We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't eat here - try the local's restaurants”
Review of Beachcomber Lodge

Beachcomber Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Lodge
Ranked #45 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't eat here - try the local's restaurants”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

while the pool and the location was good, the food was very expensive and not worth stopping. There are better options to eat - we drove past a local restaurant on the way and even a packed lunch would be better...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Air Vanuatu's inflight magazine had an excellent "round the island" article so we hired a car and set off. My husband drove as I kept the article in my lap to act as navigator & guide.
As we reached beachcomber, I read from guide....."best described as quirky", and it was. We had a bowl of chips and a beer, while sitting outside listening to the quirky Island string band.The chips were fresh, the beer was cold, the string band were actually very good, the scenery was great.
All in all beachcomber is a nice little place to take a break from driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We decided not to ask about the accommodation after being there for 15 minutes. I had a cup of coffee (instant only), looked at the kitchen, looked at the signs hung about the place that advised you not to use the toilets if you weren't a guest (crude but anatomically correct), and met the owner.

We fled.

Sadly, there were nice views, and the pools looked clean and inviting. They also have a mineral spa. However it's very isolated, and there's no reach beach to speak of, so as a destination resort, it lacked any appeal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birchgrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Vila hotels

Horeke
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Great oasis far north of Vanuatu. Sparkling clean hot water pools, best snorkling and diving not far away. Beaches where turtles really do come and lay their eggs - we saw them. White coral sands. Perfect for windsurfing or kiting. Kids and oldies find the pools more than enough (hot indoors / warm closer to the sea / cool waves from the ocean).

If you want a resort go someplace else. This is just batching with the (clean) basics. Bonus is a bar and cafe by the poolside.

Alan is a fine host. No complaints re food, cost or our very own absolute water frontage sea side batch. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horekegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I would not recommend this accommodation. Alan, the owner, is not nice nor helpful. We had no suggestions on where to go or what to visit. The room is big but rather basic. We had no hot water in the shower despite this is a zone of hot natural springs. The facility is old. If you are looking for a budget accommodation it’s better to go to some bungalows run by locals.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APEZ_25_06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We decided to break up our drive around the island of Efate, Vanuatu by stopping off at the Beachcomber Lodge for a nice relaxing lunch and swim in their thermal pools.
Unfortunately, we ended up in a heated argument with a staff member who was unable to communicate in English and an owner/manager hiding in the kitchen yelling at said staff member.
Allan, if you are reading this, please take note that if YOU send a meal to the WRONG table, then it is basic PR to apologise to both tables involved. Instead we were basically accused of stealing the other table's meal and were quite rudely told that we would have to pay for the meal that was actually placed on our table and that we had ordered anyway.
Apart from the fact that the food was so revolting and inedible anyway that it was a shame we had to eat any of it. I quite baulk at the thought of paying AUD$13 for the most basic toasted cheese and ham sandwich - but at least that was edible. The garlic calamari and seafood omelette made the unlucky ones of us who ordered this to wish we had instead ordered the over-priced sandwich. It was a long drive back to our hotel in a bus on winding roads feeling sick all the way.

I would recommend by-passing this shambles of an establishment totally and drive on to the Wahu Bar in Havannah (about 10 minutes).

If you want the experience of the thermal pools then just run the hot tap in your bath in your hotel and have a nice long soak instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apatasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stopped by this place for lunch on the way round the island and it has a bad vibe. we felt uncomfortable when we walked in. paid over 2000 vatu each for warm soft drinks and terrible food. i asked for the fish and got a frozen crumbed patty eeewwww

out of date condiments were on the tables, the place was dirty, pools were empty. it was not welcoming at all. wish we hadnt stopped past, relieved we didnt decide to spend the night!!

just thought we should post this in case people thought it might be a nice place to stay... keep on driving. We were much happier in the places we stopped that were ni-vanuatu owned and operated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.0 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Lodge

Property: Beachcomber Lodge
Address: Takara Springs | PO Box 94, Port Villa, Port Vila, Efate 4670, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing