We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL SPOT...FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Beach Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 22 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SPOT...FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Tara Beach Resort for four nights, and wish it could have been longer! I was welcomed with smiles, and flowers throughout the bungalow. The view from my bed was amazing, absolute bliss looking out to the ocean. The bungalow was clean, and well equipped, and very comfortable. Eric was really helpful with helping me to book tours and organise transport to and from town-no matter what time of day or night, he was absolutely fabulous. Christine and Lulu were so welcoming, and the breakfasts that they made each morning were delicious. Fresh fruit platters, toast, juice, the works! The fish feeding jetty is awesome fun, and I was given plenty of bread to take to feed the fish whenever I wanted. This has got to be the most reasonably priced accommodation in Vila, and is indeed the island's best kept secret! Will be definately go back and stay at Tara Beach, and next time I will be taking the whole family! Tank yu Tumas Eric, Christine, Lulu and the crew at Tara Beach. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    49
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
51
50
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I attempt to visit Tara Beach Bungalows Resort at least once a year. We love it. It's not a luxury resort but it's got so much more to offer than many so called luxury resorts in Vanuatu. I my last review I mentioned that a SCUBA diving operation was to take over the management of the resort. That hasn't happened which is probably a good thing. The overwater restaurant is almost finished. We hope to go back there in October 2012 and Eric (the Manager and also the son of the owner) has sort of promiced that the overwater part of the restaurant may be finished by then. The diving remains wonderful. We even encountered a reef shark this time (photographs attached) Christine continues to take care of everyone along with the other staff members. Nothing is too much trouble. Things can move slowly, but that is the Vanuatu way and it's worth relaxing into. Getting the hot water to work is easy if you know how and if you don't Eric will fix it. Take reef shoes because the beach is not for walking. Buy mozzie coils and matches at the local supermarket together with snacks and olives and whatever. Get a small can of insect spray. Of course there is the occasional cockroach. We've got them in Sydney as well....Take a torch. The power goes out now and then and if you're trying to walk from the bungalows to the restaurant, you'll trip over something without a torch. Just lay back and enjoy like we do.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are ocean facing. I don't think you could get a bad room although Eric always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We arrived at Port Vila as a cruise destination and took a local taxi to show us the sights. We ended up at Tara Beach resort .... the snorkeling is absolutely fantastic. We owe the Taxi driver big time for taking us there.
We have snorkeled on a few of the islands and can't wait to get back to Tara Beach for the snorkeling and facilities... no climbing down rocks to get to a good spot .. there's a covered Jetty.
After this we enjoyed Fish and Chips from the Restaurant... another winner! The fish was so fresh. Can't wait to get back to Tara Beach in a few weeks time!!! Shelley R (Brisbane)

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed a Tara Beach for 10 days, and can only say the whole experience was fantastic, with Eric,Sala Lulu and Cristina and Thomas and Vincent we became one of the family, we were happy to learn that this was the only resort that was owned and operated by locals and not by ex pats. Despite a few hiccups nothing was too much trouble, and we did cause a little concern with
baggage etc, but all was handled with a smile.
The view from our bungalow was fabulous, and the water was just a few feet away,if we went out for dinner Thomas and or Vincent were happy to come and pick us up.
I had my birthday there, and was greeted with a cake and singing at brealfast wonderful!!!




Jean Mecchi and barbara Jackson Melbourne

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our second post Christmas break at Tara - in 2011 we got cheap flights with friends and then booked our accommodation at Tara Beach on Wotif based on previous reviews (close enough for 4 of us to share a bungalow). We thought we had died and gone to Heaven after waking on the first morning after a late night arrival. Such a fantastic time was had that we decided to return to celebrate my 50th with family and friends New Years 2012. The best time was had by all - total relaxation and totally looked after by staff, Eric, Sala, Lulu and Chrisitne treated us like returning family and nothing was too hard for them - we had a magical New Years Eve dinner on the new jetty - we christened it - and dined here most nights. The cake organised for my birthday was to die for! Meals were great - as was the cold Tusker - and we relaxed totally, snorkelled all day and Eric was more than happy to organise tours for the younger generations in our group. My daughter fell ill one day - Christine looked after her "princess Stephanie" - bringing her water and stroking her face ! Tara Beach is not 5 star resort - it is the perfect holiday spot for us as we aren't bothered by no locks, no screens ( so a few bugs) and no air con or pool ! What we love about this place is the people and the setting (right on the water) and we will be returning to our slice of Heaven again for our now regular break at the end of this year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

When we arrived at Port Villa we were greeted by LuLu and Thomas was our driver they carried our bags in and invited us to the restaurant for a welcome drink.LuLu sang us 2 welcome songs and we began a magical stay. we had a view to die for.fresh flowers everywhere in our room.the chef is great catered for vegetarian and vegan easily. anything we asked.for we got. we met Christine at breakfast and she took us on the best tour we could have gone on.not only all the popular tourist spots, but what meant the most to us was seeing all the villages and meeting the kids, things you don't get to do on the commercial tours and lunch and refreshments are provided. Eric the manager was great not only does he mix a mean cocktail, no request was too much trouble for him. Thomas drove us back and forth into town and has the patience of an angel we even dragged him out nightclubbing till 4am he just drove us around and minded our bags. LuLu put on a greatshow with the kids and local music and dancers on feast night. When we left we felt like we were leaving family. This is not 5 star resort. go to the usa if you want that. but if you want the real deal run by locals, lots of laughs and genuine warmth then this is the place to go.we will definitely be back. Angela Della and Sandyxx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We choose to spend the last three days of our two week holiday at Tara Beach as the location, bungalows and snorkeling looked great. We were not dispapointed, you just walk a few feet from your bungalow (all of which are beachfront) straight out to the sea. We were so well looked after especially given it was over Christmas and snorkeled every day just off the jetty, sometimes using the canoes as well. Dolphins came swimming past two mornings while we had breakfast which was an added bonus. Tara Beach is owned by locals and you get to have a look around the local village as part of staying here. The rooms were really well set out for a family of 5 which is often hard to find and if you needed anything you just had to ask. We would certainly stay here again and loved the meals outside on the sand on a table covered with white cloth and surrounded by beautiful flowers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments
1.5 mi away
Waves on Bukura
Waves on Bukura
#5 of 29 in Port Vila
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Beach Bungalows

Property: Tara Beach Bungalows
Address: Devil's Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Beach is absolute beach front situated on 12 lush acres fronting picturesque Mele Bay, Efate, Vanuatu. With crystal clear, safe waters at your doorstep, we are the perfect spot for snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and getting away from it all for a while. We also have a chilled out open air bar / cafe known as the Beach Hut that is also open to day visitors and locals. Located about 15 mins from town & 10 mins to the airport, we provide free airport transfers for guests. All bungalows have tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, with ocean views a few metres from your door included as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tara Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Beach Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Port Vila
Tara Beach Bungalows Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing