We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally owned & operated gives you a true Vanuatu experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Beach Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 21 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What can we say, but tankyiu tumas (thank you very much) to the Vatoko family who run this small resort for making our 3 night stay very memorable. We are a family of 2 adults and 18 & 20 year old "kids".Yes, we had cold showers but who needs hot water when the weather is so beautiful. From the airport pickup to the invitation to go to the local church service, being invited to share a special celebratory dinner, Lulu playing his guitar and singing to us at breakfast, Eric's friendly smile, delicious dinners, kayaking, great snorkelling off the jetty and Thomas the taxi driver to take you where you want, not to mention Sala playing his guitar and singing everything from local welcome songs to Elvis! The young local village girls and their beautiful singing voices added to our experience of a wonderful family holiday at Tara Beach. We would definitely recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed.
Mick & Kathy Mc

Room Tip: All bungalows are separate & have the same view across the waterfront.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Tara Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Vanuatu. My 3 daughters were made to feel part of the family at Tara Beach. Lulu and Eric make sure you get a true Vanuatu experience with visit to local school and Village and the girls had friends to swim and play with. Dont miss the Melanesian Feast night on Tuesday- dancing, singing and a nice meal. The drivers were also there each day to take you into town or to any of the Island attractions for a small fee. The breakfast each morning consisted of eggs, fruit, cereal, toast and pastries, very delicious.
we all loved feeding the fish and snorkeling off the jetty and taking the kayaks out to the coral island just off the shore. The rooms are basic - 2 double beds and a bathroom and ceiling fans. We didnt mind that the hot water wasnt working and the taps leaked. The attention to people here is what impressed us. Lulu and Eric are very easy going and are very proud to share their culture and experiences with you. I even received an email last night checking that we arrived home safely. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 might be slightly better equipped but basically all bungalows are the same and usually th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lou_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is fantastic, close enough to everything but far enough away to not have to deal with all the crowds from the big cruise ships. The rooms are a good size and each bungalow is separate, metres from the water.
Who needs the fancy hotels when you can have a place like this, we didn't even mind the cold showers.
The food is excellent, big healthy breakfasts and the curries are the best we've every had.
Eric, Lulu and the staff made our holiday truly relaxing. Nothing was a problem, everything was very lay back, just what you wont on a holiday.
The Swimming and snorkelling out the front of the resort is fabulous, so many varieties of fish, you can also go kayaking.
This place really is value for money,this is not a 5 star resort, this place has character and charm we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran and Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was our third stay at Tara - now like a second home. Eric is to be congratulated for what he has done with the resort. Breakfast is great - fresh fruit (he even found some out of season grape fruit for us), toast, pastries and croissants, and eggs on toast washed down with Tanna coffee. Snorkelling again was a delight - we find something new every time. Have to mention Lesley's coconut crab (again sourced by Eric on our request) - to die for!!!! Nothing is ever too much trouble - bookings made for us for tours and restaurants as promised. No hot water for the week but this doesn't matter to us - we love the place and the people - our Ni Vanuatu family. Also special thanks from Sandy for the birthday cake (even remembered my age :() - we will be back again same time next year !!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for seven days and enjoyed the hospitality and welcoming we received from Erik, Thomas, Christine and Lulu.
Would highly recommend this as a private and relaxing place to stay. The owners are like family to us and we miss them all!! Feeding the fish off the wharf was definitely a highlight.
A great dive spot and excellent company.

Hoping to return shortly!!
:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love the reviews by Annette R, Debbie W and Thomas E. They say everything that I've said before about this magic, locally owned resort. My wife (Narelle) and I returned yet again for our first wedding anniversary. The resort Manager, Eric, kept his promise and on the evening of our anniversary, the intimate (just us two) overwater dining room was prepared with a heart made of sand surrounding our table and adorned with candles and frangipanis. Palm branches were attached to the walls. Soft music. Coconut crab. Mind blowing. If you want to dine like this, book ahead. Eric is a bit of a magic man, but in fairness to him and his staff, give them a bit of warning if you want to celebrate something special in this way. We go to Tara Beach Resort because it's isolated, great diving, lovely staff. A cupboard door may fall off here and there and bugs live everywhere, so get over it you 5 star people. Having said that, I got dragged down to a massive dinner a concert one evening. Cost $10 a head for the lot. I prefer candle light (in the blackouts) and the soft ocean roar in the background, but in this tiny, amazing restaurant, there was more sound equipment piled up than a Phil Collins concert. After dinner, the most amazing, world class female singer I have ever heard, entertained just a hand full of people for two hours. Vanessa Quai. (google her) The Diva of the South Pacific! Huge band. Brother, Sister, Mother, Father...all in there with vocal backups and technical support together with the New Breedz Band. Turns out that Sala (the Resort owner) is her uncle! Tara Beach Rersort just keeps surprising us in so many ways. I left the door open one night and a huge crab got in and crawled over my head. There was a bit of a fight and some screaming from Narelle. I managed to get it outside eventually. My fault. Tip? Keep the doors closed at night and leave the windows open just a tad.

Room Tip: We always have bunglaow 1 allocated for us. We love it. It has geckos. I have no idea what the ot...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose Tara Beach because it managed by a local family, and found all the staff are wonderfully ,friendly and very helpful , where nothing is a problem
The location is a bit out of town but that is what we wanted where you can kick back & relax
Bungalow are lovely & comfortable .All meals at the restuarant were basic but very enjoyable .A handy hint is to make sure you take your beach shoes for walking on the coral beaches & a torch for walking back to your bungalow at night . Fanatastic snorkeling along the front of the resort & a short kayak paddle to the sandy island where we went each day to snorkel & fish feeding from the deck.
A big thanks to all the staff of Tara Beach , it was hard to leave to come to Aus, but we hope to return again to enjoy your island hospitailty again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
170 reviews
7.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
626 reviews
6.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
6.0 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows

Address: Devil's Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range: $89 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing