We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$61
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$273
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pacific Lagoon Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$114
$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$151
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
83
49
7
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
49
7
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 153 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2010

You could only discover this Vanuatu gem by accident just as we did. If you want a luxury resort; don't visit Tara Beach Resort. If you want to discover the magic of a beautiful South Pacific Island Resort, complete with outstandingly friendly and helpful staff and diving almost from your front door on coral reefs packed with tropical fish......then don't come to Tara Resort....!!!!! I've got to have rocks in my head writing this review. I want this place all to myself. Please stay away. It's a horrible place and don't look at the photos I've posted.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The staff at tara beach are very friendly and eager to help especially Christine. All the bungalows are 5 steps away from the coral beaches and reefs. Kayak out to the coral cay or just snorkel off the jetty (kayaks, life jackets and snorkel gear are available). Lulu will come and sing you songs while you eat your meals. The food isn't of a very high standard and a bit over priced so we recommend you ask John D, the bus driver to drop you in town to eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Esciipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

The location is superb!! Private, simple and relaxing.

The bungalows are simple well set out with great privacy and unbeatable views. There were some issues with the plumbing, hot water and electricity but nothing major normal Vanuatu style! Even through it’s probably not required locks on the doors would be comforting when leaving things in the room during the day.

The food was basic and pretty average quality. This would have been fine if priced accordingly however given what it was it we found it extremely over priced. We ended up getting takeaway and basic supplies from Pt Villa or ate at Benjor Beach Club.

We found some of the staff a little hard to judge and at times were a bit uncomfortable to deal with but that said there were no problems. Transport in and out of town was a bit hit and miss on the resort bus but if you work on Vanuatu time its all good.

The jetty and reef directly out the front is great with plenty of sea life and excellent snorkeling and kayaking. Probably the best around Pt Villa.

We traveled with another couple who had 2 kids aged 2&4 and we would NOT recommend this location for these aged kids.

With your own car and some basic food supplies this is the best place near Pt Villa to stay! Without this some people may struggle to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandPeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This was our third stop in Vanuatu and we were really disappointed. Despite prearranging transfers, the resort forgot to pick us up. Seven days of no hot water, shoddy furniture that fell apart when you put something on it, faulty electrics resulting in us getting zapped every time we touched something electrical, curtains falling off the rails, doors that wouldn't open.... the list goes on. We were prepared for the grotty linen and crockery from previous reviews, but not the cockroaches. Staff were friendly, however there was no one around most of the time, the room wasn't always done and whenever we asked to get hot water fixed we got lots of nods but very little action. The grounds however were immaculate - we were only able to snorkel twice in a week because of the winds, where as other places are a lot more sheltered. Lots of colourful fish, however the coral is badly damaged in places.
As a family, it works out to be expensive if you use the resort transfers to and from town.
Overall, we were prepared for a bit of 'rustic' - but there are some basics that need to be sorted out for this resort to live up to the descriptions on its website.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edtravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We loved Tara Beach! We used it as a base to come back to between visits to other islands. The bungalows are perched right on the edge of the ocean so the crashing waves lull you back to sleep if you wake in the night. The snorkeling and kyacking is right at your door step, and free.
The weather wasn't great, but that didn't matter as the staff couldn't have been warmer, kinder or more accomodating.
The rooms were clean and in spite of not having keys I felt completely safe all the time here and on other islands in Vanuatu.
There were little things like the hot water, that didn't work as we would expect in a western country....but then (very hapily) we were not in a western country.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxedynamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews