We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the risk”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Lodge
Reviewed July 8, 2013

ok so city lodge certainly wasn't for me. the pictures on their website are very deceiving. We booked a room with two single beds and received a double bed that was pretty much all that fit in the room. a friend and i were staying only the one night as we got into vila a day early. we checked in easily at approx 0200. The room sadly wasn't as clean as a lot of other reviews stated. there were big chunks missing out of the walls and lots of dust and grime about. i understand that you really don't get a lot for $50 but i was still disappointed. the bathroom also wasn't clean but did provide shampoo and body wash if you dare. i wouldn't recommend this hotel. the only positives were the friendly staff and the location is very central in town. also the wifi is limited to the reception area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allslantylike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The first time we stayed at City Lodge, we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and the good location of the hostel. But the staff was unfortunately not really professional: loud music in the corridor until past 10pm, laughter and noise in the morning from 7.30 am.

Our second stay was better with a very helpful and quiet staff.

Overall, it's a good value for Port Vila

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mélissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Vanuatu is very expensive and this was the cheapest place I could find and in a great location. We were in the dorms for $18/pp/night.

Amazing location, in the middle of everything, opposite the market for fresh food and a supermarket. Lots of tour companies around.

The dorm fits 8, has a fan, one toilet/shower between all which could be an issue if the dorm was full but there were only 3 people the whole time we were here so no issue for us.

Beds, pillows, towels provided. Was very clean.

Across from the dorm is a little 'kitchen' with a small fridge and tea/coffee facilities and microwave. The wash-up area for this is in the dorm.

Free wifi was great, not much signal in dorm, just walk to the 'kitchen'.

Up a flight of stairs with no elevator so not for people with mobility issues.

Compared to other cheap accommodation i.e. bungalows in Fiji islands or Tanna, this is amazing!

Room Tip: Walking past the double rooms, they look clean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Room with bathroom and fan for 4,800 Vt (Room 103).

This lonely planet hotel is located in front of the city market. The place is not a resort, however, the room even simple was clean and comfortable. City lodge is ideal if you are travelling around Vanuatu and you have one or two days in Vila.

To get there from the airport, the budget way is to go to the Domestic terminal (3 min walking from the International one) and pick up a van/bus for 150Vt each person.

If you are carrying carvings or other wood stuff, you can fumigate them in the Quarantine centre close to the airport (5 walking in the direction to Vila). They also have an office in the International terminal, nevertheless it is not always open. It cost 1400Vt for all the carvings (we had 7 units) and 500 Vt per night if you need to keep them there, which is a good option if you are moving to other islands.



. The hotel has simple rooms but comfortable

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sastals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

City lodge has cheap rooms just opposite to the fruit and vegetable market. The room I had was just perfect - it was small but clean and had everything I needed. I spent there 10 days and the room was cleaned every second day. During my permanence, it happend only once that the staff put some loud music in the evening. I asked them to lower the volume and everything was sorted out.
For the rest, the location is just amazing. You go down the stairs and you are in the heart of Vila. The staff is always there so it is a very safe place where to stay. And you pay 4 times less than the average price of hotels in Vanuatu. It's a no brainer (if they are not fully booked)

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the back side (quiter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Accomodation is pretty expensive in Port Vila - if you are looking for somewhere on the cheap side to stay and you are not worried about a lot of atmosphere or character, then this is a good option.

The room is basic. Just a bed really (also a TV, which we did not bother to even try) small bathroom which was useable, nothing fancy. Id suggest asking for a room that is not overlooking the main street - that side appears to be very noisy - the other side was fine.

There is free wifi aswell - it's a little slow, and you can really only use it near the front desk - but it's free! :) The location is great, you are right in the middle of everything.

If you are looking for something a little nicer, then look elsewhere - but this is more than adequate for those who want the basics.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stellaslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What could you really expect when you are paying such a minimal amount each night? For what we paid, I think it was great value. The location was convenient being close to the supermarket and right in the heart of Villa and we found the rooms, though simple, to be comfortable. The common room was untidy, with other travellers leaving their breakfast things about etc. and the furniture was quite old and needed replacing. It could be quite noisy in some rooms due to the markets being directly opposite, given its location on the main road. The wi-fi only worked in the reception area. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were serviced daily with fresh towels. Hot showers were a bonus as they weren't always hot. It was exactly as expected for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are noisier. Some rooms are air conditioned. Take a bottom bunk if staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamingofaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 mi away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#41 of 47 in Port Vila
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#40 of 47 in Port Vila
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#32 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaiviti Motel
Kaiviti Motel
#34 of 47 in Port Vila
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Inn
Central Inn
#16 of 22 in Port Vila
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate ., Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range: $33 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Port Vila
City Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing