We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & wonderful service!”
Review of Chill Restaurant

Chill Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value & wonderful service!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were recommended to the dinner value menu by some fellow guests from our hotel.

We had a wonderful meal - very good value for Vanuatu - beef was amazing - would very much recommend.

We arrived early and were moved to a window seat as soon as one was free - so had a great view of the sun setting over Port Vila.

The staff made the evening - so friendly & helpful.

If we'd found it earlier in our holiday we'd definitely have been back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah5368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    480
    130
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland, new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a window table, as we arrived early for dinner.From the window you can see the fish being fed by the locals in the takeaway place below Chill. Also got a couple of great photos of a cruise ship leaving port from the deck here. Extensive menu offering all the local specialties like cocnut crab, fish and a seafood platter (the table next to us had this and it looked good).We had a couple of pizzas-my husband's was called the "crabby day", and mine was a greek one.They were both tasty. The staff make the place-they are really friendly (as everywhere in vanuatu) and were great at keeping little kids occupied from other tables, while their parents were eating.
Lunch Deal would be a great way to go(-I think 1200Vt).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callinghomekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a beautiful meal here, atmosphere is quiet and air conditioning great. Staff couldn't have been nicer. As with all of Vanuatu, it's the people who have been the best of all. Owners - give your staff a bonus this year!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Returned to eat here after 3 years, having been here 3 or 4 times previously. They are still as good with the kids as they ever were. Kids meals were excellent. You can BYO wine and pay a corkage of 500 vatu (I think), as there’s a supermarket underneath which sells alcohol, is handy to pick up wine first. We were disappointed in our main meals, lacked the flavour of previous visits. On the 2 occasions we ate here in early October, 2012, we were told at the time of booking that there was no coconut crab or lobster left. We found this a bit odd to have happened twice, especially since coconut crab is a specialty of Vanuatu and one time we booked just after lunch for dinner that night and were told already there was no crab or lobster, would have thought they would have allowed right quantities to cover for dinner service. We had previously had the lobster which was fantastic and excellent value. On 2nd visit here this trip had the table along the rear wall with the lounge-seat and the air con was not good. It did improve when we asked for it to be turned up but only marginally. Had no problem with air con at tables towards the entrance. We felt that while there were plenty of staff, they didn’t seem so attentive and at times it was difficult to get their attention. Would probably return as they kids meals were so good but have to say from adults perspective we were a bit disappointed. Kids loved the coconut ice you can buy to take away. Think perhaps the lunchtime specials of 1200 vatu for meal and drink (includes beer, wine or champagne) might be better value as those same lunchtime meals were offered at dinnertime for double the price. Was lovely watching the sunset over the harbour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OPHELIASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leichhardt, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a lovely restaurant. The location, and views are great, and the Lunch Deal (1,200Vt for a meal and beverage - which includes wine, bubbly or beer) is amazing value. A welcome find.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing