Chez Troppo was a perfect place for us to feel like we were at home in a foreign country, rather than being stuffed into a hotel room. Annie was more than happy to help us in whatever way we needed, and her local knowledge was invaluable. Our son really enjoyed playing with the 2 dogs, Coconut and Troppo. Sarah, the housekeeper, did a fantastic job every day, keeping everything clean and tidy. The grounds are lush and fruit-filled, like a tropical paradise, and you really are just yards from the water. The location is right across the lagoon from Erakor Island, so we kayaked over there for some beach sun and snorkeling. The restaurant/bar there is very nice. It's also very easy to take the ferry across to Le Lagon if you prefer to use a swimming pool. Just a quick phone call, and the ferry will meet you in front of the villas in just a few minutes. Chez Troppo is located in Erakor Village, and it is possible to take a bus or taxi into town. We decided to rent a car, to give us a little more freedom, especially when it came to touring the island. We loved sitting on the deck, looking out at the lagoon every day, listening to the exotic bird sounds and watching paddlers in the lagoon. If you are accustomed to a silent sleeping environment, the roosters and village dogs may be a problem, but we quickly adapted to the sounds. Port Vila is an easy city to get around in, despite us being new to round-abouts, and the whole island felt safe and very friendly. Prices in the restaurants and stores were on par or slightly above US prices. Beers were around $4-$6 in restaurants and a hamburger and fries averaged $12. However, the local, organic, island grown beef (ask Annie where to go) was a great deal (about $7 per pound), if you like cooking at home, which is another reason to love Chez Troppo. Oh, don't forget to take advantage of the local produce at the outdoor market in downtown Vila - very affordable and tasty! You will see produce there that you've never seen before!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3idahotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We travelled here with our 3 teenage daughters.

A lovely stay with Annie and her extended family of regular guests, Craylene and the enthusiastic Troppo - on guard duty 24/7. Annie, the heart of this little bit of paradise, kept us informed about island life, the shopping and top tips for what to see on the island. We spent a magical day aboard Golden Wing - a catamaran trip that had been recommended by friends. It lived up and surpassed expectations with the most amazing snorkling we have ever experienced. (Don't be put off by Golden Wing's slightly tired appearance).

The people of Vanuatu are beautiful, gentle and welcoming.

Downside of Chez Troppo is the distance from Port Vila with the bars/market meaning a 20min drive by 'bus' or taxi but car hire is probably the best option. Beware that it gets very very dark at night and we got lost several times trying to get out of Port Vila.

At the same time the isolation is a special experience and we all enjoyed the escape from the pace of everyday life in Sydney

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elfrida456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We chose Chez Troppo because we wanted to stay somewhere self contained but away from busy Port Vila. We were a family of 5 adults and 4 small children including 6 month old twins. We were picked up at the airport and we did a drive by via the supermarket on the way to our villas so we were stocked up and ready to go for the week. Annie offered us a lift into town whenever she was going that way to pick up fresh bread and meat or we caught the local bus which runs regularly from the village of Erakor.
We quickly got to know the local folk and we found a bus driver from the village who was happy to transport us to wherever we wanted to go; a day trip around the island, out to the Cascade falls and Hideaway Island and back to the airport. Our men are avid spear fishermen and they befriended a local guy who took them out spearfishing from canoes, Vanuatu style. Lots of man bonding going on there! :)
The villas are well equipped, cleaned daily, with fresh fruit on arrival, mobile phones with locals Sim cards for use during the stay, a safe, BBQ, use of canoes and beautiful gardens.
A ferry to Erakor Island was on a 24 hour rotation and you just had to ring them and they would swing by and pick you up. Use of the island's facilities seemed to be free with a restaurant, bar, beauty spa, playground and some lovely staff who love nothing better than to entertain the kids.
Altogether a perfect choice for us, a tropical paradise combined with a bit of adventure and an opportunity to know the local people and their culture.
Annie and her staff and in fact all the people we came across were super friendly and helpful. The most common phrase I heard on Vanuatu was "your welcome" and it was so true.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Annie came to collect us from our resort, Aquana, where we stayed for the first part of our trip. We all bundled into her four wheel drive and took off to Port Vila, where she stopped at the market, supermarket and butchery (be sure to get some of the veal eye fillet) so we could stock up, playing tour guide and pointing out nice things to do and places to go.
Chez Troppo is not far from town, I'd say less than 10 mins. You will need a 4WD to get down the "driveway" which is full of cavernous potholes. That said, once you at Chez Troppo it does not matter. The bungalows are very comfortable, tidy and spacious. No aircon, but plenty of fans. It also has a large covered porch with barbeque and hammock. This is also your dining room and looks out over the lagoon. The setting is lovely, right on the water in a lovely shaded garden. I thought the gardens were great and all the shade made it nice for the kids to play outside without getting burned to a crisp. The kitchen has a gas stovetop and oven, a nice big sink with plenty of hot water and a full size fridge with freezer compartment. Crockery and cutlery aplenty. I loved the bathroom, it had a huge walk in shower and plenty of space to put stuff. The two bedrooms are large and have full wardrobes. You can really settle in and start relaxing. Snorkelling is at your doorstep. Just walk into the water and start snorkelling. We saw lots of clownfish not even 10 m from the shore. Chez troppo has 2 kayaks you can use and some reef shoes, flippers and boogie boards. Bring your own mask and snorkel. You will need reef shoes to be safe as there is coral and lots of sea life right up to the edge of the lagoon. The Erakor Island resort barge can be waved down or you can call them to come and get you. Visiting the island is a great family day out. You can also swim or kayak across, it really only is a stone's throw away.
Things to note: You are staying in Erakor village so the occasional village dog may hang around your bungalow. They shoo away pretty easily. Be prepared for the cockerels that seem to think day break is at 4am. This is a feature all over Port Vila I believe.

We had a great time at Chez Troppo and would go there again in a heartbeat. Annie is a thoughtful, considerate and resourceful host and she loves everything about Vanuatu. She always happy to provide advice and pointed us to a couple of nice spots that made our holiday very memorable. Thanks Annie and love to Craylene.

Room Tip: There are only two vacation bungalows, the rest are rented out to people staying longer. The two vac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Chez Troppo isn't easy to find. The road isn't the best and people in the nearby Erakor Village don't even seem to know it exists... but once you find it, you're happy you did. It is a little hidden gem very close to Port Vila (about 15min away from the centre of town, I'd say) but it feels a lot more remote and secluded. Ideal if you want to relax without wanting to be too far away from everything else.

Annie is a delightful host and made us feel very welcome. The houses are beautifully decorated and have everything you need. We loved the little touches like the fresh coconut water on arrival... It is so well equipped we only wish we had stayed longer and made the most out of the bbq outside and all the amenities.

The beach, only a few steps away from your room, is beautiful (we miss the sunset there already...) and you get free use of the kayaks too. A free ferry takes you across to Erakor island whenever you want (you just have to ask Annie and she arranges for the ferry to pick you within minutes). We went over to Erakor and spent a great afternoon on the beach there. We feel like we had everything the people staying on Erakor island had, and then some more, for less money.

Chez Troppo was a great choice and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thejourneyists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Chez Troppo for several days leaving on New Year's Day 2012. It was paradise, meeting wonderful Annie and her great team of Sarah and her husband. Not forgetting her faithful canine friends Coconut and Troppo. We appreciated the little touches, like fruit and flowers, the impeccable suites, the local paintings on the walls, advice about what to do and see.

We listened to the quiet sounds of life, from pre-dawn distant roosters in the village, with added dawn chorus, later with the happy sounds of children enjoying themselves. In our week on the island we did not ever hear a Melanesian child cry - a measure of a happy community.

The sunsets were sublime, the lagoon was warm, the swimming was great, the kayaks fun, the weather fabulous, the scenery stunning, the colours vibrant, the growth luxuriant, the experience fantastic. One morning Annie asked me what we were going to do that day. I answered - nothing.

On Annie's advice we went to the Friday night Ekasup Melanesian evening with full audience participation, including dancing, music, kava and a meal. This is organised by the Chief of Ekasup village, one of Annie's neighbours. Quite an experience, and well worth it. We also spent part of a day on Erakor Island wandering through the resort and sampling the fruit drinks and icecream as well as a massage.

On our last evening at Chez Troppo we gathered together, Annie and her guests, for a combined meal and small party, and we had a grandstand view of several resorts' fireworks 400 m away. The resorts seemed to compete with each other to produce the best New Year's Eve displays, so the total effect was as good as or better that any major city in the world.

The downside? Well very little. Insecticide is necessary anywhere in Vanuatu and many Pacific Islands - mosquitoes. And take coral shoes when swimming, as a scratch may take months to heal. The greatest danger is being felled by falling coconuts, so take care. The sound of even a small fruit falling on an iron roof from a great height is quite dramatic.

The downside particularly relating to Chez Troppo? There is none. Unless you crave a golf course, a chlorinated swimming pool, a noisy air conditioner, a bar and a resident band or canned music - in which case go to a resort.

If you are looking for solitude, a relaxing time, in a word - a holiday, and also value for money, then Chez Troppo is the place for you.

George and Ruth, Wellington, New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I traveled to Port Vila, Vanuatu in the 2nd week of December. Since my friends were all working I decided to go alone. I was lucky enough to get a villa at Chez Troppo. From the very beginning Annie made me feel welcome and safe. All my requirement were met. Chez Troppo is in a great location in Port Vila and this beautiful waterfront property allows the prefect place to unwind, enjoy the scenery, kayak and snorkel at your leisure. Annie is very knowledgeable about Vanuatu and set me in the right direction for touring, meeting with locals and great restaurants. I will defiantly return to Chez Troppo for the prefect opportunity to rest and relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troppo Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troppo Mystique

Property: Troppo Mystique
Address: Erakor Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Troppo Mystique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to this ?? A picture postcard! Swim ....snorkle....kayak....or just kick back! Three recently built,boutique styled residential, waterfront villas. Stylishly, fully furnished, with expansive self-catering kitchen. Spectacular sunsets, gentle ocean breezes with exceptional island views."Troppo Mystique's" friendly boutique styled,private short & long term residential accommodation, is nestled on a sensational aquamarine lagoon, amidst picturesque tropical gardens.Only 10 mins from Port Villa. A gorgeous slice of paradise - doesn't get better than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Troppo Mystique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Troppo Hotel Port Vila
Troppo Mystique Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing