We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best self-contained accom in Vila - but a fair way from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Magic Resort
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best self-contained accom in Vila - but a fair way from town”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My family stayed there a week ago. IM has recently received an award for the best self-contained accommodation. I have no reason to question the award. The rooms are clean, spacious and everything is supplied down to cling wrap, alfoil, and washing machine powder. There is fair to good snorkeling in front of IM.

The only downside is that IM is 20 minutes drive from town. The only restaurant in walking distance is Benjor Beach Club which provides okay meals (pub quality at restaurant prices).

The resort is much better equipped and of a higher standard than Lagoon Beach resort (where we stayed last year). The kids spent plenty of time in the swimming pool.

If you don't mind being out of town, or you have a hire-car, this is a top pick for Vila.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
54
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

These self-catering bungalows are less than 2 years old and have all the ammeneties required for a great self catering holiday. They are located a 20 min bus ride from Port Villa and the managers will organise a local bus to transport you in and back
The view from the veranda is fantastic and the pool and relaxation area by the water is spectacular. The snorkelling from the end of the pier is great and you can purchase the equipment either new or second hand from the reception.
DVD's,books and games are available frree of charge from reception and basic food/drinks are available to buy. THere is even a torch provided which is great if venturing out at night.The gardens are well tended and the 2 gardners do a great job keeping the coral and surrounding areas pristine.
Jane was very helpful when our plans changed and we were able to move our 5 day stay around and we added an extra night with no problems. The food at the nearby resort was good and the security guard even escorted us back on one occasion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr8509Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at Island Magic for a week in September. They have modern, well made beachfront bungalows which have full cooking and laundry facilities. They are located on Mele Bay (near Benjor Beach Club) and they have a jetty which lets you get in and out of the water without having to walk over the coral. The neighbours have tried to keep that particular stretch of beach a no fishing sanctuary, so the coral and fish are very good (right on your doorstep). The wind in Mele Bay usually picks up in late morning, so getting a good snorkel in the mornings and then heading out around the island is ideal. Having a hire car is definitely an advantage due to the distance from town. A short drive away there is a wood fired pizza place and a saloon bar in case you want a big steak. The bungalows are two bedroom and each room has its own en-suite. There is a good BBQ near the pool, which you book by simply writing your name and time on the blackboard next to it. The managers are helpful, they rang around to get us on a flight to Tanna for a Volcano tour. Would recommend this to others if you prefer a self contained cottage.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have just returned from a week's holiday. We decided to stay at Island Magic as a result of the reviews on Trip Advisor, they were not wrong it is great! We loved our bungalow, being only 18months old they were clean, comfortable and modern but still with that lovely relaxed island touch. The Managers were extremely helpful and friendly - including lending us some golf clubs so we could enjoy the Port Vila Golf Club (highly recommended as well!). Good pool and gardens are surprisingly established and easy care. The snorkling off the pier was amazing and the kids loved feeding the fish each day with scrap bread.
One grotty day while we were there but family happy with endless new DVD's, books and mags from office all FOC. Island Magic is located about 12 mins drive out of town which means its quieter and less busy than many resorts in town but that is what we wanted. Good resort for families with older kids not toddlers or young kids as you would need to supervise them all the time due to the pier and the reef (which was hours of amusement for our two teenagers).

We developed a business relationship with one local bus driver and he picked us up each day and took us where ever we wanted, including a trip around the island (he was cheaper than advertised tours and he took us to places that the other tours didn't). With everything we did we think it was probably about the same price as hiring a car but we learnt SO much more about the island and its people and we made a friend. We tried to book directly with the locals on everything we did so they got the benefit of the money without losing the commission.

Highly recommend people taking ALOT of cash with them as many (most) ventures do not take credit cards. Also recommend kiwis taking some Aust dollars as most souvenir, clothing and nic nac shops in town take Aust dollar at great rates!

Great resort and great island - we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevensclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Wonderful Resort, peaceful,relaxing with friendly helpful management & staff.
Accommodation top standard, suited us being self contained, please ourselves.
Coral spectacular.
Would have been handy if resort had a bus that had set departure & pick up times daily.
Maybe also theme nights?? Excellent for group gatherings.
We would stay again and highly recommend this Resort, returned home very relaxed..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedom010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Do yourself a favour at Island Magic; stock the fridge with beer and white wine, a selection of French and Australian cheeses, some gorgeous local beef, stock the cupboard with food and fresh bread sticks..grab some fresh coffee from Tanna coffee just down the road (ask for your own special blend to be made up on the spot)....then put your feet up to enjoy your stay in Vanuatu. Move to your time, not a full-service resort bar/restaurant's time. Ditch the dubious "continental breakfast included" places and check in to Island Magic.

We originally booked at Iririwiki but so glad we didn't proceed with that and found this gem. (found it on Trip Advisor...reviews were right :-)
Bustling Vila is but 10-15min away, Hideaway Island..you can literally see the Bar/restaurant from your balcony across the water and Benjor (just 5 min stroll up the road) has great food and cocktails. Tara beach for lazy snorkelling whilst the resident cat minds your drinks.

We arrived and felt immediately on holidays..yet "at home" in the immaculately clean and comprehensively kitted out bungalows.

Our hosts went beyond the call of duty more than once; resort staff tending to the fastidiously maintained gardens were a wonderful introduction to Vanuatu hospitality.
Our only regret is our stay could not be longer and I missed having an espresso machine in the kitchen.

PS! Bungalow 13, Devils Point Road... what an address to have. Wickedly good holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alx A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We had a hiccup with our original accomadation and our son found us Island Magic. "what a find !!"
This place was great ,It is about 20 mins out of Port Villa and has self contained Villas.
Ours was a 1 bedroom right by the beach , very clean and well maintained. The grounds are immaculate , with swiming pool and BBQs avaliable and awesome snorkeling right off the jetty.
The hosts Jane and Dave could not have been more helpful and John one of the local groundsmen was great to have a yak with.
If you want somewhere a little bit quieter than a large Resort this is the place.
There is no resturant. You either buy and cook your own food or the Benjour Resort 5 min up the road has good dinning.. Dave and Jane do provide a lovely continental breakfast if required..
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grant_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
354 reviews
6.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
199 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Resort

Property: Island Magic Resort
Address: Devils Point Road | Mele Bay, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Magic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with self-contained apartment accommodation with ocean views, tropical gardens, guest bbq areas, swimming pool, and jetty to access spectacular snorkeling. Ideal for wedding and family groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Island Magic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Hotel Port Vila
Island Magic Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing