We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot on the water with some good menu options”

Tilly's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tilly's restaurant is the main restaurant of Chantilly's on the Bay hotel. It is inside the hotel building - situated out front on the water. With a diverse menu - that fits with the hotels tag line - Port Vila's best little international hotel. We like to think of Tilly's as the best place in town, with great, views, great service, great food and a great wine list. Do try us out.
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good spot on the water with some good menu options”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great cocktail menu, some inventive dishes on the menu including tasty curries and lovely friendly service. One of the best in Port Villa

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    112
    38
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A bit of a treat but well worth it!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We dropped in on our last night and were placed by the window. What a lovely restaurant. Nice furniture and it has a beautiful outlook over the bay. The service was good. The food was amazing. It was great to see a good variety of dishes, including something’s we have never tried. We loved the little sweet potato and cheese (ok I am not exactly sure) fritters with the aioli and sweet chutney on the top. So yummy I could have eaten them all day. I had the arancini stuffed with spinach and served with a white sauce and my husband had the steak and a side of fries. All the food was cooked to perfection and looked gorgeous.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We went to Tilly's late one night after being unable to find anything appropriate for a vegeterian in nearby restaurants and were very pleasantly surprised. No reservation was no problem and we were seated at a beautiful outside table overlooking the harbor. The service here was some of the best we experienced in Vanuatu. The menu included interesting tapas (smoked marlin croquettes were the standout for me), reasonably priced curries (good, not amazing though the banana chutney was outstanding), excellent traditional mains (the steak was amazing) and a selection of delicious island inspired specials. We came back a few days later with a large group and had an equally good experience of great food, generous serves and friendly attentive service.
It's not cheap, but it is similarly priced to many resort restaurants and much, much better value. Good wine list too. Definitely give it a try if you're in town.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Sit out on the deck overlooking the water. I had seared scallops wrapped in bacon as a main, served on green salad with balsamic dressing. Done to perfection. They were offered as entree, but the obliging waiter (Alan) organised it for me. My husband had pork which had been slow cooked for 4 hours. It was melt in the mouth, served with sweet potato and other vegetables. Generous serves. All beautifully presented. A warm complimentary bread roll started the feast.. Wine by glass or bottle.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Port Vila”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Had a lovely dinner here - good menu, nice choice of tapas or normal entrees, some well thought out mains, no room for dessert after that! Reasonable wine list and a nice choice of Vanuatu beers - made a change from just Tusker!
Service was good, quite prompt, and the food was all delicious, well presented and in generous portions.
Lovely spot on the bay overlooking Iririki, and just a short walk from the centre of Vila.
Prices comparable with the rest of Port Vila and Auckland's finest eateries, i.e. not cheap!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilly's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tilly's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing