We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Lagoon Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$151
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
83
49
7
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
49
7
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 153 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for seven days and enjoyed the hospitality and welcoming we received from Erik, Thomas, Christine and Lulu.
Would highly recommend this as a private and relaxing place to stay. The owners are like family to us and we miss them all!! Feeding the fish off the wharf was definitely a highlight.
A great dive spot and excellent company.

Hoping to return shortly!!
:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love the reviews by Annette R, Debbie W and Thomas E. They say everything that I've said before about this magic, locally owned resort. My wife (Narelle) and I returned yet again for our first wedding anniversary. The resort Manager, Eric, kept his promise and on the evening of our anniversary, the intimate (just us two) overwater dining room was prepared with a heart made of sand surrounding our table and adorned with candles and frangipanis. Palm branches were attached to the walls. Soft music. Coconut crab. Mind blowing. If you want to dine like this, book ahead. Eric is a bit of a magic man, but in fairness to him and his staff, give them a bit of warning if you want to celebrate something special in this way. We go to Tara Beach Resort because it's isolated, great diving, lovely staff. A cupboard door may fall off here and there and bugs live everywhere, so get over it you 5 star people. Having said that, I got dragged down to a massive dinner a concert one evening. Cost $10 a head for the lot. I prefer candle light (in the blackouts) and the soft ocean roar in the background, but in this tiny, amazing restaurant, there was more sound equipment piled up than a Phil Collins concert. After dinner, the most amazing, world class female singer I have ever heard, entertained just a hand full of people for two hours. Vanessa Quai. (google her) The Diva of the South Pacific! Huge band. Brother, Sister, Mother, Father...all in there with vocal backups and technical support together with the New Breedz Band. Turns out that Sala (the Resort owner) is her uncle! Tara Beach Rersort just keeps surprising us in so many ways. I left the door open one night and a huge crab got in and crawled over my head. There was a bit of a fight and some screaming from Narelle. I managed to get it outside eventually. My fault. Tip? Keep the doors closed at night and leave the windows open just a tad.

Room Tip: We always have bunglaow 1 allocated for us. We love it. It has geckos. I have no idea what the other bungalows are like. I'm sure they all have geckos.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose Tara Beach because it managed by a local family, and found all the staff are wonderfully ,friendly and very helpful , where nothing is a problem
The location is a bit out of town but that is what we wanted where you can kick back & relax
Bungalow are lovely & comfortable .All meals at the restuarant were basic but very enjoyable .A handy hint is to make sure you take your beach shoes for walking on the coral beaches & a torch for walking back to your bungalow at night . Fanatastic snorkeling along the front of the resort & a short kayak paddle to the sandy island where we went each day to snorkel & fish feeding from the deck.
A big thanks to all the staff of Tara Beach , it was hard to leave to come to Aus, but we hope to return again to enjoy your island hospitailty again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from 6 nights at Tara Beach. I had read all the reviews, but it still exceeded my expectations. The bungalows are lovely, and great value for money. We chose it as it is run by locals. Elsewhere on the island we'd only have got a hotel room, maybe with a balcony. It is out of town, but that is part of the charm, especially for city dwellers. We hired a car and drove all round the island - a great experience - but it was always lovely to return to our temporary home. It was too rough to snorkel most days we were there, but that's life. The awesome sunrises make up for that. Breakfasts are great, and the airport is fairly close. If, like us, you choose to stay where you'd most prefer to wake up, this is the place. Thanks to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 2, which was great. All should be fine though.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great time at Tara Beach. It is locally owned and operated and the family operating the resort was very friendly and generous with their free transfers to and from town or to local attractions.
Tara Beach facilities are nice and tidy. The restaurant is offering basic meals at very reasonable prices and nice breakfast with eggs, toast, fresh fruit platter and coffee and tee is included.
The resort offers free use of sit on kayaks to explore the local beach and tow reefs with a small sand island about 200m off shore.
The snorkeling is good and better than it most places close to shore with lots of fish coming to a fish feeding platform with ladder that also offers save entry and exit into the water at all tides.
Snorkel enthusiast can use the kayaks to explore the two reefs just off shore under most conditions and will find excellent corrals and fish there too. We even had a pod of Dolphins cruise past us!

The beach is mostly corral reef and best suited for people who like to snorkel. Bring reef walker shoes or wear fins to enter and exit the water. Its not ideal for swimming with very small children but for experienced swimmers and snorkelers it is great!

The ride to town is abut 20 minutes and Hideway Island is reached in just 5 minutes by car from the resort with a nice and very reasonable beach bar at the cost side which offers great fire dancing shows and outdoor cinema.

Tara Beach has a Wifi connection and you can purchase credit to use it at a reasonable rate from TelsatBroadband. It operates at a modest speed of 256Kbps but you are in Vanuatu and it works well enough indeed for holiday use.

I would return to Tara Beach any time with our family. We checked many of the other and much more expensive resorts out and in the end Tara wins out with its local charm, friendly hosts and a truly relaxed atmosphere at very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: All rooms equal and shore front.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews